$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
161 reviews
Business hotel

The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong. See full review

  • Matthew G.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Excellent for us

Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks... See full review

  • Birmingham Dog Lovers
  • Mar 18, 2015
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel (formerly Jurys Normandy Inn) offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Welcoming and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travellers.
The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.

The hotel's 75 rooms include cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 161
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew G.
Business
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Business hotel

The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. DRP
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Only ok if you just want to sleep

The hotel is on a very tight and cramped street where parking is practically nonexistent, unless it's a weekend and you get lucky. There is valet only and I was even informed that my truck probably wouldn't fit back in their garage if I left the hotel that I would have to find another hotel at which to park *unacceptable*. Luckily, the front desk clerk handled the valet situation for me. My room was very clean and I loved the updated bathrooms, fridge with complimentary water, and free wi-fi (however it's an open connection). The heat in my room was broken and would only get to 68-70 F (that's chilly for me when there's ice and snow outside). There is no restaurant in the building, but you can purchase breakfast and there is a wine and cheese hour daily. The elevator was on the fritz one of the days. It's very brief 3 minute walk (downhill going, but uphill returning lol) from several restaurants (and Starbucks) which was a lifesaver. Overall, it worked for a busy conference weekend, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas R.
Business
Dexter
Jan 15, 2015

An absolute gem

I never write reviews, but this place was such an awesome find I felt compelled. Fantastic location in a beautiful area of Dupont with a ten minute walk/$6 cab ride to the metro. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and pleasant. The room was a bit small and warm, but super comfortable and beautifully decorated. I can't stress enough what a steal this was for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to Metro Center, Union Station, or Capitol Hill areas, save yourself the hassle of the metro as it's a cheap cab fare.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thutchinson
Business
Apple Valley
Dec 23, 2014

Nice stay

I stayed at The Normandy on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. My colleague found the pillows really uncomfortable, and the staff purchased a new set for his room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad Student Travelor
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 24, 2014

Beautiful Old Bldg with All Inhering Quirks but Great Wi-Fi

The staff at this hotel is consistently friendly and responsive. Every request I made was responded to within 5 minutes or less. The room is not huge, so not great for families, but roomy enough for an individual or couple. The queen bed was roomy and comfy enough for me and I'm a rough sleeper (tossing and turning is my norm). Two things I missed were drawer space to unpack to and AC. Being an old building, when it's cold they have heat and when it's warm they have AC, but not both. So, when my room got stuffy, I had to open a window. Not so bad as long as it's not raining. Overall, I had a good enough time to be willing to stay there again. Another plus is their two short block proximity to the Washington Hilton where my conference took place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatT of RI
Business
Rhode Island
Nov 2, 2014

Stylish but not pretentious

This small older hotel was a fine alternative to a nearby convention hotel. My room was small and lacked a dresser. The bathroom was well appointed. The staff was attentive. The location on a quiet side street was very close to public transportation, restaurants and shops. I did not sample the available wine and cheese, or the extra cost breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus one half block away. The hotel is six blocks uphill from the nearest metro stop.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ortoco
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 19, 2014

Location + comfort

With its European style, really comfy rooms and great location, it can't get any better than this... unless the price tag was a bit lower :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A whole host of good reataurants and nice bars, this is the right spot

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDennis
Business
Seattle
Sep 21, 2014

Alternative to conference hotel

I attended a conference at the Washington Hilton. There were no rooms available at the WH so I booked the Normandy. Was I ever surprised! It was excellent. Just a short walk from the WH I found lots of high end room features. The staff was phenomenal. I was always greeted and quickly felt that I was part of the Normandy "family". While there was no hotel restaurant tons of great eateries are within walking distance on Connecticut Ave. When I checked out I was told that the next time I booked the hotel that I could get a loyalty discount. A perfect end to a perfect stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goodguy2
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 1, 2014

Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

6mins to Metro station

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natty B
Business
St. Petersburg, Florida
Apr 6, 2014

Decent boutique hotel

Extremely comfortable bed and great, attentive service. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top