$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
153 reviews
Great hotel

The normandy was a great place to stay when visiting washington d c . It was located in the middle... See full review

  • Terrence M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
An absolute gem

I never write reviews, but this place was such an awesome find I felt compelled. Fantastic location... See full review

  • Thomas R.
  • Jan 15, 2015
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 153
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas R.
Business
Dexter
Jan 15, 2015

An absolute gem

I never write reviews, but this place was such an awesome find I felt compelled. Fantastic location in a beautiful area of Dupont with a ten minute walk/$6 cab ride to the metro. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and pleasant. The room was a bit small and warm, but super comfortable and beautifully decorated. I can't stress enough what a steal this was for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to Metro Center, Union Station, or Capitol Hill areas, save yourself the hassle of the metro as it's a cheap cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thutchinson
Business
Apple Valley
Dec 23, 2014

Nice stay

I stayed at The Normandy on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. My colleague found the pillows really uncomfortable, and the staff purchased a new set for his room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad Student Travelor
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 24, 2014

Beautiful Old Bldg with All Inhering Quirks but Great Wi-Fi

The staff at this hotel is consistently friendly and responsive. Every request I made was responded to within 5 minutes or less. The room is not huge, so not great for families, but roomy enough for an individual or couple. The queen bed was roomy and comfy enough for me and I'm a rough sleeper (tossing and turning is my norm). Two things I missed were drawer space to unpack to and AC. Being an old building, when it's cold they have heat and when it's warm they have AC, but not both. So, when my room got stuffy, I had to open a window. Not so bad as long as it's not raining. Overall, I had a good enough time to be willing to stay there again. Another plus is their two short block proximity to the Washington Hilton where my conference took place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatT of RI
Business
Rhode Island
Nov 2, 2014

Stylish but not pretentious

This small older hotel was a fine alternative to a nearby convention hotel. My room was small and lacked a dresser. The bathroom was well appointed. The staff was attentive. The location on a quiet side street was very close to public transportation, restaurants and shops. I did not sample the available wine and cheese, or the extra cost breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus one half block away. The hotel is six blocks uphill from the nearest metro stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ortoco
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 19, 2014

Location + comfort

With its European style, really comfy rooms and great location, it can't get any better than this... unless the price tag was a bit lower :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A whole host of good reataurants and nice bars, this is the right spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDennis
Business
Seattle
Sep 21, 2014

Alternative to conference hotel

I attended a conference at the Washington Hilton. There were no rooms available at the WH so I booked the Normandy. Was I ever surprised! It was excellent. Just a short walk from the WH I found lots of high end room features. The staff was phenomenal. I was always greeted and quickly felt that I was part of the Normandy "family". While there was no hotel restaurant tons of great eateries are within walking distance on Connecticut Ave. When I checked out I was told that the next time I booked the hotel that I could get a loyalty discount. A perfect end to a perfect stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goodguy2
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 1, 2014

Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

6mins to Metro station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natty B
Business
St. Petersburg, Florida
Apr 6, 2014

Decent boutique hotel

Extremely comfortable bed and great, attentive service. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alme
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 5, 2014

lovely boutique hotel

I chose the Normandy for its location--walking distance to Dupont Circle, Woodley Park, and Adams-Morgan. My only complaint is the size of the room and bathroom--the room--a double-- just barely contained the bed, chair & ottoman, and table covered by (large screen) TV and Nespresso maker (a nice touch). No desk. The bathroom was also tiny--dominated by a good-sized shower with glass doors (no tub), not much space for laying out toiletries, makeup, etc. (At first glance, I thought housekeeping had forgotten to give me shampoo & conditioner; they turned out to be in the shower.) No restaurant/room service, but local restaurants deliver and breakfast is available for an additional charge. These shortcomings were more than made up for by the exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, the large and comfortable common spaces on the main floor, complimentary wine hour in the evening, complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, and beautiful neighborhood (Embassy district). Lots of restaurants, bars, and shops a couple blocks away on Connecticut Avenue. I'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phineas1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel in a great DC Neighborhood

I stayed here just one night to attend a conference at a much larger hotel about a mile up the road. I liked the neighborhood--near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan, Kalorama, close enough to restaurants and was looking for something more boutique-like. I found it in the Normandy, located on a quiet street off of Connecticut Avenue (Next to the Embassy of Senegal). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby area though small, opened up into a lovely space where one could sit and read a book, or enjoy the daily wine and cheese. The room was very comfortable with an interesting wall-paper design. The bathroom was re-done into a modern space with a walk in shower with rainforest head. The sink was a little shallow, causing water to splash up, but otherwise no complaints. The king bed mattress was a little soft for my taste but I did get a good night's sleep after watching a little bit of television on the flat screen located on the dresser/desk. My room viewed another building across small courtyard, but some rooms face out to the street. In sum, the Normandy Hotel is a nice hotel and highly recommended for a stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top