$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
149 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmw 22
Business
Plaistow,NH
Feb 29, 2012

Great little boutique

On a really nice street located within Embassy Row,everything was well kept, they had wine and cheese hour, which we missed everynight (not on purpose) as I am all about free. Free apples at the front desk added to our 7-11 store donut/muffin breakfast (they do offer breakfast but at $16.95 is too much). free internet was good. Parking is tough though as you have to pay $30 per night to park in their garage this is the way it is everywhere in DC. But, on the weekends you can park for free on the street and can usually find a space. It really was a nice stay and plus they had this thinking silly puddy type stuff in the room that we all kept playing with that no matter what always conformed back to its initial shape of the canister it was in. Simple things keep simple minds amused I guess?lol. Would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus Boys and Poets was a great restaurant (unique) and not that expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
petepep
Business
colorado
Mar 1, 2012

Great Value

Nice hotel close to Embassy Row. Great staff, very helpful and friendly. They have a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour which is a great way to unwind after a long day working. Walking distance to many restaurants and lounges. Big flat screen tv in the room. Modern fixtures in the bathroom. Great lounge area to relax after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
votan
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Pretty good

I went to D.C. on a business trip with my husband. We upgraded . The hotel is a small, cute very well decorated and very clean place. Is more an European style hotel. Elevator is pretty small. We both really like the hotel for the price.I saw my friend's room hotel at the Hilton and it was not much bigger, she payed $100 extra per night! If we are back to D.C. we are planing to stay here again. It is true that it can get little noisy but during our 4 nights there, it was quiet during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. F. P.
Business
Minnesota
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel to stay at in Washington, DC

We stayed for seven nights at the Normandy. The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. We were unfamiliar with the city and asked many questions. They were courteous and friendly. Our room was very clean and housekeeping was thorough. The room was small but the hotel has an inviting lobby. It is in a beautiful neighborhood and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chbh
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 27, 2012

Interesting

Very European feel. Appreciate the wine tasting and the espresso made in the room or the hotel's lounge area. Room was small but clean and modern. Breakfast is available but they don't advertise the $16 price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dauna
Business
Wheeling WV
Jul 9, 2012

FABULOUS...note: Rooms ending in "10"

FABULOUS place, FABULOUS Staff!!!, Only problem....rooms ending in "10" do NOT have the micro fridges...due to the layout of specific rooms; yet the staff was so willing to "keep anything down here"...We really didn't need to :) OH and the BOOK COLLECTION they provide in their lounge rooms down stairs is exquisite! That matches the decor of all public areas to browse and enjoy!!! DEFINATELY!!! will return! SO Tasteful, and intimate.....truely a "Botuique Hotel" at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nmddm
Business
Utah
Jul 18, 2012

Wonderful getaway

The Hotel was beautiful, centrally located, close to subways, restaurants, grocery stores, post office, malls, markets. The staff were very accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable. Loved the wine and cheese each evening; loved the cold water with lemon and cucumber. Very refreshing each evening after our walks. Loved the warm Chocolate Chip cookies in the mornings. If The Normandie had a pool and hot tub, I would have been in 7th heaven. Because it was hot and humid during our visit, a pool would have hit the spot after our long days of walking. A pool was available two blocks away, but that just didn't work for us. Everything else was A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subways worked incredibly well for us and centrally located to The Normandie Hotel. It took us to every part of Washington, D.C. so we didn't need a car or taxi. We got to and from airports and all our shopping and dining and sightseeing. If you are staying at least 6 days, buy the unlimited pass. Subways were very safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayPRQ
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Worth a return (to the scene of the crime)

A boutique hotel is always cozy, but the amenities at the Normandy were really great: in-room espresso machine (but stocked with too many decaf pods and not enough creamers and sweeteners), free WiFi, in-room DVD player, in-room refrigerator, raindrop showerhead, daily (even on weekends) social hour with wine and cheese-and-cracker plates (not replenished enough), and coffee/latte/espresso/hot chocolate/tea available all day in the sunroom and lobby living room area. So this place definitely felt like a nice respite from weary travels and a gem of a find in Washington DC's Embassy Row neighborhood. Parking is awful, so rental car users beware: because of the diplomat neighbors, there is almost no unrestricted parking for many blocks around. Also, I returned to the hotel one morning after brunch and found the entire street corner marked off with police tape. The lobby, elevator, third floor, and my sixth floor all had signs of some kind of domestic dispute gone badly in one of the rooms that caused some people to go running through the halls in a mad rage, contaminating what looked like the entire building. I don't need the gory details, and my stay was already pre-paid which was still a great deal, and I'm familiar enough with the area to know that it was an isolated incident in a safe neighborhood. But the management of the hotel never explained what happened to me (or the other guests, apparently), which made the whole incident feel more dubious than perhaps it was. Some kind of accurate report would have been appreciated; a gesture of goodwill (like a return visit credit or a bottle of wine or something) would have been even better. To return to your hotel room twice and be told by housekeeping staff "be careful of the mess" when walking on carpet or moving through a hallway is unsettling to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk north on Connecticut to Woodley Park or south on Connecticut to Dupont Circle for lots of dining and drinking options. A longer walk or short cab ride to Logan Circle will bring you even more choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portman
Business
Boston, Mass
Sep 17, 2012

Normandy Hotel good for value abd location

Overall the Hotel was a good value and the staff were excellent especially when we had a problem with the room AC. They solved the problem. The only negative aspect about the hotel was, the breakfast was not included and it was not very good. When we checked in the hotel clerk should of informed us that the breakfast was not included. After informing managment about this they took the charge off the bill. O

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you choose this hotel take the bus to the Metro System, Dupont Circle is half mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westfork Gal
Business
Republic, WA
Nov 16, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel!

There's a very European feel to this small and very nicely appointed hotel. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable. It was the best night's sleep I had my entire trip. I'll definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top