$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel lighter
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Oct 12, 2012

Quick D.C. visit

The staff at the Normandy could not have been more helpful. We left our bags with the desk when we arrived early at 9:30 AM and did the same at check out as we needed a place to store suitcases for our late flight out. That day the stormy weather deterred my husband from sightseeing. He spent a good part of the day in the comfortable lobby where staff doted on him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mhicks
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 26, 2014

Great Way to stay in DC!

Friendly staff, easy location. We loved the evening wine and cheese gatherings, too. The room was small, but comfortably arranged. With changing outside temps, the room temperature was a bit off during 1 evening and night, but otherwise our stay was pleasant. We would stay at the Normandy again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay attention to the street names on the entrance side of the Metro at DuPont Circle. If you exit south instead of north, you have to cross the circle to head back to the hotel...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth from Fl
Business
Florida
Oct 23, 2014

DC vacation

Arrived early and was still able to check in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very pleased with room. Disappointed with the high price of parking on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCCH Mom
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Perfect for our trip

I was looking for something unique, not a chain. The Normandy fit that bill. It is in the cutest neighbor, it feels very special and personal. The staff was absolutely outstanding!! The location is terrific - fabulous restaurants within easy walking distance, close to National Mall, and even you don't want to sightsee, you feel like you're visiting an old friend and just want to hang out, go for walks, get some gelato. My only opportunities for improvement - parking, don't stay on the first floor (lighting is terrible for women and putting on makeup) and this is going to sound really picky, but toilet paper - when you are paying this kind of money, staying in a very classy neighbor, I expected more than single ply toilet paper you get in an airport. All in all, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for casual, warm dining experience Maddy's is the place to go and on the way back to The Normandy, you pass a terrific gelato store - you have to stop!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ortoco
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 19, 2014

Location + comfort

With its European style, really comfy rooms and great location, it can't get any better than this... unless the price tag was a bit lower :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A whole host of good reataurants and nice bars, this is the right spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy to be away from hom
Business
Queens, New York
Sep 29, 2014

Fun Time in DC

Very helpful staff. Small but comfortable rooms. Rugs stained, but room was clean. Loved the soap. Smelled so good. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to some restaurants. Nice quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vianci77
Business
Panama
Sep 28, 2014

Great hotel

This hotel was really nice, i was there 4 days and the service was so great, is small however the service, the quality were so good compared with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDennis
Business
Seattle
Sep 21, 2014

Alternative to conference hotel

I attended a conference at the Washington Hilton. There were no rooms available at the WH so I booked the Normandy. Was I ever surprised! It was excellent. Just a short walk from the WH I found lots of high end room features. The staff was phenomenal. I was always greeted and quickly felt that I was part of the Normandy "family". While there was no hotel restaurant tons of great eateries are within walking distance on Connecticut Ave. When I checked out I was told that the next time I booked the hotel that I could get a loyalty discount. A perfect end to a perfect stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris new world traveler
Business
Ft worth tx
Sep 18, 2014

First timer

Room was very comfortable and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye87
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 5, 2014

Good place for few days in DC

Normandy Hotel for the most part is a pretty decent place to stay. It is a decent walk to the Metro train, and nearby bars and restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful, at nigjt they seem to be very understaffed. We needed new sheets for our bed one evening and nobody came up to change them. The gentleman working the feint desk handed us the new sheets and expected us to change them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules Kay
Business
South Dakota
Aug 10, 2014

Very charming

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Normandy Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but very charming. The room was very clean and everything we needed was there. The location was a short walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and the Metro. Also enjoyed the espresso maker in the room and we took advantage of the wine offered each evening. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants with a variety of menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top