$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KU Prof
Business
Kansas
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel, for a good price, with some nice extras

For someone traveling by themselves who is not going to spend much time in the room, this is a great hotel. The rooms are very European (i.e. small) but nicely furnished; so comfortable for a few hours a day, but not for families. The NESPRESSO (coffee) machine in the room is a nice touch. Free wifi. The complementary glass of wine and snacks are also a nice afternoon/evening treat especially given the price of the room. The metro stops are a good walk away (~.5 miles) but not extraordinary. There are many good restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stew11b
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jan 7, 2013

Great location for the price!

Nice bed & breakfast feel to the place. Staff was very friendly and room was very nice. Parking garage is TIGHT though. I don't know if I could have parked the car in there if it was full. Luckily it wasn't so I was able to use the space across from me to pull in and out. Definitely more geared for compact cars. Big SUV, forget about it. It cost about $30 for the night with the DC parking tax thrown in. The only complaint we had was that we could not control the HVAC unit in our room. So it started to get hot despite what we set the unit to. We ended up opening the window and that worked for us. Overall, a good inexpensive place to stay in a safe part of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Adam's Morgan is a great place to get a Jumbo Slice and a cheap beer at "Millie & Al's"!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHMH
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Great location but no parking

Stayed here on New Year's Eve and it was perfectly located near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan.. the big thing missing is parking, but this is a small hotel, so it's understandable. Very cute patio in front & out back with nice, classic-looking lounge areas indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Adams Morgan or Dupont Circle.. a bunch of great places to stop in at each!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AGL1505
Business
Arlington, VA
Dec 26, 2012

Disappointed

Hotel is more of a bread and breakfast. I expected a restaurant and there wasn't one. Very beautiful place with wonderful charm. Once I excepted it as a bed and breakfast and that it had not been properly advertised I was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reynalda
Business
durham, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Nice Weekend

I spent a Saturday night at this hotel. It is situated in a really nice area but there was no parking available on the street and I had to pay about $26 for garage parking in the basement of the hotel. The hotel is very elegant and the staff is very helpful and courteous. The hotel was worth the price. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJA Savvy Traveler
Business
Omaha, NE
Dec 16, 2012

Business Oasis

It truly was a joy staying at the Normandy. The accommodations and staff were first rate. The extras, such as the wine and cheese reception,and the espresso machines in each room made me feel like one of the consulates living in the neighborhood. This hotel is a block from my office, and you can bet that I will be staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the wonderful restaurants on 18th between Q & S Streets.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123wowie
Business
North Carolina
Dec 13, 2012

Great stay.

The Normandy Hotel was very pleasant surprise. Room accomodation was great, bed comfortable and lobby pleasant. Location is great as it is very close to wonderful restruants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Connecticut has many great places to have lunch and dinner at different price points.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markzz
Business
DC
Dec 9, 2012

better than expected

I checked in the Normandy slightly late, 10:00 or so and was offered a latte and a quick review of the room...My son was able to stay the following night thanks to the staff switching to a different room Well Done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the museums during the day and Black cat is a great venue for rock

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just looking around D.C.
Business
London,Ky
Dec 8, 2012

Great place to stay

Great hotel, the rooms were very nice ,but the staff was the best part of our stay. They catered to our every need and request, and went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant . The neighberhood is wonderful with many good resturants and shops within walking distance .If your looking for a comfordable and quite place with an A+ staff the Normandy is for you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M321
Business
DC
Dec 6, 2012

booking problem

Hotel was overbooked and we were transferred to different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top