$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteS
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2011

Pleasant stay at the Normandy

I spent three nights, mostly attending a conference at the nearby Hilton. My room was very nice and modern, though (perhaps because of early checkin) I got a room overlooking air conditioning equipment on a tar-paper roof -- less exciting than the famous Kalorama views. Comfortable and elegant, with a bathroom I would instantly trade for my home one. Only problems were that I needed help to figure out how to turn on lamps, and the wonderful coffee machine fritzed on day 1 (but was fixed and made excellent Joe after that). I didn't use the public facilities much because of my commitments down the road, but the lounge seemed very pleasant, and the apples at the front desk were delicious. The price seemed high, but then so is most of Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lansen
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 24, 2011

Really pleased

This was the first of 5 trips to DC with grandchildren when they reach 9. (There really isn't a GOOD age to take grandchildren on a trip - under 6 and they don't remember anything and 6 and over they rather be playing Angry Birds or texting friends). The Normandy is a really nice boutique hotel and even firstborn grandson enjoyed it. We particularly liked the evening wine and cheese. Only complaint is that the rooms are too small for two full sized beds, and the bed was too soft for my liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bapi
Business
Lafayette, IN, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Nice Stay in the middle of the Embassies in DC

This is a very nice hotel in the DuPont circle area, surrounded by embassies in DC. I went to DC for a professional conference and the hotel provided everything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie55
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Perfect

This is a small boutique hotel, situated in a residential area - a stone's throw away from several restaurants. Dupont Circle area. Stayed here w/another couple (in our 30s) it was perfect for us. Staff was great, free wine reception every evening at 6pm. (they do not sell wine/alcohol ever) Nice cappuccino machine in lounge offering free cappuccinos, lattes, espressos all day/night. Lounge area is very comfortable and warm. Good size bathrooms, nice clean hotel. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theskymind
Business
Foster City, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

A few chinks in the armour

Overall, the stay was pleasant.. But they charged $18 for the breakfast. This is excessive, it should have been informed earlier. I also saw one insect crawl under my luggage.. otherwise it was fine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wbeachguy
Business
NY, NY
Oct 8, 2011

charming hotel near Dupont

Beautiful hotel and very well designed. First floor is really lovely with great furniture, a fireplace, different seating areas, complimentary wine and cheese at 6 pm and a great attention to detail. Rooms are not big, but well designed with nice bathrooms. Very chic and contemporary and a great deal compared to the prices of hotels in the area. Staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several bars and nice restaurants within walking distance.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stan1
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Lovely, intimate, boutique hotel

Love this hotel. 2nd time there. The staff are exceptionally welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and modern. Great bathrooms. Only complaint is no dresser to put t-shirts, socks, etc, in, which is minor. Free newspapers. Free wine & cheese in evening. Provides nice intimate atmosphere. I liked the location. Near Dupont Circle, which is close to everything, If taking Metro, go to Woodley hill stop and walk back. Easier than climbing hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmui
Business
New York, NY
Aug 28, 2011

Comfy but lack easy access to amenities

Boutique hotel as described. Quiet, quaint, and neat. Clean bedroom. Room size and space acceptable for a double. Bathroom was spacious and well designed. Had free wifi and expresso machine in bedroom. Breakfast not included. Hotel offers complimentary fruit/cheese/wine snack in the evening. On-site parking lot was under construction and was instructed to park at Courtyard Marriott 2 blocks away for $25 a night. Even if it was available, the lot was small and had a lot of tight spaces. Found street parking instead. Had to move car around in the morning, but otherwise no concern for car safety. Also did not have pool or gym on site. If wanted to use facilities, had to go to sister hotel 2 blocks away. No restaurant in the hotel but was a 10-15 minute walk to Dupont Circle which had an array of restaurants. Would return if wanted a quiet weekend and planned to stay indoors. For sightseeing/visiting DC, would rather stay in Dupont for more convenient access to food/shopping/metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zach1
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Post-grad 3 day stay

Free wifi and service was great. Complimentary wine hour was an unexpected perk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LollyWTF
Business
NY
Aug 22, 2011

Beautiful hotel with amazing staff

wonderful place to stay. The location can't be beat. And espresso machines in all the rooms and a daily free happy hour... How can you compete with that?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top