$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
157 reviews
Business hotel

The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong. See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Excellent for us

Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks... See full review

  • Birmingham Dog Lovers
  • Mar 18, 2015
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
babyblu730
washington dc
Feb 22, 2013

home away from home

Always comforting and quiet. The showers are amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew G.
Business
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Business hotel

The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. DRP
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Only ok if you just want to sleep

The hotel is on a very tight and cramped street where parking is practically nonexistent, unless it's a weekend and you get lucky. There is valet only and I was even informed that my truck probably wouldn't fit back in their garage if I left the hotel that I would have to find another hotel at which to park *unacceptable*. Luckily, the front desk clerk handled the valet situation for me. My room was very clean and I loved the updated bathrooms, fridge with complimentary water, and free wi-fi (however it's an open connection). The heat in my room was broken and would only get to 68-70 F (that's chilly for me when there's ice and snow outside). There is no restaurant in the building, but you can purchase breakfast and there is a wine and cheese hour daily. The elevator was on the fritz one of the days. It's very brief 3 minute walk (downhill going, but uphill returning lol) from several restaurants (and Starbucks) which was a lifesaver. Overall, it worked for a busy conference weekend, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Business
Birmingham
Mar 18, 2015

Excellent for us

Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station, there were numerous good restaurants nearby. We ate breakfast at the hotel three of four mornings. The room had all the amenities we needed or even wanted. There was a day's worth of museums within a few blocks walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ted4
Business
lenoir
Mar 13, 2015

ACR meeting

Nice but very small rooms...European-like size. Daily 'happy hours' was a pleasant way to meet other guests. Staff was curteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrence M.
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Great hotel

The normandy was a great place to stay when visiting washington d c . It was located in the middle between the national zoo and national cathedral and the monuments and smithsonian museum. Great neighborhood with plenty of shops, restaraunts , and reasonably close to the metro. The staff was helpful, friendly and the rooms were immaculate and comfortable. Not a large room, but perfect for a short visit and well worth the price .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas R.
Business
Dexter
Jan 15, 2015

An absolute gem

I never write reviews, but this place was such an awesome find I felt compelled. Fantastic location in a beautiful area of Dupont with a ten minute walk/$6 cab ride to the metro. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and pleasant. The room was a bit small and warm, but super comfortable and beautifully decorated. I can't stress enough what a steal this was for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to Metro Center, Union Station, or Capitol Hill areas, save yourself the hassle of the metro as it's a cheap cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee B
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Great overnight get-away

The location was great. It is in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance from restaurants and shops. My husband and I walked to a few restaurants. Parking at the hotel is expensive ($40) street parking is a good alternative. The staff is exceptional and very accommodating. BJ was the night doorman and he was a great resource for information about the hotel and neighborhood. There is a wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm. The only complaint was the room was very hot which made it uncomfortable to sleep. We turned the heat down to 65 and attempted to turn it off but it is not regulated by each room. The window in our room did not open and there were no fans. We would stay in the front of the property when we return because there are French doors and we saw a few windows open. Overall, a great place and we would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lebanese Taverna is a great restaurant about a 10 - 15 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thutchinson
Business
Apple Valley
Dec 23, 2014

Nice stay

I stayed at The Normandy on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. My colleague found the pillows really uncomfortable, and the staff purchased a new set for his room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad Student Travelor
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 24, 2014

Beautiful Old Bldg with All Inhering Quirks but Great Wi-Fi

The staff at this hotel is consistently friendly and responsive. Every request I made was responded to within 5 minutes or less. The room is not huge, so not great for families, but roomy enough for an individual or couple. The queen bed was roomy and comfy enough for me and I'm a rough sleeper (tossing and turning is my norm). Two things I missed were drawer space to unpack to and AC. Being an old building, when it's cold they have heat and when it's warm they have AC, but not both. So, when my room got stuffy, I had to open a window. Not so bad as long as it's not raining. Overall, I had a good enough time to be willing to stay there again. Another plus is their two short block proximity to the Washington Hilton where my conference took place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatT of RI
Business
Rhode Island
Nov 2, 2014

Stylish but not pretentious

This small older hotel was a fine alternative to a nearby convention hotel. My room was small and lacked a dresser. The bathroom was well appointed. The staff was attentive. The location on a quiet side street was very close to public transportation, restaurants and shops. I did not sample the available wine and cheese, or the extra cost breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus one half block away. The hotel is six blocks uphill from the nearest metro stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top