$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
150 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ferro
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 21, 2012

Not again!

No towels! We asked for it and it never came. There were stains on the toilet seat left over from previous guest! It is obvious that room was not cleaned properly. Room is very narrow and hard to move around. No view either! I would never stay at this hotel again! I would rather camp on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsMum
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

not a good choice

Had high hopes as the hotel is lovely - but numerous flaws overshaddows the beautiful lobby. Very long uphill walk from Metro stop, rooms are beyond tiny and have NO bureaus - so other than a tiny clost you have no way to unpack. Bathroom is lovely, but tiny, and no where to hang the bath towels. Continental b'fast at $17 is Horrible Value - some salami, fruit slices, hard boiled eggs, and not yet thawed English muffins, and a broken coffee machine. Each day we found that they had not replenished our in room coffee supplies and completely ran out of caffinated coffee. For some reason they never gave us face cloths. Calls to the front desk resulted in NOTHING happening. Cocktail hour is lovely though - though one night they ran out of some foods and said the order did not show up. Management clearly needs to be better - the entire staff looked overwhelmed just trying to keep up with having and serving food and cleaning the rooms and keeping up with the laundry. AC is poor - suggest some ceiling fans as rooms get warm at night. Hotel had so much potential, but they need to do a way better job with b'fast (as there is no where else to go nearby) and management needs to greatly improvemd so that basic services can be handled. It is a pretty little place, and charming....but we obviously can not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have b'fast at the nearby Hikton - amazing b'fast and wait staff!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AGL1505
Business
Arlington, VA
Dec 26, 2012

Disappointed

Hotel is more of a bread and breakfast. I expected a restaurant and there wasn't one. Very beautiful place with wonderful charm. Once I excepted it as a bed and breakfast and that it had not been properly advertised I was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spezbot
Business
New Jersey
May 10, 2010

Quirky but acceptable hotel

We got a great price on [...] (compared w/calling hotel and looking at other sites, but I wonder if this was their "special bargain room" because it was very small and inconvenient with a view of rooftop ventilation equipment. We soon found the bed very soft and uncomfortable, but when the thermostat failed the next day, we complained and got another room; an upgrade. Significantly larger and very comfortable bed! I understand the smaller room for less money, but the crummy bed?! Anyway, still a strange hotel; no dresser, no folder with hotel info or info about the TV channels. You know, the kind of stuff you see in any other hotel. Personally, I'd be willing to spend a little more for something else; but it would be hard to beat that initially deal we got from [...] for the crummy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2011

Review of Normandy Hotel

Hotel staff were generally nice. The room was VERY small, and the hotel claimed it did not have our reservation we had made through [...]. The [...]deal implied that the breakfast was included, but it was NOT and it was expensive for the minimal amount of food that was available (packaged cereals, some fruit, orange juice, coffee, croisants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theskymind
Business
Foster City, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

A few chinks in the armour

Overall, the stay was pleasant.. But they charged $18 for the breakfast. This is excessive, it should have been informed earlier. I also saw one insect crawl under my luggage.. otherwise it was fine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss K in Baltimore
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 31, 2011

Adventure in D.C.

The staff is very helpful and polite. The room was very clean, but very small. There is limited HOTEL PARKING. The hotel is in a neighborhood with several embassies and there are many no parking signs which make street parking very difficult. I parked in a garage at M and Wisconsin. $19.00 per day and $8.00 cab fare away. If you drive a car on your trip, just select another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in the area. An interesting farmer's market on Sunday morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WeLoveDC
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 7, 2011

Love the Location, Hated the bedding!

Pros: Great location, walking distance to anything, short cheap cab drive to downtown, great staff, attentive staff, clean hotel. BIG PRO: Complimentary wine and cheese and bites every night from 6-7pm, little 2 person tables in the dining area with cute little games and card games which I loved. I loved the feeling of this hotel. More like a homey bed and breakfast. Very warm and welcoming. Beautifully decorated. Great coffee in the common area, though the machine in our room was totally busted and had no instructions on how to fix. I just walked downstairs every morning to get coffee. Cons: Terrible bedding. No fitted sheet on the bed, so the flat sheet would come off during the night, and we would be sleeping on the mattress....god only knows how many other people had the same issue, not hygenic...terrible pillows. I did not have a good night sleep any night I was there (I was there for 4 nights). No wifi, but they do provide an ethernet cord, but its very short. Rooms are very small, but thats not a huge con for me personally, also, no good views in the hotel, but again, not a huge deal for me. BIG CON: Breakfast: DO NOT GET THE PREPAID breakfast, you will be VERY disappointed. Because the hotel is so small, they do not have a full service kitchen in the back, so they only provide hard boiled eggs and cheese for breakffast...not worth the $17 per person to pay...we walked down to Dupont Circle and had great brunch every morning (most restaurants serve brunch Sat and Sun which was nice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all the restaurants in this area! We travel to DC 4-6 times per year and always dine at Bardeo, Tosca and Palena. That being said, we were very plesantly surpised at the quality of food in the area, we recommend La Tomate (Brunch and Dinner!) and The Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparkymom
Business
Waycross, GA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

No crowds

Stayed there during family funeral. Rooms were small but clean. Parking can be very difficult in the area. Paid $25.00 / day to park in a very limited and confined underground parking garage at the hotel. Had a light switch that did not work. Staff did not seem concerned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a car, be prepared to pay $25.00 per day to park in the hotel's underground garage. Very tight to navigate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAlda
Business
New York City
Sep 2, 2012

Great price and location

Great place to stay overnight. The internet was slow and kept dropping, there was a dirty washcloth in the bathroom. There was no coffee despite a coffee machine and cups. It is located in Dupont Circle and close to restaurants and the train. It is a great place for quick overnight stays in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top