The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
148 reviews
Decent hotel

Nice hotel. Safe location (next to Washington Hilton, 10 minutes on foot from Dupont Circle, 25... See full review

  • Pete and Memphis
  • Jul 6, 2015
Business hotel

The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong. See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel (formerly Jurys Normandy Inn) offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Welcoming and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travellers.
The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.

The hotel's 75 rooms include cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nmddm
Business
Utah
Jul 18, 2012

Wonderful getaway

The Hotel was beautiful, centrally located, close to subways, restaurants, grocery stores, post office, malls, markets. The staff were very accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable. Loved the wine and cheese each evening; loved the cold water with lemon and cucumber. Very refreshing each evening after our walks. Loved the warm Chocolate Chip cookies in the mornings. If The Normandie had a pool and hot tub, I would have been in 7th heaven. Because it was hot and humid during our visit, a pool would have hit the spot after our long days of walking. A pool was available two blocks away, but that just didn't work for us. Everything else was A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subways worked incredibly well for us and centrally located to The Normandie Hotel. It took us to every part of Washington, D.C. so we didn't need a car or taxi. We got to and from airports and all our shopping and dining and sightseeing. If you are staying at least 6 days, buy the unlimited pass. Subways were very safe.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayPRQ
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Worth a return (to the scene of the crime)

A boutique hotel is always cozy, but the amenities at the Normandy were really great: in-room espresso machine (but stocked with too many decaf pods and not enough creamers and sweeteners), free WiFi, in-room DVD player, in-room refrigerator, raindrop showerhead, daily (even on weekends) social hour with wine and cheese-and-cracker plates (not replenished enough), and coffee/latte/espresso/hot chocolate/tea available all day in the sunroom and lobby living room area. So this place definitely felt like a nice respite from weary travels and a gem of a find in Washington DC's Embassy Row neighborhood. Parking is awful, so rental car users beware: because of the diplomat neighbors, there is almost no unrestricted parking for many blocks around. Also, I returned to the hotel one morning after brunch and found the entire street corner marked off with police tape. The lobby, elevator, third floor, and my sixth floor all had signs of some kind of domestic dispute gone badly in one of the rooms that caused some people to go running through the halls in a mad rage, contaminating what looked like the entire building. I don't need the gory details, and my stay was already pre-paid which was still a great deal, and I'm familiar enough with the area to know that it was an isolated incident in a safe neighborhood. But the management of the hotel never explained what happened to me (or the other guests, apparently), which made the whole incident feel more dubious than perhaps it was. Some kind of accurate report would have been appreciated; a gesture of goodwill (like a return visit credit or a bottle of wine or something) would have been even better. To return to your hotel room twice and be told by housekeeping staff "be careful of the mess" when walking on carpet or moving through a hallway is unsettling to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk north on Connecticut to Woodley Park or south on Connecticut to Dupont Circle for lots of dining and drinking options. A longer walk or short cab ride to Logan Circle will bring you even more choices.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portman
Business
Boston, Mass
Sep 17, 2012

Normandy Hotel good for value abd location

Overall the Hotel was a good value and the staff were excellent especially when we had a problem with the room AC. They solved the problem. The only negative aspect about the hotel was, the breakfast was not included and it was not very good. When we checked in the hotel clerk should of informed us that the breakfast was not included. After informing managment about this they took the charge off the bill. O

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you choose this hotel take the bus to the Metro System, Dupont Circle is half mile away.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westfork Gal
Business
Republic, WA
Nov 16, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel!

There's a very European feel to this small and very nicely appointed hotel. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable. It was the best night's sleep I had my entire trip. I'll definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor P
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 19, 2012

Great location, great value

This boutique hotel was about 1 block from my meeting site and was a quarter the cost! The room was small but comfortable with nice amenities - espresso maker, free wireless internet, even an umbrella in the closet. The thermostat didn't seem to work and the room was hot, but the window opened to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. The only downside was when I got the bill ($17) for a skimpy buffet breakfast that I thought was included in the room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugality Too
Business
MN
Dec 1, 2012

Quiet Location, close to the action

This is a small hotel in a residential section of town, about 1/2 mile from the action of Dupont Circle. Though many restaurants are only blocks away. The room I had on the first floor was smaller, but clean and modern. It even had a door to a small courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markzz
Business
DC
Dec 9, 2012

better than expected

I checked in the Normandy slightly late, 10:00 or so and was offered a latte and a quick review of the room...My son was able to stay the following night thanks to the staff switching to a different room Well Done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the museums during the day and Black cat is a great venue for rock

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalUrsus
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 29, 2012

Great deals for boutique hotel.

If you can get an online deal on this place, it's an absolute steal. Very nice, smallish rooms but very cozy. I found the bed very comfortable and the courtyard facing location was super quiet. Location is uphill from Dupont Circle which is a pain in lousy weather, but walking around the nearby embassies on adjacent blocks is fun. The staff is well-trained and extremely polite. Some may interpret the formality as less friendly, but with many guests from all over, including embassy staff, it's a discreet style that makes sense in the setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee Smith
Business
washington dc downtown
Nov 29, 2012

great hotel for the value

The room was a bit small. It almost appeared it was actually meant to be a one bed room that 2 double beds were pushed into. The service was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay and I would check this place out again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking was a challenge because we did not want to pay the $30 a night parking but we were able to find parking on the street nearby. We just had to move the car every 2 hours beginning at 7am on weekdays and 9 on weekends.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsag
Business
mount laurel
Nov 26, 2012

great little place

its a cute small hotel in a great quiet area in dc. very clean and

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bistrot du coin

Back to menu Return to top