$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cora W
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Great!

Although the room is small, it is really cozy. The staff are very responsive to any request and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benson
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2011

Nice, Quiet

Nice, quiet location northwest of Dupont circle. Near a number of places to eat; a fair walk to the Metro. For our purposes, the location was great, but its a fair distance to the White House and Mall area. Good staff. There's a continential breakfast, which isn't cheap but it includes cereals, fresh fruit, bagels, breads, juices, fresh coffee machine, and lots of smoked salmon! Pleasant back and front outdoor areas. Nice neighborhood for a stroll as well, with interesting architecture. We were at a conference; the Normandy was nearby and a nice getaway without the conference crowd and noise. We did have what seemed like a smaller room, and besides the closet, it didn't have room to store clothing. Coffee maker, iron and board in room. Automatic, movement detecting bathroom nightlight was a nice, small touch. Had off street parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WeLoveDC
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 7, 2011

Love the Location, Hated the bedding!

Pros: Great location, walking distance to anything, short cheap cab drive to downtown, great staff, attentive staff, clean hotel. BIG PRO: Complimentary wine and cheese and bites every night from 6-7pm, little 2 person tables in the dining area with cute little games and card games which I loved. I loved the feeling of this hotel. More like a homey bed and breakfast. Very warm and welcoming. Beautifully decorated. Great coffee in the common area, though the machine in our room was totally busted and had no instructions on how to fix. I just walked downstairs every morning to get coffee. Cons: Terrible bedding. No fitted sheet on the bed, so the flat sheet would come off during the night, and we would be sleeping on the mattress....god only knows how many other people had the same issue, not hygenic...terrible pillows. I did not have a good night sleep any night I was there (I was there for 4 nights). No wifi, but they do provide an ethernet cord, but its very short. Rooms are very small, but thats not a huge con for me personally, also, no good views in the hotel, but again, not a huge deal for me. BIG CON: Breakfast: DO NOT GET THE PREPAID breakfast, you will be VERY disappointed. Because the hotel is so small, they do not have a full service kitchen in the back, so they only provide hard boiled eggs and cheese for breakffast...not worth the $17 per person to pay...we walked down to Dupont Circle and had great brunch every morning (most restaurants serve brunch Sat and Sun which was nice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all the restaurants in this area! We travel to DC 4-6 times per year and always dine at Bardeo, Tosca and Palena. That being said, we were very plesantly surpised at the quality of food in the area, we recommend La Tomate (Brunch and Dinner!) and The Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arsi
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Cute, clean, modern and excellent location.

Boutique Hôtel with a grand charm. Clean modern rooms. Steps from shops, night life and restaurants. Metro just a fews blocks away. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wiseowl
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

quiet luxurious space

booked it for a one night business trip, and then liked it so much I booked it for my husband and me to be in town when we visited our children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

espresso machine in room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss K in Baltimore
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 31, 2011

Adventure in D.C.

The staff is very helpful and polite. The room was very clean, but very small. There is limited HOTEL PARKING. The hotel is in a neighborhood with several embassies and there are many no parking signs which make street parking very difficult. I parked in a garage at M and Wisconsin. $19.00 per day and $8.00 cab fare away. If you drive a car on your trip, just select another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in the area. An interesting farmer's market on Sunday morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteS
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2011

Pleasant stay at the Normandy

I spent three nights, mostly attending a conference at the nearby Hilton. My room was very nice and modern, though (perhaps because of early checkin) I got a room overlooking air conditioning equipment on a tar-paper roof -- less exciting than the famous Kalorama views. Comfortable and elegant, with a bathroom I would instantly trade for my home one. Only problems were that I needed help to figure out how to turn on lamps, and the wonderful coffee machine fritzed on day 1 (but was fixed and made excellent Joe after that). I didn't use the public facilities much because of my commitments down the road, but the lounge seemed very pleasant, and the apples at the front desk were delicious. The price seemed high, but then so is most of Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lansen
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 24, 2011

Really pleased

This was the first of 5 trips to DC with grandchildren when they reach 9. (There really isn't a GOOD age to take grandchildren on a trip - under 6 and they don't remember anything and 6 and over they rather be playing Angry Birds or texting friends). The Normandy is a really nice boutique hotel and even firstborn grandson enjoyed it. We particularly liked the evening wine and cheese. Only complaint is that the rooms are too small for two full sized beds, and the bed was too soft for my liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bapi
Business
Lafayette, IN, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Nice Stay in the middle of the Embassies in DC

This is a very nice hotel in the DuPont circle area, surrounded by embassies in DC. I went to DC for a professional conference and the hotel provided everything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie55
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Perfect

This is a small boutique hotel, situated in a residential area - a stone's throw away from several restaurants. Dupont Circle area. Stayed here w/another couple (in our 30s) it was perfect for us. Staff was great, free wine reception every evening at 6pm. (they do not sell wine/alcohol ever) Nice cappuccino machine in lounge offering free cappuccinos, lattes, espressos all day/night. Lounge area is very comfortable and warm. Good size bathrooms, nice clean hotel. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top