$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 2, 2012

Girls Night Out

We stayed at the Normandy for one Saturday night to visit a club in D.C! The room was so nice, service was great! They gave us complimentary wine, chocolate and cheese...staff was very friendly and hotel a block from Connecticut Ave which has everything you need!! LOVED MY STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moire
Business
South Setauket, NY
Aug 9, 2012

Fantastic trip

The hotel is better than I thought. Although the room isnot big, the room is clean, comfortable. I will recommend the hotel to my friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nmddm
Business
Utah
Jul 18, 2012

Wonderful getaway

The Hotel was beautiful, centrally located, close to subways, restaurants, grocery stores, post office, malls, markets. The staff were very accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable. Loved the wine and cheese each evening; loved the cold water with lemon and cucumber. Very refreshing each evening after our walks. Loved the warm Chocolate Chip cookies in the mornings. If The Normandie had a pool and hot tub, I would have been in 7th heaven. Because it was hot and humid during our visit, a pool would have hit the spot after our long days of walking. A pool was available two blocks away, but that just didn't work for us. Everything else was A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subways worked incredibly well for us and centrally located to The Normandie Hotel. It took us to every part of Washington, D.C. so we didn't need a car or taxi. We got to and from airports and all our shopping and dining and sightseeing. If you are staying at least 6 days, buy the unlimited pass. Subways were very safe.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dauna
Business
Wheeling WV
Jul 9, 2012

FABULOUS...note: Rooms ending in "10"

FABULOUS place, FABULOUS Staff!!!, Only problem....rooms ending in "10" do NOT have the micro fridges...due to the layout of specific rooms; yet the staff was so willing to "keep anything down here"...We really didn't need to :) OH and the BOOK COLLECTION they provide in their lounge rooms down stairs is exquisite! That matches the decor of all public areas to browse and enjoy!!! DEFINATELY!!! will return! SO Tasteful, and intimate.....truely a "Botuique Hotel" at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chbh
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 27, 2012

Interesting

Very European feel. Appreciate the wine tasting and the espresso made in the room or the hotel's lounge area. Room was small but clean and modern. Breakfast is available but they don't advertise the $16 price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsMum
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

not a good choice

Had high hopes as the hotel is lovely - but numerous flaws overshaddows the beautiful lobby. Very long uphill walk from Metro stop, rooms are beyond tiny and have NO bureaus - so other than a tiny clost you have no way to unpack. Bathroom is lovely, but tiny, and no where to hang the bath towels. Continental b'fast at $17 is Horrible Value - some salami, fruit slices, hard boiled eggs, and not yet thawed English muffins, and a broken coffee machine. Each day we found that they had not replenished our in room coffee supplies and completely ran out of caffinated coffee. For some reason they never gave us face cloths. Calls to the front desk resulted in NOTHING happening. Cocktail hour is lovely though - though one night they ran out of some foods and said the order did not show up. Management clearly needs to be better - the entire staff looked overwhelmed just trying to keep up with having and serving food and cleaning the rooms and keeping up with the laundry. AC is poor - suggest some ceiling fans as rooms get warm at night. Hotel had so much potential, but they need to do a way better job with b'fast (as there is no where else to go nearby) and management needs to greatly improvemd so that basic services can be handled. It is a pretty little place, and charming....but we obviously can not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have b'fast at the nearby Hikton - amazing b'fast and wait staff!!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. F. P.
Business
Minnesota
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel to stay at in Washington, DC

We stayed for seven nights at the Normandy. The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. We were unfamiliar with the city and asked many questions. They were courteous and friendly. Our room was very clean and housekeeping was thorough. The room was small but the hotel has an inviting lobby. It is in a beautiful neighborhood and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
votan
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Pretty good

I went to D.C. on a business trip with my husband. We upgraded . The hotel is a small, cute very well decorated and very clean place. Is more an European style hotel. Elevator is pretty small. We both really like the hotel for the price.I saw my friend's room hotel at the Hilton and it was not much bigger, she payed $100 extra per night! If we are back to D.C. we are planing to stay here again. It is true that it can get little noisy but during our 4 nights there, it was quiet during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ferro
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 21, 2012

Not again!

No towels! We asked for it and it never came. There were stains on the toilet seat left over from previous guest! It is obvious that room was not cleaned properly. Room is very narrow and hard to move around. No view either! I would never stay at this hotel again! I would rather camp on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaShonda
Business
Waco, Texas
Mar 16, 2012

Perfect for My Needs

The Normandy is an older hotel that has been refurbished. I was looking for something that was relatively inexpensive and located in the NW sector. I also wanted a locale that was safe. The Normandy filled the bill on all three counts. The room was small, but comfortable. It was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Complimentary wine and cheese was served every evening. The morning breakfast was limited and a bit pricey for what was offered, but that was a minor annoyance. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but you are within about a 4-5 block walking distance from multiple restaurants--Italian, Thai, Indian, Russian, French, etc. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return to it on my next trip to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant on Continental Avenue is to die for. Try the Hawaiian duck.

Back to menu Return to top