$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Melrose Hotel

4 stars
2430 Pennslyvania Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Quick Weekend Trip

The hotel is very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. The location of the hotel was great!... See full review

  • Mtfen
  • Jul 27, 2014
Great location

We spent 5 nights and found the location great, the rooms were larger than most with comfortable... See full review

  • Polly 1957
  • Jul 6, 2014
Hotel with traditional elegance between the White House and Georgetown

Situated just a mile from that other prominent Pennsylvania Avenue address -- The White House -- the Melrose Hotel offers traditional style and warm service in a great location for both business and leisure travelers. The heart of The George Washington University is just around the corner, and the shops, bars and restaurants of tony Georgetown are within walking distance. Spacious guest rooms and Jardenea Restaurant  at the Melrose Hotel invite guests to settle in and stay a while.

Business
  • 24-hour business center 
  • 5,000 square feet of function space with free Internet access
  • Banquet and catering services available
Highlights
  • On-site fitness center
  • Jardenea Restaurant is a  Georgetown-area hot spot
  • Spacious guest rooms and suites
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at the Melrose Hotel are among the largest in Washington, D.C. and feature original watercolor paintings depicting the city's historic, world-renowned attractions. Pillowtop mattresses, refrigerators, traditional decor such as poster beds and blue and gold accents provide the elegant, stately feel. Choose from Melrose Hotel suites and deluxe or superior rooms. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
Attractions
  • The George Washington University (Across the street) 
  • The White House (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • National Mall (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Capitol Hill (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Daily parking will be charged $34 USD plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Melrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Melrose Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Deluxe Double
This room has 2 double beds with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Executive King Suite
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi

Dining

The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar
The Melrose Hotel is pleased to introduce The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar, two locations destined to be destinations for the sophisticated palate. Guests of the hotel and locals alike enjoy a diverse American menu with eclectic twists, and The Library Bar will be a "see and be seen" spot for in-the-know Washingtonians. During warmer seasons, enjoy outdoor seating at both The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar. Of course, room service is available and will feature a full menu and personal service for those guests who prefer to relax or work in their rooms.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Melrose Hotel, Washington D.C. is equipped to accommodate meetings of any style. With over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, The Melrose Hotel offers a meeting room as intimate as a boardroom or as vast as our grand ballroom. A certified services manager is on-site to assist you with planning the perfect meeting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for The Melrose Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg
Sep 2, 2008

Pretty/Clean/Small

This was my second stay at The Melrose, and I'll probably book there again because the location is perfect and the price is great. The room was perfectly clean and attractive and the staff is professional, though not friendly. It is great if you have only one person in a room. The rooms are very small and the bathroom is tiny, so I wouldn't recommend it for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
May 30, 2011

Nice Place, close to Metro

Nice place, close to Metro and many restaurants and George Washington University. The pillows were not the best but the room was comfortable otherwise. [...] advertised free parking on the weekends however the hotel only has valet parking which was $38 for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhilaTraveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great Location, Huge Suites, Good Price

Spent a great weekend in DC. Really enjoyed the large suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, va
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice- Staff very friendly

We went to Washington DC to visit the Cherry Blossom festival and downtown exhibits. Metro rail right around the corner so we gave the car to valet for parking. With Metros easy access to sights of DC we had fun. Staff was very friendly and helpful giving information and recommendations. Room was very clean and though we were on a major street we did not hear a sound from traffic. We would recommend this hotel and will go back. Only problem was getting our car back from valet parking took close to 45 minutes when we checked out and we could not find many small kid friendly restaurants nearby(within short walking distance). There was a restaurant and nice small pub-like bar within the hotel. Usual food and looked very nice and good but we wanted to eat out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
small businessman
Business
manhasset, ny
Feb 21, 2010

Friendly and helpful staff, great value

Visited DC on school break with wife, daughter and mother. Took 2 rooms. Had late check-in (11pm), clerk went to great lengths to get us 2 nice rooms close to each other. 7th floor king deluxe room was specially and surprisingly nice, especially at the price. Doorman was helpful throughout our visit. Buffet breakfast (not included in our booking) was good, service ok. Had dinner at Library restaurant both nights - food and service were good. I found management to be very interested and responsive. Comment made at dinner on first night was immediately acted on by the time that we returned for dinner the second night. Desk manager was very helpful with earlier than reserved checkout. We will stay here when we return to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ader
Business
New York, NY
Mar 1, 2010

great location with friendly staff

The location is easy to get to and only a short walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station. the staff are all very friendly. We only stay there for one night for a weekend trip, and we wanted to have breakfast on Sunday around Georgetown so we can shop around there. However, the staff recommend a franchise for breakfast. We ended up asking the locals. They direct us to a place call "Peacock Cafe", which they had great food and great service. I would stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

walkable distance to the Reflective Pool and to the Mall (where all the museums are) - but they closes at 5:30pm. Should get on metro check out the museums first THEN walk to the reflective pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ppopp
Business
Cinti. OH
Nov 9, 2009

College visiting in D.C.

Great location-had to ask for extra towels/blankets but delivered right away. Beautiful spacious suite in a perfect location for college visiting in D.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeManMiamiVice
Business
NY, NY
Oct 24, 2009

Great location

Short walking distance to subway station and Georgetown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buffalo27
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 16, 2009

washington dc

The location was great. Very close to the metro station. My husband and I were there on vacation. Prices for a drink at the bar in the hotel were overpriced, I would recommend purchasing beer at the liquor store next door. The price for parking is outrageous. When we got our car back there was a big long scratch across the side of the car. You think after paying them all that money for your car just to sit there, they would take care of it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to Georgetown...it is definitely worth the trip, tons of shopping and restaurants. The waterfront is right there too. Great food there as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davejazz
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 11, 2009

Orbitz Nd the Melrose Hotel, Wa, DC

Very good location to the Metro for sight seeing. Little stores nearby for food, etc. Did not receive 20% discount offered after room was booked. Hotel said to ask Orbitz. Orbitz said it was up tto the hotel. I could have saved 200$. I will not use Orbitz again, I will book it on my own. Food in restaurant too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top