$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
181 reviews
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel! See full review

  • Tianrainie
  • Nov 14, 2013
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel lighter
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Oct 12, 2012

Quick D.C. visit

The staff at the Normandy could not have been more helpful. We left our bags with the desk when we arrived early at 9:30 AM and did the same at check out as we needed a place to store suitcases for our late flight out. That day the stormy weather deterred my husband from sightseeing. He spent a good part of the day in the comfortable lobby where staff doted on him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor P
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 19, 2012

Great location, great value

This boutique hotel was about 1 block from my meeting site and was a quarter the cost! The room was small but comfortable with nice amenities - espresso maker, free wireless internet, even an umbrella in the closet. The thermostat didn't seem to work and the room was hot, but the window opened to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. The only downside was when I got the bill ($17) for a skimpy buffet breakfast that I thought was included in the room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
All137
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 16, 2012

A Good Value

A clean, friendly hotel in a fabulous location. Love the walk to Dupont Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Raku - An Asian Bistro - right near Dupont Circle. Fabulous and affordable.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westfork Gal
Business
Republic, WA
Nov 16, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel!

There's a very European feel to this small and very nicely appointed hotel. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable. It was the best night's sleep I had my entire trip. I'll definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel lighter
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Oct 12, 2012

Quick D.C. visit

The staff at the Normandy could not have been more helpful. We left our bags with the desk when we arrived early at 9:30 AM and did the same at check out as we needed a place to store suitcases for our late flight out. That day the stormy weather deterred my husband from sightseeing. He spent a good part of the day in the comfortable lobby where staff doted on him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portman
Boston, Mass
Sep 17, 2012

Normandy Hotel good for value abd location

Overall the Hotel was a good value and the staff were excellent especially when we had a problem with the room AC. They solved the problem. The only negative aspect about the hotel was, the breakfast was not included and it was not very good. When we checked in the hotel clerk should of informed us that the breakfast was not included. After informing managment about this they took the charge off the bill. O

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you choose this hotel take the bus to the Metro System, Dupont Circle is half mile away.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Richmond, VA
Sep 4, 2012

GIRLS NIGHT

LOVED THIS HOTEL, GAVE US FREE WINE AND CHEESE AND CHOCOLATE! AND NEAR EVERYTHING ON CONNECTICUT AVE, NEXT TO EMBASSY.. SO VERY CLEAN AND QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD... PARKING FOR HOTEL IS $25 A DAY BUT STREET PARKING WAS AVAILABLE, WHICH WAS GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayPRQ
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Worth a return (to the scene of the crime)

A boutique hotel is always cozy, but the amenities at the Normandy were really great: in-room espresso machine (but stocked with too many decaf pods and not enough creamers and sweeteners), free WiFi, in-room DVD player, in-room refrigerator, raindrop showerhead, daily (even on weekends) social hour with wine and cheese-and-cracker plates (not replenished enough), and coffee/latte/espresso/hot chocolate/tea available all day in the sunroom and lobby living room area. So this place definitely felt like a nice respite from weary travels and a gem of a find in Washington DC's Embassy Row neighborhood. Parking is awful, so rental car users beware: because of the diplomat neighbors, there is almost no unrestricted parking for many blocks around. Also, I returned to the hotel one morning after brunch and found the entire street corner marked off with police tape. The lobby, elevator, third floor, and my sixth floor all had signs of some kind of domestic dispute gone badly in one of the rooms that caused some people to go running through the halls in a mad rage, contaminating what looked like the entire building. I don't need the gory details, and my stay was already pre-paid which was still a great deal, and I'm familiar enough with the area to know that it was an isolated incident in a safe neighborhood. But the management of the hotel never explained what happened to me (or the other guests, apparently), which made the whole incident feel more dubious than perhaps it was. Some kind of accurate report would have been appreciated; a gesture of goodwill (like a return visit credit or a bottle of wine or something) would have been even better. To return to your hotel room twice and be told by housekeeping staff "be careful of the mess" when walking on carpet or moving through a hallway is unsettling to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk north on Connecticut to Woodley Park or south on Connecticut to Dupont Circle for lots of dining and drinking options. A longer walk or short cab ride to Logan Circle will bring you even more choices.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAlda
Business
New York City
Sep 2, 2012

Great price and location

Great place to stay overnight. The internet was slow and kept dropping, there was a dirty washcloth in the bathroom. There was no coffee despite a coffee machine and cups. It is located in Dupont Circle and close to restaurants and the train. It is a great place for quick overnight stays in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Richmond, VA
Sep 2, 2012

Girls Night Out

We stayed at the Normandy for one Saturday night to visit a club in D.C! The room was so nice, service was great! They gave us complimentary wine, chocolate and cheese...staff was very friendly and hotel a block from Connecticut Ave which has everything you need!! LOVED MY STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moire
South Setauket, NY
Aug 9, 2012

Fantastic trip

The hotel is better than I thought. Although the room isnot big, the room is clean, comfortable. I will recommend the hotel to my friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top