$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The Melrose Hotel

4 stars
2430 Pennslyvania Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Quick Weekend Trip

The hotel is very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. The location of the hotel was great!... See full review

  • Mtfen
  • Jul 27, 2014
Great location

We spent 5 nights and found the location great, the rooms were larger than most with comfortable... See full review

  • Polly 1957
  • Jul 6, 2014
In the heart of one of the DC's most notable neighborhoods is its newest luxury, upscale hotel, The Melrose Hotel, Washington, D.C. Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, The Melrose Hotel Washington, D.C. offers discerning business travelers and leisure visitors to the District a luxurious oasis in the heart of one of the world's fastest-paced cities. The Melrose Hotel, Washington, D.C. is conveniently located between the White House and Georgetown on Pennsylvania Avenue. A brief taxi ride from both Reagan National Airport and Dulles International Airport, the hotel is also easily accessible by Metro, with a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro station to our front door. Guests can conveniently travel between the District's historical and cultural attractions as well as key business locations by taxicab, Metro or even on foot.

Disclaimer: Daily parking will be charge $38 plus tax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Melrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Melrose Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Deluxe Double
This room has 2 double beds with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Executive King Suite
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Melrose Hotel, Washington D.C. is equipped to accommodate meetings of any style. With over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, The Melrose Hotel offers a meeting room as intimate as a boardroom or as vast as our grand ballroom. A certified services manager is on-site to assist you with planning the perfect meeting.

Dining

The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar
The Melrose Hotel is pleased to introduce The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar, two locations destined to be destinations for the sophisticated palate. Guests of the hotel and locals alike enjoy a diverse American menu with eclectic twists, and The Library Bar will be a "see and be seen" spot for in-the-know Washingtonians. During warmer seasons, enjoy outdoor seating at both The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar. Of course, room service is available and will feature a full menu and personal service for those guests who prefer to relax or work in their rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for The Melrose Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 72
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7
Sort by:
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonnie Savvy Traveler
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 26, 2014

A rocky start, but good overall

I booked a two night stay at the Melrose, while in DC for a seminar at JSU around DuPont Circle (July 2014). I really wanted to rank and write a terrible/ 1 star review due to my first night experience, which I'll explain below. However, the hotel was beautiful, my room was clean, spacious and comfortable (slept really well), and the restaurant and service there was good. I would stay again. That said, I'll share the awful side of my experience. I knew that I'd arrive late, so I called 2 days ahead to alert the hotel that I'd arrive between 11-11:30 pm. When I arrived, I was informed the hotel was overbooked, and "there was no room for me." It was ridiculous, which with choice words, I told the staff, since I paid ahead through a travel site and alerted them of my late arrival. I was then briskly told by the manager that I would have to stay at another hotel. (Full disclosure: the Melrose paid for my stay at the other hotel and also, reimbursed me for the one night). When I asked if they would just transfer me to the other hotel to avoid the inconvenience of switching hotels, they said they wouldn't. I'm unsure if the manager actually said sorry, but I can at least say there wasn't a sincere apology that I recall. The hotel that I was transferred to was close by, but older. I also had to inconveniently, move back to the Melrose in the morning to store my bag and come back in the evening early enough to check in. The icing was that as I was leaving for the other hotel, two men, likely in DC on business, were checking in and were not turned away. Go figures. Again, my overall experience with the hotel itself was great. There needs to be some serious reevaluation on how many rooms to book and how to deal with customers. This issue didn't pop up out of the blue and could've have been communicated in advance of me arriving - roomless -- with a simple phone call. A note: I've seen that their PR/Marketing team often combs these comments boards and writes public apologies for the questionable facility/service. A thought, why don't you fix the problem rather than waste time tracking down and trying to mask unfavorable comments. These forums are for candid replies, not washing over problem that exist at your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Illy Cafe has a coffee shop on New Hampshire NW. Amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg
Sep 2, 2008

Pretty/Clean/Small

This was my second stay at The Melrose, and I'll probably book there again because the location is perfect and the price is great. The room was perfectly clean and attractive and the staff is professional, though not friendly. It is great if you have only one person in a room. The rooms are very small and the bathroom is tiny, so I wouldn't recommend it for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2007

My review of Melrose Hotel

My card to open the door did not work properly and I needed staff to reset the card every time I went in and out--this was very unacceptable. They came up to my room each time but it should have been fixed. I needed assistance getting into my room about six times over three days. The location worked well for me but I do not think I would consider staying here again. The last time management came to open the door they were more annoyed and not at all apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top