$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
babyblu730
washington dc
Feb 22, 2013

home away from home

Always comforting and quiet. The showers are amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westfork Gal
Business
Republic, WA
Nov 16, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel!

There's a very European feel to this small and very nicely appointed hotel. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable. It was the best night's sleep I had my entire trip. I'll definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor P
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 19, 2012

Great location, great value

This boutique hotel was about 1 block from my meeting site and was a quarter the cost! The room was small but comfortable with nice amenities - espresso maker, free wireless internet, even an umbrella in the closet. The thermostat didn't seem to work and the room was hot, but the window opened to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. The only downside was when I got the bill ($17) for a skimpy buffet breakfast that I thought was included in the room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalUrsus
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 29, 2012

Great deals for boutique hotel.

If you can get an online deal on this place, it's an absolute steal. Very nice, smallish rooms but very cozy. I found the bed very comfortable and the courtyard facing location was super quiet. Location is uphill from Dupont Circle which is a pain in lousy weather, but walking around the nearby embassies on adjacent blocks is fun. The staff is well-trained and extremely polite. Some may interpret the formality as less friendly, but with many guests from all over, including embassy staff, it's a discreet style that makes sense in the setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee Smith
Business
washington dc downtown
Nov 29, 2012

great hotel for the value

The room was a bit small. It almost appeared it was actually meant to be a one bed room that 2 double beds were pushed into. The service was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay and I would check this place out again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking was a challenge because we did not want to pay the $30 a night parking but we were able to find parking on the street nearby. We just had to move the car every 2 hours beginning at 7am on weekdays and 9 on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsag
Business
mount laurel
Nov 26, 2012

great little place

its a cute small hotel in a great quiet area in dc. very clean and

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bistrot du coin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Country Mouse Mom
Business
Martinsville, VA
Nov 26, 2012

good location, great deal

The hotel is in a great location, right off Connecticut Avenue, easy to find parking in the neighborhood (especially on a holiday weekend). The room was very nice, although I missed having a chest of drawers to put things away, also missed having a tub but used to that in DC hotels. They had a little trouble with the towels (no wash cloths the first day, no hand towels the second day) and only had decaf espresso on the first day. We didn't have much contact with the staff but they were pleasant at check-in and check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindy k.
Business
Wilmington, nc
Nov 28, 2012

Wonderful!

This hotel was absolutely wonderful! My friend and i stayed for thanksgiving break which was from thursday to sunday. We stayed for a vacation to site-see and chose this hotel for the price and location. It was beautiful and clean. The staff was happy, nice, and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and clean and had all updated features. In room, there was a tv, a refridgerator, an espresso machine, 3 telephones, a marble shower, and beautiful new furniture. There was wine and cheese hour from 6-7 where they had wine, cheese, crackers, coffee, and cookies. You could mingle with guests and play table games. Very fun! The hotel is a very old building which added a lot of charm. The one and only problem we had was the whole no A/C thing... we were there in cold weather but our room still reached 81 degrees! we were soooooooo hot! we asked the front desk for fans and they provided two which helped a lot! Otherwise, everything was perfect and i would definitely recommend it! just get some fans! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if youre going to DC for a vacation and you want to see the sights... Take the old town trolley tours! They take you to all the major tourist spots (20!) and you can hop on/hop off anytime!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugality Too
Business
MN
Dec 1, 2012

Quiet Location, close to the action

This is a small hotel in a residential section of town, about 1/2 mile from the action of Dupont Circle. Though many restaurants are only blocks away. The room I had on the first floor was smaller, but clean and modern. It even had a door to a small courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markzz
Business
DC
Dec 9, 2012

better than expected

I checked in the Normandy slightly late, 10:00 or so and was offered a latte and a quick review of the room...My son was able to stay the following night thanks to the staff switching to a different room Well Done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the museums during the day and Black cat is a great venue for rock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123wowie
Business
North Carolina
Dec 13, 2012

Great stay.

The Normandy Hotel was very pleasant surprise. Room accomodation was great, bed comfortable and lobby pleasant. Location is great as it is very close to wonderful restruants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Connecticut has many great places to have lunch and dinner at different price points.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top