$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
181 reviews
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel! See full review

  • Tianrainie
  • Nov 14, 2013
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 181
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RunnerGirl25
Leonardtown, Maryland
Mar 17, 2014

Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a perfect choice for our sister's weekend away -- good location, beautiful room, great decor and all came at a great price. The staff was fantastic and check-in/check out was a breeze. The room is a little small, but has everything you could need and more. There is even a bathroom floor light that turns on when you enter the bathroom in the dark -- very helpful at night! The hotel was very quiet and quaint and ideal for our evening out in Adams Morgan/Dupont area. This is probably not the best choice for children but perfect for an adults weekend. Very romantic and I can't wait to return with my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DxBx
NJ
Oct 22, 2013

Nice Hotel but need better staff

This hotel was very nice we arrived around midnight and had no issue to get to our room. We stayed only one night. Rooms are decorated very nicely and clean however they are on the small side just like the European hotels. Bed was very comfortable. The staff can use some training in customer service. As we arrived we asked for extra towels, the front desk person told me that he will bring them up. However after 10 minutes in the room the phone rang and he said that he cannot bring them up until the morning. When we arrived we tried to get coffee from the free machine that they have next to the lobby but the machine did not function and had no coffee in it. There is also an espresso machine in the room. The machine did not have any coffee pods even though the morning front desk person told me that they should be in the machine. The water reservoir was missing from the machine so, no coffee could be made. When I expressed my disappointment on the subject with the front desk they had nothing to say. A guest at such hotel might expect the front desk to order coffee for the guest before they leave the hotel. However, at the Normandy it appears that staff care less if guests are satisfied or return to stay with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC24
Union, SC
Jul 16, 2013

Great little hotel

The neighborhood is great and the hotel is quaint. There is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station and the wi-fi did not work inside our room so we had to sit out in the hallway or go downstairs to the common area. Otherwise this hotel was perfect for our visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Grandmother
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2013

Great Location

This was largely a great experience for myself and grandsons. The only issue was the attitude of the front desk employee who checked us in. He had a very unfriendly attitude and kept us waiting for about 15 minutes before assigning a room without any reason given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reynalda
durham, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Nice Weekend

I spent a Saturday night at this hotel. It is situated in a really nice area but there was no parking available on the street and I had to pay about $26 for garage parking in the basement of the hotel. The hotel is very elegant and the staff is very helpful and courteous. The hotel was worth the price. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee Smith
washington dc downtown
Nov 29, 2012

great hotel for the value

The room was a bit small. It almost appeared it was actually meant to be a one bed room that 2 double beds were pushed into. The service was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay and I would check this place out again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking was a challenge because we did not want to pay the $30 a night parking but we were able to find parking on the street nearby. We just had to move the car every 2 hours beginning at 7am on weekdays and 9 on weekends.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Country Mouse Mom
Martinsville, VA
Nov 26, 2012

good location, great deal

The hotel is in a great location, right off Connecticut Avenue, easy to find parking in the neighborhood (especially on a holiday weekend). The room was very nice, although I missed having a chest of drawers to put things away, also missed having a tub but used to that in DC hotels. They had a little trouble with the towels (no wash cloths the first day, no hand towels the second day) and only had decaf espresso on the first day. We didn't have much contact with the staff but they were pleasant at check-in and check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moire
South Setauket, NY
Aug 9, 2012

Fantastic trip

The hotel is better than I thought. Although the room isnot big, the room is clean, comfortable. I will recommend the hotel to my friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dauna
Wheeling WV
Jul 9, 2012

FABULOUS...note: Rooms ending in "10"

FABULOUS place, FABULOUS Staff!!!, Only problem....rooms ending in "10" do NOT have the micro fridges...due to the layout of specific rooms; yet the staff was so willing to "keep anything down here"...We really didn't need to :) OH and the BOOK COLLECTION they provide in their lounge rooms down stairs is exquisite! That matches the decor of all public areas to browse and enjoy!!! DEFINATELY!!! will return! SO Tasteful, and intimate.....truely a "Botuique Hotel" at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsMum
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

not a good choice

Had high hopes as the hotel is lovely - but numerous flaws overshaddows the beautiful lobby. Very long uphill walk from Metro stop, rooms are beyond tiny and have NO bureaus - so other than a tiny clost you have no way to unpack. Bathroom is lovely, but tiny, and no where to hang the bath towels. Continental b'fast at $17 is Horrible Value - some salami, fruit slices, hard boiled eggs, and not yet thawed English muffins, and a broken coffee machine. Each day we found that they had not replenished our in room coffee supplies and completely ran out of caffinated coffee. For some reason they never gave us face cloths. Calls to the front desk resulted in NOTHING happening. Cocktail hour is lovely though - though one night they ran out of some foods and said the order did not show up. Management clearly needs to be better - the entire staff looked overwhelmed just trying to keep up with having and serving food and cleaning the rooms and keeping up with the laundry. AC is poor - suggest some ceiling fans as rooms get warm at night. Hotel had so much potential, but they need to do a way better job with b'fast (as there is no where else to go nearby) and management needs to greatly improvemd so that basic services can be handled. It is a pretty little place, and charming....but we obviously can not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have b'fast at the nearby Hikton - amazing b'fast and wait staff!!

Back to menu Return to top