$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
181 reviews
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel! See full review

  • Tianrainie
  • Nov 14, 2013
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 181
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegan in Virginia
Virginia
Apr 30, 2014

Perfect overnight getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Normandy for a romantic overnight getaway. The location couldn't have been better - about half way between Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. The neighborhood is full of embassies and we loved walking around looking at all the beautiful buildings. We arrived about an hour before check in so our room wasn't quite ready, but the concierge let us go ahead and park the car (they offer underground parking - reasonably priced too!). While we waited for the room, we went shopping in Adams Morgan, which was only a few block away. We had dinner at the Smoke and Barrel in Adams Morgan - a BBQ restaurant that offers meat lovers and vegan options (the vegan spare ribs were incredible). During check in the concierge overheard us say that the trip was a little birthday celebration for my boyfriend so when we came back from dinner a complimentary dessert and birthday card were brought up to the room. It was unexpected and very sweet. We stayed in a delux king room. It was small, but comfortable and nicely furnished. The TV didn't offer much in the way of channels - pretty much the basic network stations and that's it. The bathroom was nice, but very small. We checked out the next morning, but were able to leave the car at the hotel for the day while we went site seeing. We walked to Dupont Circle and found a little diner for brunch, and then hopped on the metro - all super convenient and easy. All and all I would definitely recommend this hotel for it's location, staff, cleanliness and price, and will stay there again if the opportunity comes up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sassy wiggles
washington dc
Feb 18, 2014

solid

small room, but nicely furnished and appointed and easily walkable around town. excellent value for the weekend. disappointed that no wine cocktail hour or newspaper on the weekend, no fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furan
New York
Jan 7, 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel

Free wine and Cheese in the afternoon. Very cozy living room. L'Occitane bath sets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hngdwmn
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2013

We'll be back!

This is a lovely little jewel tucked into the most perfect area in DC. Easy access to the beautiful Embassy Row, the Zoo, the Metro and DuPont Circle, the staff is friendly and accomodating, the rooms quiet, clean and very comfy. So far my favorite place to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy AJ
Tulsa, OK
Jun 30, 2013

Great hotel for doing DC!

Really enjoyed our stay at the Normandy. It's a Euro-style hotel in a quiet, around-the-corner location north of the DuPont Circle area. Distance to the Metro Train station is reasonable, and close enough that you're not burning a significant part of your day getting to/from the heart of DC. Staff was very courteous and helpful, and seemed genuinely interested in being helpful and address any concerns. The complimentary espresso machine in the lobby was, for me, icing on the cake. Fresh-ground shots in caff or decaf - so good. The only real issue we had was that our room was in the corner of the third floor, and wi-fi signal was very weak. It's fine down in the lobby area, where there are a lot of little alcoves and corners to park yourself and relax with your espresso drink and surf away. Wi-fi signal is probably not an issue in most other guest rooms, either. Bottom Line: we'll definitely consider the Normandy when we get back to DC next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ted4
North Carolina
May 10, 2013

Washington meeting

very small rooms. I have been in European rooms of similar size. We had two rooms and one was not large enough to pull a bag through. Also small closets about enough room for a couple's weekend clothes. Bathroom rooms are very nice. Housekeeping will not change sheets if anything is on the bed...like a jacket Happy hour with cracker/cheese and free wine very nice touch at the end of a busy day. Breakfast not a good value. Parking a real problem and expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Odeon restaurant with excellent northern Italian food.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent travel dogs
Denver, Colorado
Feb 13, 2013

good hotel to stay

Overall the hotel is good. A little far from metro station and the bathroom is a little small and virtually has no countertop spaces to put things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inauguration Visitor
North Carolina
Jan 22, 2013

Nice room, but no parking

The room was small, but comfortable. Exactly what you'd expect of a hotel in a major city. However, parking was an issue. When we got there there was no parking and we had to wait until other guests finished checking in to use the 15 minute on street parking. Then when we checked in, the hotel had no parking spaces available in its lot, so we had to park at the Marriott two blocks away. Overall, I'd recommend it to others, but get there early to find parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ NYC
New York, NY
Jan 22, 2013

Comfortable hotel

Nice boutique hotel in Washington D.C. Staff were pleasant, friendly. We were in the city for the Inauguration and the staff were helpful with directions to and from various events and with suggestions on places to eat and things to do in DC. A little delay in checking into the hotel - they were unable to confirm the reservations that we made through Cheap Tickets.com so we had to wait in the lobby for a little while before getting into our room. The room was small but very comfortable and charming. Everything was very clean and modern. The bed was heavenly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants that are just a short walking distance from the hotel

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stew11b
Wilmington, NC
Jan 7, 2013

Great location for the price!

Nice bed & breakfast feel to the place. Staff was very friendly and room was very nice. Parking garage is TIGHT though. I don't know if I could have parked the car in there if it was full. Luckily it wasn't so I was able to use the space across from me to pull in and out. Definitely more geared for compact cars. Big SUV, forget about it. It cost about $30 for the night with the DC parking tax thrown in. The only complaint we had was that we could not control the HVAC unit in our room. So it started to get hot despite what we set the unit to. We ended up opening the window and that worked for us. Overall, a good inexpensive place to stay in a safe part of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Adam's Morgan is a great place to get a Jumbo Slice and a cheap beer at "Millie & Al's"!

Back to menu Return to top