$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
161 reviews
Business hotel

The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong. See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Excellent for us

Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks... See full review

  • Birmingham Dog Lovers
  • Mar 18, 2015
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 161
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Business
Birmingham
Mar 18, 2015

Excellent for us

Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station, there were numerous good restaurants nearby. We ate breakfast at the hotel three of four mornings. The room had all the amenities we needed or even wanted. There was a day's worth of museums within a few blocks walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee B
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Great overnight get-away

The location was great. It is in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance from restaurants and shops. My husband and I walked to a few restaurants. Parking at the hotel is expensive ($40) street parking is a good alternative. The staff is exceptional and very accommodating. BJ was the night doorman and he was a great resource for information about the hotel and neighborhood. There is a wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm. The only complaint was the room was very hot which made it uncomfortable to sleep. We turned the heat down to 65 and attempted to turn it off but it is not regulated by each room. The window in our room did not open and there were no fans. We would stay in the front of the property when we return because there are French doors and we saw a few windows open. Overall, a great place and we would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lebanese Taverna is a great restaurant about a 10 - 15 min walk.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mhicks
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 26, 2014

Great Way to stay in DC!

Friendly staff, easy location. We loved the evening wine and cheese gatherings, too. The room was small, but comfortably arranged. With changing outside temps, the room temperature was a bit off during 1 evening and night, but otherwise our stay was pleasant. We would stay at the Normandy again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay attention to the street names on the entrance side of the Metro at DuPont Circle. If you exit south instead of north, you have to cross the circle to head back to the hotel...

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth from Fl
Business
Florida
Oct 23, 2014

DC vacation

Arrived early and was still able to check in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very pleased with room. Disappointed with the high price of parking on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCCH Mom
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Perfect for our trip

I was looking for something unique, not a chain. The Normandy fit that bill. It is in the cutest neighbor, it feels very special and personal. The staff was absolutely outstanding!! The location is terrific - fabulous restaurants within easy walking distance, close to National Mall, and even you don't want to sightsee, you feel like you're visiting an old friend and just want to hang out, go for walks, get some gelato. My only opportunities for improvement - parking, don't stay on the first floor (lighting is terrible for women and putting on makeup) and this is going to sound really picky, but toilet paper - when you are paying this kind of money, staying in a very classy neighbor, I expected more than single ply toilet paper you get in an airport. All in all, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for casual, warm dining experience Maddy's is the place to go and on the way back to The Normandy, you pass a terrific gelato store - you have to stop!!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vianci77
Business
Panama
Sep 28, 2014

Great hotel

This hotel was really nice, i was there 4 days and the service was so great, is small however the service, the quality were so good compared with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris new world traveler
Business
Ft worth tx
Sep 18, 2014

First timer

Room was very comfortable and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye87
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 5, 2014

Good place for few days in DC

Normandy Hotel for the most part is a pretty decent place to stay. It is a decent walk to the Metro train, and nearby bars and restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful, at nigjt they seem to be very understaffed. We needed new sheets for our bed one evening and nobody came up to change them. The gentleman working the feint desk handed us the new sheets and expected us to change them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules Kay
Business
South Dakota
Aug 10, 2014

Very charming

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Normandy Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but very charming. The room was very clean and everything we needed was there. The location was a short walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and the Metro. Also enjoyed the espresso maker in the room and we took advantage of the wine offered each evening. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants with a variety of menus.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gisselleT
Business
Virginia
Jul 14, 2014

cute place

The stay was nice, the rooms are a little smaller then pictured. The only problem we had was trying to find some were to park because valet was 35 a night and if u found your own parking it was free... other then that I would recommend this place its close to all the night life and resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top