$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel lighter
Couples
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Oct 12, 2012

Quick D.C. visit

The staff at the Normandy could not have been more helpful. We left our bags with the desk when we arrived early at 9:30 AM and did the same at check out as we needed a place to store suitcases for our late flight out. That day the stormy weather deterred my husband from sightseeing. He spent a good part of the day in the comfortable lobby where staff doted on him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DxBx
Family
NJ
Oct 22, 2013

Nice Hotel but need better staff

This hotel was very nice we arrived around midnight and had no issue to get to our room. We stayed only one night. Rooms are decorated very nicely and clean however they are on the small side just like the European hotels. Bed was very comfortable. The staff can use some training in customer service. As we arrived we asked for extra towels, the front desk person told me that he will bring them up. However after 10 minutes in the room the phone rang and he said that he cannot bring them up until the morning. When we arrived we tried to get coffee from the free machine that they have next to the lobby but the machine did not function and had no coffee in it. There is also an espresso machine in the room. The machine did not have any coffee pods even though the morning front desk person told me that they should be in the machine. The water reservoir was missing from the machine so, no coffee could be made. When I expressed my disappointment on the subject with the front desk they had nothing to say. A guest at such hotel might expect the front desk to order coffee for the guest before they leave the hotel. However, at the Normandy it appears that staff care less if guests are satisfied or return to stay with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 28, 2013

God value foe the money.

The Normandy was clean, convenient and good value. It isn't new but it is well kept and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Nice little hotel just above Dupont Circle.

I had a very nice stay at this rather small but well-kept hotel. Could not get into the large hotel where my conference was being held and tried the Normandy. First, the rate was very reasonable. Second, the staff was very friendly and efficient upon check-in and throughout my stay. The room was not large but it was clean. The bathroom was clean and well-lit but again, a bit confined. All-in-all I would nothesitate to recommend The Normandy, particularly for price-conscious travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistrot du Coin is a nice French bistro a quick walk from the hotel.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC24
Family
Union, SC
Jul 16, 2013

Great little hotel

The neighborhood is great and the hotel is quaint. There is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station and the wi-fi did not work inside our room so we had to sit out in the hallway or go downstairs to the common area. Otherwise this hotel was perfect for our visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Grandmother
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2013

Great Location

This was largely a great experience for myself and grandsons. The only issue was the attitude of the front desk employee who checked us in. He had a very unfriendly attitude and kept us waiting for about 15 minutes before assigning a room without any reason given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy AJ
Couples
Tulsa, OK
Jun 30, 2013

Great hotel for doing DC!

Really enjoyed our stay at the Normandy. It's a Euro-style hotel in a quiet, around-the-corner location north of the DuPont Circle area. Distance to the Metro Train station is reasonable, and close enough that you're not burning a significant part of your day getting to/from the heart of DC. Staff was very courteous and helpful, and seemed genuinely interested in being helpful and address any concerns. The complimentary espresso machine in the lobby was, for me, icing on the cake. Fresh-ground shots in caff or decaf - so good. The only real issue we had was that our room was in the corner of the third floor, and wi-fi signal was very weak. It's fine down in the lobby area, where there are a lot of little alcoves and corners to park yourself and relax with your espresso drink and surf away. Wi-fi signal is probably not an issue in most other guest rooms, either. Bottom Line: we'll definitely consider the Normandy when we get back to DC next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddiemon7655
Single
New jersey
Jun 1, 2013

Modern

Great hotel in fine location. Only drawback is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach in all guest rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ME 2012
Friends
Chicago,IL
May 28, 2013

Clean space, Excellent location

The hotel is in the Dupont neighborhood which is close to Dupont metro (about 0.5 miles), Georgetown and Tidal Basin areas. The room is clean and espresso machine is an incentive. The room size is very small so be prepared for that. Overall it was good staying there - room size will be my only concern if going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle has many brunch/dinner spots.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AReviewFromMe
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2013

Reminded Me of European Hotels

I stayed with 3 colleagues during an academic conference. This hotel fit our needs, but I would not jump at the chance to stay again. About the room: The beds were full, rather than queen (which we knew in advance), and the room was also very small in general. With 4 adults we were in quite close quarters. The bathroom, however, was lovely, with a huge, sexy shower with glass doors. Unfortunately, I would have preferred the space be used for the room, but I imagine a couple staying in this hotel would like it. We were pleased to have free internet, though it was slow, and a fridge. There was a flat screen TV, but no HD and no channel guide, and many of the channels didn't work. For some reason we also had a lot of trouble with our room keys, but the staff were friendly in repeatedly helping us. We had an awful view of the building next door and the dumpsters. We were pleased with the L'Occitane toiletries. About the hotel: Breakfast of the quality that is free at many hotels cost, I think, $12, but they do have a one hour free wine and cheese event each evening. They have a nice outdoor space in the front, but otherwise the lobby is rather basic, and I didn't see a gym or pool. There is also no restaurant. The other guests seemed pleasant and we heard no noise from the hallways or other rooms. About the location: This hotel is between DuPont Circle and Woodley Park. It is in a lovely residential area just off Connecticut, but it is about a 10 minute walk to a metro station. Good restaurants and bars are, for the most part, about a 10 minute walk to DuPont Circle or Adams Morgan. Bottom line: We chose The Normandy because it was the cheapest hotel within a mile of our conference (in Woodley Park) with a 3* or higher rating. If you're looking for an inexpensive, no-frills place to stay, this will certainly do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous222221
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2013

Great hotel!

There on business and it was a great experience. The hotel was nice! A bit off the beaten path, but worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top