$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
181 reviews
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel! See full review

  • Tianrainie
  • Nov 14, 2013
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washington Non-Insider
Long island, NY
Apr 19, 2010

Enjoyable experience

The hotel was used as a place to sleep. it was restful and the staff extremely helpful. The Dupont Circle Metro station is about 6 blocks downhill and a steep climb when returning. The surrounding neighborhood is interesting and great for strolls but we didn't take advantage of this since we spent most of our time in the museums and visitors areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor P
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 19, 2012

Great location, great value

This boutique hotel was about 1 block from my meeting site and was a quarter the cost! The room was small but comfortable with nice amenities - espresso maker, free wireless internet, even an umbrella in the closet. The thermostat didn't seem to work and the room was hot, but the window opened to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. The only downside was when I got the bill ($17) for a skimpy buffet breakfast that I thought was included in the room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosedale
NJ
Jan 9, 2012

Good location and great value.

Nice boutique hotel convenient to Dupont Circle (aprox ten minute walk). Room was clean and comfortable with decent amenities (loved the "Nespresso" machine). There is underground (secure) parking available (for a fee), however, parking spaces are small so may not be suitable for bigger vehicles. If you plan on using the Metro it is best to walk downhill to Dupont Circle and the return via Cleveland Park/National Zoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalUrsus
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 29, 2012

Great deals for boutique hotel.

If you can get an online deal on this place, it's an absolute steal. Very nice, smallish rooms but very cozy. I found the bed very comfortable and the courtyard facing location was super quiet. Location is uphill from Dupont Circle which is a pain in lousy weather, but walking around the nearby embassies on adjacent blocks is fun. The staff is well-trained and extremely polite. Some may interpret the formality as less friendly, but with many guests from all over, including embassy staff, it's a discreet style that makes sense in the setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 23, 2009

Comfortable and convenient

European feel with a nice breakfast buffet and in-room espresso machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Nice little hotel just above Dupont Circle.

I had a very nice stay at this rather small but well-kept hotel. Could not get into the large hotel where my conference was being held and tried the Normandy. First, the rate was very reasonable. Second, the staff was very friendly and efficient upon check-in and throughout my stay. The room was not large but it was clean. The bathroom was clean and well-lit but again, a bit confined. All-in-all I would nothesitate to recommend The Normandy, particularly for price-conscious travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistrot du Coin is a nice French bistro a quick walk from the hotel.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee Smith
washington dc downtown
Nov 29, 2012

great hotel for the value

The room was a bit small. It almost appeared it was actually meant to be a one bed room that 2 double beds were pushed into. The service was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay and I would check this place out again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking was a challenge because we did not want to pay the $30 a night parking but we were able to find parking on the street nearby. We just had to move the car every 2 hours beginning at 7am on weekdays and 9 on weekends.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inauguration Visitor
North Carolina
Jan 22, 2013

Nice room, but no parking

The room was small, but comfortable. Exactly what you'd expect of a hotel in a major city. However, parking was an issue. When we got there there was no parking and we had to wait until other guests finished checking in to use the 15 minute on street parking. Then when we checked in, the hotel had no parking spaces available in its lot, so we had to park at the Marriott two blocks away. Overall, I'd recommend it to others, but get there early to find parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDS18
PA
Mar 29, 2014

We Try Harder

Describes the staff of the Normandy. -Room was quiet, well taken care of but little annoyances i.e. tv remote not working, shade broken and not fixed even w/tip, and key not working/needing resets. Bu staff A-1 for concern, friendliness, and attention!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wbeachguy
Business
NY, NY
Oct 8, 2011

charming hotel near Dupont

Beautiful hotel and very well designed. First floor is really lovely with great furniture, a fireplace, different seating areas, complimentary wine and cheese at 6 pm and a great attention to detail. Rooms are not big, but well designed with nice bathrooms. Very chic and contemporary and a great deal compared to the prices of hotels in the area. Staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several bars and nice restaurants within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top