$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris new world traveler
Business
Ft worth tx
Sep 18, 2014

First timer

Room was very comfortable and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDennis
Business
Seattle
Sep 21, 2014

Alternative to conference hotel

I attended a conference at the Washington Hilton. There were no rooms available at the WH so I booked the Normandy. Was I ever surprised! It was excellent. Just a short walk from the WH I found lots of high end room features. The staff was phenomenal. I was always greeted and quickly felt that I was part of the Normandy "family". While there was no hotel restaurant tons of great eateries are within walking distance on Connecticut Ave. When I checked out I was told that the next time I booked the hotel that I could get a loyalty discount. A perfect end to a perfect stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy to be away from hom
Business
Queens, New York
Sep 29, 2014

Fun Time in DC

Very helpful staff. Small but comfortable rooms. Rugs stained, but room was clean. Loved the soap. Smelled so good. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to some restaurants. Nice quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vianci77
Business
Panama
Sep 28, 2014

Great hotel

This hotel was really nice, i was there 4 days and the service was so great, is small however the service, the quality were so good compared with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mhicks
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 26, 2014

Great Way to stay in DC!

Friendly staff, easy location. We loved the evening wine and cheese gatherings, too. The room was small, but comfortably arranged. With changing outside temps, the room temperature was a bit off during 1 evening and night, but otherwise our stay was pleasant. We would stay at the Normandy again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay attention to the street names on the entrance side of the Metro at DuPont Circle. If you exit south instead of north, you have to cross the circle to head back to the hotel...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ortoco
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 19, 2014

Location + comfort

With its European style, really comfy rooms and great location, it can't get any better than this... unless the price tag was a bit lower :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A whole host of good reataurants and nice bars, this is the right spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCCH Mom
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Perfect for our trip

I was looking for something unique, not a chain. The Normandy fit that bill. It is in the cutest neighbor, it feels very special and personal. The staff was absolutely outstanding!! The location is terrific - fabulous restaurants within easy walking distance, close to National Mall, and even you don't want to sightsee, you feel like you're visiting an old friend and just want to hang out, go for walks, get some gelato. My only opportunities for improvement - parking, don't stay on the first floor (lighting is terrible for women and putting on makeup) and this is going to sound really picky, but toilet paper - when you are paying this kind of money, staying in a very classy neighbor, I expected more than single ply toilet paper you get in an airport. All in all, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for casual, warm dining experience Maddy's is the place to go and on the way back to The Normandy, you pass a terrific gelato store - you have to stop!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatT of RI
Business
Rhode Island
Nov 2, 2014

Stylish but not pretentious

This small older hotel was a fine alternative to a nearby convention hotel. My room was small and lacked a dresser. The bathroom was well appointed. The staff was attentive. The location on a quiet side street was very close to public transportation, restaurants and shops. I did not sample the available wine and cheese, or the extra cost breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus one half block away. The hotel is six blocks uphill from the nearest metro stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad Student Travelor
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 24, 2014

Beautiful Old Bldg with All Inhering Quirks but Great Wi-Fi

The staff at this hotel is consistently friendly and responsive. Every request I made was responded to within 5 minutes or less. The room is not huge, so not great for families, but roomy enough for an individual or couple. The queen bed was roomy and comfy enough for me and I'm a rough sleeper (tossing and turning is my norm). Two things I missed were drawer space to unpack to and AC. Being an old building, when it's cold they have heat and when it's warm they have AC, but not both. So, when my room got stuffy, I had to open a window. Not so bad as long as it's not raining. Overall, I had a good enough time to be willing to stay there again. Another plus is their two short block proximity to the Washington Hilton where my conference took place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thutchinson
Business
Apple Valley
Dec 23, 2014

Nice stay

I stayed at The Normandy on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. My colleague found the pillows really uncomfortable, and the staff purchased a new set for his room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top