$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Melrose Hotel

4 stars
2430 Pennslyvania Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
70 reviews
Quick Weekend Trip

The hotel is very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. The location of the hotel was great!... See full review

  • Mtfen
  • Jul 27, 2014
Great location

We spent 5 nights and found the location great, the rooms were larger than most with comfortable... See full review

  • Polly 1957
  • Jul 6, 2014
Hotel with traditional elegance between the White House and Georgetown

Situated just a mile from that other prominent Pennsylvania Avenue address -- The White House -- the Melrose Hotel offers traditional style and warm service in a great location for both business and leisure travelers. The heart of The George Washington University is just around the corner, and the shops, bars and restaurants of tony Georgetown are within walking distance. Spacious guest rooms and Jardenea Restaurant  at the Melrose Hotel invite guests to settle in and stay a while.

Business
  • 24-hour business center 
  • 5,000 square feet of function space with free Internet access
  • Banquet and catering services available
Highlights
  • On-site fitness center
  • Jardenea Restaurant is a  Georgetown-area hot spot
  • Spacious guest rooms and suites
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at the Melrose Hotel are among the largest in Washington, D.C. and feature original watercolor paintings depicting the city's historic, world-renowned attractions. Pillowtop mattresses, refrigerators, traditional decor such as poster beds and blue and gold accents provide the elegant, stately feel. Choose from Melrose Hotel suites and deluxe or superior rooms. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
Attractions
  • The George Washington University (Across the street) 
  • The White House (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • National Mall (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Capitol Hill (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Daily parking will be charged $34 USD plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.053
Area served
Washington DC Georgetown
Nearby airports
DCA-Washington National IAD-Dulles
Area description
Located on Pennsylvania Avenue between the White House and historic Georgetown, The Melrose Hotel offers a convenient location for travelers visiting Washington, D.C. Located within walking distance are: The White House, Foggy Bottom Metro Station, Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Smithsonian Museums, Shops and Restaurants of Georgetown, Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is 10 minutes away. Cab fare is approximately $15. Dulles International Airport is 30 minutes away. Cab fare is approximately $40.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Melrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Melrose Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Deluxe Double
This room has 2 double beds with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Executive King Suite
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi

Dining

The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar
The Melrose Hotel is pleased to introduce The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar, two locations destined to be destinations for the sophisticated palate. Guests of the hotel and locals alike enjoy a diverse American menu with eclectic twists, and The Library Bar will be a "see and be seen" spot for in-the-know Washingtonians. During warmer seasons, enjoy outdoor seating at both The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar. Of course, room service is available and will feature a full menu and personal service for those guests who prefer to relax or work in their rooms.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Melrose Hotel, Washington D.C. is equipped to accommodate meetings of any style. With over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, The Melrose Hotel offers a meeting room as intimate as a boardroom or as vast as our grand ballroom. A certified services manager is on-site to assist you with planning the perfect meeting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for The Melrose Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7
Sort by:
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2007

My review of Melrose Hotel

My card to open the door did not work properly and I needed staff to reset the card every time I went in and out--this was very unacceptable. They came up to my room each time but it should have been fixed. I needed assistance getting into my room about six times over three days. The location worked well for me but I do not think I would consider staying here again. The last time management came to open the door they were more annoyed and not at all apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spartanburg
Sep 2, 2008

Pretty/Clean/Small

This was my second stay at The Melrose, and I'll probably book there again because the location is perfect and the price is great. The room was perfectly clean and attractive and the staff is professional, though not friendly. It is great if you have only one person in a room. The rooms are very small and the bathroom is tiny, so I wouldn't recommend it for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonnie Savvy Traveler
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 26, 2014

A rocky start, but good overall

I booked a two night stay at the Melrose, while in DC for a seminar at JSU around DuPont Circle (July 2014). I really wanted to rank and write a terrible/ 1 star review due to my first night experience, which I'll explain below. However, the hotel was beautiful, my room was clean, spacious and comfortable (slept really well), and the restaurant and service there was good. I would stay again. That said, I'll share the awful side of my experience. I knew that I'd arrive late, so I called 2 days ahead to alert the hotel that I'd arrive between 11-11:30 pm. When I arrived, I was informed the hotel was overbooked, and "there was no room for me." It was ridiculous, which with choice words, I told the staff, since I paid ahead through a travel site and alerted them of my late arrival. I was then briskly told by the manager that I would have to stay at another hotel. (Full disclosure: the Melrose paid for my stay at the other hotel and also, reimbursed me for the one night). When I asked if they would just transfer me to the other hotel to avoid the inconvenience of switching hotels, they said they wouldn't. I'm unsure if the manager actually said sorry, but I can at least say there wasn't a sincere apology that I recall. The hotel that I was transferred to was close by, but older. I also had to inconveniently, move back to the Melrose in the morning to store my bag and come back in the evening early enough to check in. The icing was that as I was leaving for the other hotel, two men, likely in DC on business, were checking in and were not turned away. Go figures. Again, my overall experience with the hotel itself was great. There needs to be some serious reevaluation on how many rooms to book and how to deal with customers. This issue didn't pop up out of the blue and could've have been communicated in advance of me arriving - roomless -- with a simple phone call. A note: I've seen that their PR/Marketing team often combs these comments boards and writes public apologies for the questionable facility/service. A thought, why don't you fix the problem rather than waste time tracking down and trying to mask unfavorable comments. These forums are for candid replies, not washing over problem that exist at your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Illy Cafe has a coffee shop on New Hampshire NW. Amazing!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search