$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladies night
Richmond, VA
Sep 4, 2012

GIRLS NIGHT

LOVED THIS HOTEL, GAVE US FREE WINE AND CHEESE AND CHOCOLATE! AND NEAR EVERYTHING ON CONNECTICUT AVE, NEXT TO EMBASSY.. SO VERY CLEAN AND QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD... PARKING FOR HOTEL IS $25 A DAY BUT STREET PARKING WAS AVAILABLE, WHICH WAS GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddiemon7655
Business
New jersey
Jun 1, 2013

Modern

Great hotel in fine location. Only drawback is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach in all guest rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ME 2012
Business
Chicago,IL
May 28, 2013

Clean space, Excellent location

The hotel is in the Dupont neighborhood which is close to Dupont metro (about 0.5 miles), Georgetown and Tidal Basin areas. The room is clean and espresso machine is an incentive. The room size is very small so be prepared for that. Overall it was good staying there - room size will be my only concern if going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle has many brunch/dinner spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AReviewFromMe
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2013

Reminded Me of European Hotels

I stayed with 3 colleagues during an academic conference. This hotel fit our needs, but I would not jump at the chance to stay again. About the room: The beds were full, rather than queen (which we knew in advance), and the room was also very small in general. With 4 adults we were in quite close quarters. The bathroom, however, was lovely, with a huge, sexy shower with glass doors. Unfortunately, I would have preferred the space be used for the room, but I imagine a couple staying in this hotel would like it. We were pleased to have free internet, though it was slow, and a fridge. There was a flat screen TV, but no HD and no channel guide, and many of the channels didn't work. For some reason we also had a lot of trouble with our room keys, but the staff were friendly in repeatedly helping us. We had an awful view of the building next door and the dumpsters. We were pleased with the L'Occitane toiletries. About the hotel: Breakfast of the quality that is free at many hotels cost, I think, $12, but they do have a one hour free wine and cheese event each evening. They have a nice outdoor space in the front, but otherwise the lobby is rather basic, and I didn't see a gym or pool. There is also no restaurant. The other guests seemed pleasant and we heard no noise from the hallways or other rooms. About the location: This hotel is between DuPont Circle and Woodley Park. It is in a lovely residential area just off Connecticut, but it is about a 10 minute walk to a metro station. Good restaurants and bars are, for the most part, about a 10 minute walk to DuPont Circle or Adams Morgan. Bottom line: We chose The Normandy because it was the cheapest hotel within a mile of our conference (in Woodley Park) with a 3* or higher rating. If you're looking for an inexpensive, no-frills place to stay, this will certainly do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous222221
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2013

Great hotel!

There on business and it was a great experience. The hotel was nice! A bit off the beaten path, but worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asset
Business
Long Island New York
May 10, 2013

Good location

Good location in Embassy area. I had a decent experience here with a short walk down the hill to a good nightlife area. Convenient to work locations downtown (more walking or a taxi or metro). Rather than the breakfast in the hotel ($16), walk down the hill to the Bethesda Bagel shop or the Starbucks. Co-worker had some breathing problems during the night in the fifth floor room. He appreciated the shower for the humidity it brought to an environment which caused him difficulties. I could not place my finger on why the air seemed a bit off, but when he attempted to crack the windows they did not open. Bathroom had a light triggered by movement which illuminated the floor of the bathroom upon entry. I looked at it in the daylight, and it was a plug in light well positioned under the bathroom sink and cabinet. A nice concept well executed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down the hill. A couple of different alternatives with options for every age and interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ted4
Business
North Carolina
May 10, 2013

Washington meeting

very small rooms. I have been in European rooms of similar size. We had two rooms and one was not large enough to pull a bag through. Also small closets about enough room for a couple's weekend clothes. Bathroom rooms are very nice. Housekeeping will not change sheets if anything is on the bed...like a jacket Happy hour with cracker/cheese and free wine very nice touch at the end of a busy day. Breakfast not a good value. Parking a real problem and expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Odeon restaurant with excellent northern Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lgutt
Business
new york
May 1, 2013

very nice

nice boutique hotel.clean and friendly staff. I would recommend to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Science Boy
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 26, 2013

Good Value

We just had some trouble with the AC and heating since it's an older building, but it was really good otherwise. The rooms were remodeled and modernized while you may see some parts of the building are still very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keystone Man
Business
Connecticut, USA
Apr 12, 2013

very nice stay

excellent very comfortable and quiet room no view, but that was fine nice quiet side street in beautiful residential part of DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ManhattanWilliam
Business
New York, New York
Apr 10, 2013

Good BUT....

I got a great rate for my room here. The decor of the room was very nice, I liked the bathroom and loved the Nespresso machine. Large TV was also appreciated. Bed was ok but the pillows weren't comfortable to my taste. I liked the wine happy hour and so forth BUT there is no room service, no cafe' and no vending machines on site, so if you want a snack you'd better prepare in advance. Closest place is a 7-Eleven a few blocks away. I liked the residential street the hotel was on. Still, it's more of a luxe bed-breakfast than a hotel. IF you get a good rate (under $125) then it's a go, otherwise you can do better elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top