$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
181 reviews
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel! See full review

  • Tianrainie
  • Nov 14, 2013
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tsop
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2007

Convenience at a great rate

Jury's Normandy was a pesant surprise. While the room is small, it is very comfortable withthe exception of the easy chair which is too straight and has no arms. In the same space they could have put a more comfortable chair. It is easy to get to a great variety of restaurants and shops. Neighborhood is very clean and gives a feeling of security. Ammenities such as a refirgerator were a surprise for a room of this size and in this pricing category. Garage is tight but clean and bright and the best per night rate in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants of almost every ethnic flavor and price range within a couple of blocks.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tsop
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2007

Convenience at a great rate

Jury's Normandy was a pesant surprise. While the room is small, it is very comfortable withthe exception of the easy chair which is too straight and has no arms. In the same space they could have put a more comfortable chair. It is easy to get to a great variety of restaurants and shops. Neighborhood is very clean and gives a feeling of security. Ammenities such as a refirgerator were a surprise for a room of this size and in this pricing category. Garage is tight but clean and bright and the best per night rate in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants of almost every ethnic flavor and price range within a couple of blocks.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WV
Mar 21, 2010

A delicious surprise

It had what I like best: There was no one out front; I met only the desk clerk. No noisy bell boy, no background music, no offer of valet parking. The basement parking garage was tricky; only space for about six cars and even though I am a skilled driver with a Nissan Sentra it took me a couple of reversals to maneuver into a parking space. It happened that another car was entering as I left and I had to scrape a mirror to get by. Hallways are narrow with low ceiling, but the hotel was exceptionally clean. I smelled no odors either of spices or of cover-ups. The room was small but cozy and all fittings were very modern. Wide screen TV but limited channel selection. Computer in the lobby and wireless internet included in the room, but I went to sleep and did not try it. (After all, I went there to sleep, not work.) Shower with full length door and plenty of room for 2. Sink was very wide and long but so shallow I had some difficulty rinsing my razor. The only sound I heard was a quiet ventilation. Window shades were easily operated and effective. I liked most that I checked in and was left alone. I hate expensive hotels where there always seems to be someone at my elbow attentive to my needs and comfort; yet when I sought help for parking my car to avoid an extra days charge for parking, the desk clerk told me how to find parking on the street and it worked. If I have reason to go to DC again I'll probably stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you drive here use a small car.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie55
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Perfect

This is a small boutique hotel, situated in a residential area - a stone's throw away from several restaurants. Dupont Circle area. Stayed here w/another couple (in our 30s) it was perfect for us. Staff was great, free wine reception every evening at 6pm. (they do not sell wine/alcohol ever) Nice cappuccino machine in lounge offering free cappuccinos, lattes, espressos all day/night. Lounge area is very comfortable and warm. Good size bathrooms, nice clean hotel. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Da Planner
Pittsylvania County, VA
Jun 2, 2010

Oh so quaint!!

The hotel itself is very lovely! The surrounding neighborhood is beautiful and full of embassies from around the world. Overall we had a great experience! The staff was not overly friendly, but very helpful and efficient - it reminded me very much of Europe! I loved the room! It was a little small and there were a few times we could hear our neighbors, it was also very comfortable and cozy. The espresso machine was a delight! We were a little disappointed not to locate a drink machine of some sort, but otherwise there was nothing lacking in the hotel itself. Parking was difficult, there was literally nothing on the street when we got there and the garage is oddly shaped and only holds about 8 or 9 cars. The free wireless internet was a welcome bonus! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, however, and will definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend paying to park you car in garage but driving and parking closer to the metro station, rather than walking from the hotel to the metro - it will save time and your feet.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast
Aug 1, 2011

Wonderful and gracious

Quiet elegance, lovely guest room with luxurious shower and bedding, several beautiful parlors, wonderful unusual breakfast in lovely sunroom overlooking patio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 to 7 blocks

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
May 26, 2007

Business escape

This was a very pleasant hotel with great staff. The hotel provided a welcome rest for a weary business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Richmond, VA
Sep 2, 2012

Girls Night Out

We stayed at the Normandy for one Saturday night to visit a club in D.C! The room was so nice, service was great! They gave us complimentary wine, chocolate and cheese...staff was very friendly and hotel a block from Connecticut Ave which has everything you need!! LOVED MY STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hngdwmn
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2013

We'll be back!

This is a lovely little jewel tucked into the most perfect area in DC. Easy access to the beautiful Embassy Row, the Zoo, the Metro and DuPont Circle, the staff is friendly and accomodating, the rooms quiet, clean and very comfy. So far my favorite place to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doyle Collection convert
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 5, 2010

Not where I stayed in the end...

[...] I didn't find out until arriving at The Normandy that my reservation had been switched to their sister property The Dupont Hotel. The change couldn't have made me happier, as The Dupont is incredible, easily the best hotel in my Washington, DC experience. Polite staff, sublime accomodations and the most comfortable bed anywhere. Budget questions aside, I'd choose to stay at The Dupont whenever business or pleasure takes me to DC again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top