$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
181 reviews
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great experience

It's a great place to live. Especially love the inner decoration of the hotel! See full review

  • Tianrainie
  • Nov 14, 2013
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 181
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natty B
Business
St. Petersburg, Florida
Apr 6, 2014

Decent boutique hotel

Extremely comfortable bed and great, attentive service. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alme
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 5, 2014

lovely boutique hotel

I chose the Normandy for its location--walking distance to Dupont Circle, Woodley Park, and Adams-Morgan. My only complaint is the size of the room and bathroom--the room--a double-- just barely contained the bed, chair & ottoman, and table covered by (large screen) TV and Nespresso maker (a nice touch). No desk. The bathroom was also tiny--dominated by a good-sized shower with glass doors (no tub), not much space for laying out toiletries, makeup, etc. (At first glance, I thought housekeeping had forgotten to give me shampoo & conditioner; they turned out to be in the shower.) No restaurant/room service, but local restaurants deliver and breakfast is available for an additional charge. These shortcomings were more than made up for by the exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, the large and comfortable common spaces on the main floor, complimentary wine hour in the evening, complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, and beautiful neighborhood (Embassy district). Lots of restaurants, bars, and shops a couple blocks away on Connecticut Avenue. I'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phineas1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel in a great DC Neighborhood

I stayed here just one night to attend a conference at a much larger hotel about a mile up the road. I liked the neighborhood--near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan, Kalorama, close enough to restaurants and was looking for something more boutique-like. I found it in the Normandy, located on a quiet street off of Connecticut Avenue (Next to the Embassy of Senegal). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby area though small, opened up into a lovely space where one could sit and read a book, or enjoy the daily wine and cheese. The room was very comfortable with an interesting wall-paper design. The bathroom was re-done into a modern space with a walk in shower with rainforest head. The sink was a little shallow, causing water to splash up, but otherwise no complaints. The king bed mattress was a little soft for my taste but I did get a good night's sleep after watching a little bit of television on the flat screen located on the dresser/desk. My room viewed another building across small courtyard, but some rooms face out to the street. In sum, the Normandy Hotel is a nice hotel and highly recommended for a stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kurt1
Business
Utah
Nov 13, 2013

Great bed

I got the best sleep of my life on their bed! I loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 28, 2013

God value foe the money.

The Normandy was clean, convenient and good value. It isn't new but it is well kept and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Nice little hotel just above Dupont Circle.

I had a very nice stay at this rather small but well-kept hotel. Could not get into the large hotel where my conference was being held and tried the Normandy. First, the rate was very reasonable. Second, the staff was very friendly and efficient upon check-in and throughout my stay. The room was not large but it was clean. The bathroom was clean and well-lit but again, a bit confined. All-in-all I would nothesitate to recommend The Normandy, particularly for price-conscious travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistrot du Coin is a nice French bistro a quick walk from the hotel.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AReviewFromMe
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2013

Reminded Me of European Hotels

I stayed with 3 colleagues during an academic conference. This hotel fit our needs, but I would not jump at the chance to stay again. About the room: The beds were full, rather than queen (which we knew in advance), and the room was also very small in general. With 4 adults we were in quite close quarters. The bathroom, however, was lovely, with a huge, sexy shower with glass doors. Unfortunately, I would have preferred the space be used for the room, but I imagine a couple staying in this hotel would like it. We were pleased to have free internet, though it was slow, and a fridge. There was a flat screen TV, but no HD and no channel guide, and many of the channels didn't work. For some reason we also had a lot of trouble with our room keys, but the staff were friendly in repeatedly helping us. We had an awful view of the building next door and the dumpsters. We were pleased with the L'Occitane toiletries. About the hotel: Breakfast of the quality that is free at many hotels cost, I think, $12, but they do have a one hour free wine and cheese event each evening. They have a nice outdoor space in the front, but otherwise the lobby is rather basic, and I didn't see a gym or pool. There is also no restaurant. The other guests seemed pleasant and we heard no noise from the hallways or other rooms. About the location: This hotel is between DuPont Circle and Woodley Park. It is in a lovely residential area just off Connecticut, but it is about a 10 minute walk to a metro station. Good restaurants and bars are, for the most part, about a 10 minute walk to DuPont Circle or Adams Morgan. Bottom line: We chose The Normandy because it was the cheapest hotel within a mile of our conference (in Woodley Park) with a 3* or higher rating. If you're looking for an inexpensive, no-frills place to stay, this will certainly do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous222221
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2013

Great hotel!

There on business and it was a great experience. The hotel was nice! A bit off the beaten path, but worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asset
Business
Long Island New York
May 10, 2013

Good location

Good location in Embassy area. I had a decent experience here with a short walk down the hill to a good nightlife area. Convenient to work locations downtown (more walking or a taxi or metro). Rather than the breakfast in the hotel ($16), walk down the hill to the Bethesda Bagel shop or the Starbucks. Co-worker had some breathing problems during the night in the fifth floor room. He appreciated the shower for the humidity it brought to an environment which caused him difficulties. I could not place my finger on why the air seemed a bit off, but when he attempted to crack the windows they did not open. Bathroom had a light triggered by movement which illuminated the floor of the bathroom upon entry. I looked at it in the daylight, and it was a plug in light well positioned under the bathroom sink and cabinet. A nice concept well executed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down the hill. A couple of different alternatives with options for every age and interest.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lgutt
Business
new york
May 1, 2013

very nice

nice boutique hotel.clean and friendly staff. I would recommend to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top