$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gisselleT
Couples
Virginia
Jul 14, 2014

cute place

The stay was nice, the rooms are a little smaller then pictured. The only problem we had was trying to find some were to park because valet was 35 a night and if u found your own parking it was free... other then that I would recommend this place its close to all the night life and resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegan in Virginia
Couples
Virginia
Apr 30, 2014

Perfect overnight getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Normandy for a romantic overnight getaway. The location couldn't have been better - about half way between Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. The neighborhood is full of embassies and we loved walking around looking at all the beautiful buildings. We arrived about an hour before check in so our room wasn't quite ready, but the concierge let us go ahead and park the car (they offer underground parking - reasonably priced too!). While we waited for the room, we went shopping in Adams Morgan, which was only a few block away. We had dinner at the Smoke and Barrel in Adams Morgan - a BBQ restaurant that offers meat lovers and vegan options (the vegan spare ribs were incredible). During check in the concierge overheard us say that the trip was a little birthday celebration for my boyfriend so when we came back from dinner a complimentary dessert and birthday card were brought up to the room. It was unexpected and very sweet. We stayed in a delux king room. It was small, but comfortable and nicely furnished. The TV didn't offer much in the way of channels - pretty much the basic network stations and that's it. The bathroom was nice, but very small. We checked out the next morning, but were able to leave the car at the hotel for the day while we went site seeing. We walked to Dupont Circle and found a little diner for brunch, and then hopped on the metro - all super convenient and easy. All and all I would definitely recommend this hotel for it's location, staff, cleanliness and price, and will stay there again if the opportunity comes up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDS18
Single
PA
Mar 29, 2014

We Try Harder

Describes the staff of the Normandy. -Room was quiet, well taken care of but little annoyances i.e. tv remote not working, shade broken and not fixed even w/tip, and key not working/needing resets. Bu staff A-1 for concern, friendliness, and attention!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sassy wiggles
Couples
washington dc
Feb 18, 2014

solid

small room, but nicely furnished and appointed and easily walkable around town. excellent value for the weekend. disappointed that no wine cocktail hour or newspaper on the weekend, no fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furan
Couples
New York
Jan 7, 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel

Free wine and Cheese in the afternoon. Very cozy living room. L'Occitane bath sets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alme
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 5, 2014

lovely boutique hotel

I chose the Normandy for its location--walking distance to Dupont Circle, Woodley Park, and Adams-Morgan. My only complaint is the size of the room and bathroom--the room--a double-- just barely contained the bed, chair & ottoman, and table covered by (large screen) TV and Nespresso maker (a nice touch). No desk. The bathroom was also tiny--dominated by a good-sized shower with glass doors (no tub), not much space for laying out toiletries, makeup, etc. (At first glance, I thought housekeeping had forgotten to give me shampoo & conditioner; they turned out to be in the shower.) No restaurant/room service, but local restaurants deliver and breakfast is available for an additional charge. These shortcomings were more than made up for by the exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, the large and comfortable common spaces on the main floor, complimentary wine hour in the evening, complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, and beautiful neighborhood (Embassy district). Lots of restaurants, bars, and shops a couple blocks away on Connecticut Avenue. I'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phineas1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel in a great DC Neighborhood

I stayed here just one night to attend a conference at a much larger hotel about a mile up the road. I liked the neighborhood--near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan, Kalorama, close enough to restaurants and was looking for something more boutique-like. I found it in the Normandy, located on a quiet street off of Connecticut Avenue (Next to the Embassy of Senegal). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby area though small, opened up into a lovely space where one could sit and read a book, or enjoy the daily wine and cheese. The room was very comfortable with an interesting wall-paper design. The bathroom was re-done into a modern space with a walk in shower with rainforest head. The sink was a little shallow, causing water to splash up, but otherwise no complaints. The king bed mattress was a little soft for my taste but I did get a good night's sleep after watching a little bit of television on the flat screen located on the dresser/desk. My room viewed another building across small courtyard, but some rooms face out to the street. In sum, the Normandy Hotel is a nice hotel and highly recommended for a stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tianrainie
Friends
Minneapolis, mn
Nov 14, 2013

Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kurt1
Business
Utah
Nov 13, 2013

Great bed

I got the best sleep of my life on their bed! I loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hngdwmn
Couples
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2013

We'll be back!

This is a lovely little jewel tucked into the most perfect area in DC. Easy access to the beautiful Embassy Row, the Zoo, the Metro and DuPont Circle, the staff is friendly and accomodating, the rooms quiet, clean and very comfy. So far my favorite place to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top