$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portman
Friends
Boston, Mass
Sep 17, 2012

Normandy Hotel good for value abd location

Overall the Hotel was a good value and the staff were excellent especially when we had a problem with the room AC. They solved the problem. The only negative aspect about the hotel was, the breakfast was not included and it was not very good. When we checked in the hotel clerk should of informed us that the breakfast was not included. After informing managment about this they took the charge off the bill. O

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you choose this hotel take the bus to the Metro System, Dupont Circle is half mile away.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayPRQ
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Worth a return (to the scene of the crime)

A boutique hotel is always cozy, but the amenities at the Normandy were really great: in-room espresso machine (but stocked with too many decaf pods and not enough creamers and sweeteners), free WiFi, in-room DVD player, in-room refrigerator, raindrop showerhead, daily (even on weekends) social hour with wine and cheese-and-cracker plates (not replenished enough), and coffee/latte/espresso/hot chocolate/tea available all day in the sunroom and lobby living room area. So this place definitely felt like a nice respite from weary travels and a gem of a find in Washington DC's Embassy Row neighborhood. Parking is awful, so rental car users beware: because of the diplomat neighbors, there is almost no unrestricted parking for many blocks around. Also, I returned to the hotel one morning after brunch and found the entire street corner marked off with police tape. The lobby, elevator, third floor, and my sixth floor all had signs of some kind of domestic dispute gone badly in one of the rooms that caused some people to go running through the halls in a mad rage, contaminating what looked like the entire building. I don't need the gory details, and my stay was already pre-paid which was still a great deal, and I'm familiar enough with the area to know that it was an isolated incident in a safe neighborhood. But the management of the hotel never explained what happened to me (or the other guests, apparently), which made the whole incident feel more dubious than perhaps it was. Some kind of accurate report would have been appreciated; a gesture of goodwill (like a return visit credit or a bottle of wine or something) would have been even better. To return to your hotel room twice and be told by housekeeping staff "be careful of the mess" when walking on carpet or moving through a hallway is unsettling to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk north on Connecticut to Woodley Park or south on Connecticut to Dupont Circle for lots of dining and drinking options. A longer walk or short cab ride to Logan Circle will bring you even more choices.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Friends
Richmond, VA
Sep 4, 2012

GIRLS NIGHT

LOVED THIS HOTEL, GAVE US FREE WINE AND CHEESE AND CHOCOLATE! AND NEAR EVERYTHING ON CONNECTICUT AVE, NEXT TO EMBASSY.. SO VERY CLEAN AND QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD... PARKING FOR HOTEL IS $25 A DAY BUT STREET PARKING WAS AVAILABLE, WHICH WAS GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Friends
Richmond, VA
Sep 2, 2012

Girls Night Out

We stayed at the Normandy for one Saturday night to visit a club in D.C! The room was so nice, service was great! They gave us complimentary wine, chocolate and cheese...staff was very friendly and hotel a block from Connecticut Ave which has everything you need!! LOVED MY STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nmddm
Couples
Utah
Jul 18, 2012

Wonderful getaway

The Hotel was beautiful, centrally located, close to subways, restaurants, grocery stores, post office, malls, markets. The staff were very accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable. Loved the wine and cheese each evening; loved the cold water with lemon and cucumber. Very refreshing each evening after our walks. Loved the warm Chocolate Chip cookies in the mornings. If The Normandie had a pool and hot tub, I would have been in 7th heaven. Because it was hot and humid during our visit, a pool would have hit the spot after our long days of walking. A pool was available two blocks away, but that just didn't work for us. Everything else was A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subways worked incredibly well for us and centrally located to The Normandie Hotel. It took us to every part of Washington, D.C. so we didn't need a car or taxi. We got to and from airports and all our shopping and dining and sightseeing. If you are staying at least 6 days, buy the unlimited pass. Subways were very safe.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dauna
Family
Wheeling WV
Jul 9, 2012

FABULOUS...note: Rooms ending in "10"

FABULOUS place, FABULOUS Staff!!!, Only problem....rooms ending in "10" do NOT have the micro fridges...due to the layout of specific rooms; yet the staff was so willing to "keep anything down here"...We really didn't need to :) OH and the BOOK COLLECTION they provide in their lounge rooms down stairs is exquisite! That matches the decor of all public areas to browse and enjoy!!! DEFINATELY!!! will return! SO Tasteful, and intimate.....truely a "Botuique Hotel" at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chbh
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 27, 2012

Interesting

Very European feel. Appreciate the wine tasting and the espresso made in the room or the hotel's lounge area. Room was small but clean and modern. Breakfast is available but they don't advertise the $16 price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsMum
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

not a good choice

Had high hopes as the hotel is lovely - but numerous flaws overshaddows the beautiful lobby. Very long uphill walk from Metro stop, rooms are beyond tiny and have NO bureaus - so other than a tiny clost you have no way to unpack. Bathroom is lovely, but tiny, and no where to hang the bath towels. Continental b'fast at $17 is Horrible Value - some salami, fruit slices, hard boiled eggs, and not yet thawed English muffins, and a broken coffee machine. Each day we found that they had not replenished our in room coffee supplies and completely ran out of caffinated coffee. For some reason they never gave us face cloths. Calls to the front desk resulted in NOTHING happening. Cocktail hour is lovely though - though one night they ran out of some foods and said the order did not show up. Management clearly needs to be better - the entire staff looked overwhelmed just trying to keep up with having and serving food and cleaning the rooms and keeping up with the laundry. AC is poor - suggest some ceiling fans as rooms get warm at night. Hotel had so much potential, but they need to do a way better job with b'fast (as there is no where else to go nearby) and management needs to greatly improvemd so that basic services can be handled. It is a pretty little place, and charming....but we obviously can not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have b'fast at the nearby Hikton - amazing b'fast and wait staff!!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. F. P.
Couples
Minnesota
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel to stay at in Washington, DC

We stayed for seven nights at the Normandy. The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. We were unfamiliar with the city and asked many questions. They were courteous and friendly. Our room was very clean and housekeeping was thorough. The room was small but the hotel has an inviting lobby. It is in a beautiful neighborhood and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
votan
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Pretty good

I went to D.C. on a business trip with my husband. We upgraded . The hotel is a small, cute very well decorated and very clean place. Is more an European style hotel. Elevator is pretty small. We both really like the hotel for the price.I saw my friend's room hotel at the Hilton and it was not much bigger, she payed $100 extra per night! If we are back to D.C. we are planing to stay here again. It is true that it can get little noisy but during our 4 nights there, it was quiet during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top