$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RunnerGirl25
Business
Leonardtown, Maryland
Mar 17, 2014

Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a perfect choice for our sister's weekend away -- good location, beautiful room, great decor and all came at a great price. The staff was fantastic and check-in/check out was a breeze. The room is a little small, but has everything you could need and more. There is even a bathroom floor light that turns on when you enter the bathroom in the dark -- very helpful at night! The hotel was very quiet and quaint and ideal for our evening out in Adams Morgan/Dupont area. This is probably not the best choice for children but perfect for an adults weekend. Very romantic and I can't wait to return with my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sassy wiggles
Business
washington dc
Feb 18, 2014

solid

small room, but nicely furnished and appointed and easily walkable around town. excellent value for the weekend. disappointed that no wine cocktail hour or newspaper on the weekend, no fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furan
Business
New York
Jan 7, 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel

Free wine and Cheese in the afternoon. Very cozy living room. L'Occitane bath sets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alme
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 5, 2014

lovely boutique hotel

I chose the Normandy for its location--walking distance to Dupont Circle, Woodley Park, and Adams-Morgan. My only complaint is the size of the room and bathroom--the room--a double-- just barely contained the bed, chair & ottoman, and table covered by (large screen) TV and Nespresso maker (a nice touch). No desk. The bathroom was also tiny--dominated by a good-sized shower with glass doors (no tub), not much space for laying out toiletries, makeup, etc. (At first glance, I thought housekeeping had forgotten to give me shampoo & conditioner; they turned out to be in the shower.) No restaurant/room service, but local restaurants deliver and breakfast is available for an additional charge. These shortcomings were more than made up for by the exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, the large and comfortable common spaces on the main floor, complimentary wine hour in the evening, complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, and beautiful neighborhood (Embassy district). Lots of restaurants, bars, and shops a couple blocks away on Connecticut Avenue. I'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phineas1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel in a great DC Neighborhood

I stayed here just one night to attend a conference at a much larger hotel about a mile up the road. I liked the neighborhood--near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan, Kalorama, close enough to restaurants and was looking for something more boutique-like. I found it in the Normandy, located on a quiet street off of Connecticut Avenue (Next to the Embassy of Senegal). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby area though small, opened up into a lovely space where one could sit and read a book, or enjoy the daily wine and cheese. The room was very comfortable with an interesting wall-paper design. The bathroom was re-done into a modern space with a walk in shower with rainforest head. The sink was a little shallow, causing water to splash up, but otherwise no complaints. The king bed mattress was a little soft for my taste but I did get a good night's sleep after watching a little bit of television on the flat screen located on the dresser/desk. My room viewed another building across small courtyard, but some rooms face out to the street. In sum, the Normandy Hotel is a nice hotel and highly recommended for a stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tianrainie
Business
Minneapolis, mn
Nov 14, 2013

Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kurt1
Business
Utah
Nov 13, 2013

Great bed

I got the best sleep of my life on their bed! I loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hngdwmn
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2013

We'll be back!

This is a lovely little jewel tucked into the most perfect area in DC. Easy access to the beautiful Embassy Row, the Zoo, the Metro and DuPont Circle, the staff is friendly and accomodating, the rooms quiet, clean and very comfy. So far my favorite place to stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DxBx
Business
NJ
Oct 22, 2013

Nice Hotel but need better staff

This hotel was very nice we arrived around midnight and had no issue to get to our room. We stayed only one night. Rooms are decorated very nicely and clean however they are on the small side just like the European hotels. Bed was very comfortable. The staff can use some training in customer service. As we arrived we asked for extra towels, the front desk person told me that he will bring them up. However after 10 minutes in the room the phone rang and he said that he cannot bring them up until the morning. When we arrived we tried to get coffee from the free machine that they have next to the lobby but the machine did not function and had no coffee in it. There is also an espresso machine in the room. The machine did not have any coffee pods even though the morning front desk person told me that they should be in the machine. The water reservoir was missing from the machine so, no coffee could be made. When I expressed my disappointment on the subject with the front desk they had nothing to say. A guest at such hotel might expect the front desk to order coffee for the guest before they leave the hotel. However, at the Normandy it appears that staff care less if guests are satisfied or return to stay with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tangrrl
Business
Atlanta
Sep 24, 2013

The Normandy Experience

I enjoyed a recent stay at the Normandy when I was in DC to celebrate my birthday. As a woman traveling alone, I made the decision to stay at a smaller hotel (reasoning that it would be safer). The hotel was located in a beautiful neighborhood and lots of eateries and other businesses were within walking distance. Public transportation was also within walking distance, making it easy for me to see the sights DC has to offer. The room was clean and the bathroom was lovely.I would highly recommend this hotel for singles or couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize Metro, even if you're unfamiliar with the system. Their website is user friendly and you'll save money by not relying on cabs or rental cars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top