$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

The Melrose Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2430 Pennslyvania Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Melrose Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sapo Bonito
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jan 3, 2013

good location

great location and very nice staff. The room was not what was in any of the pictures, and it was very hot. I tried to adjust the temperature, but it didn't work. Also, the lock was not working properly, the key did not work even after someone came to service it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just make a turn left from the main lobby onto Penn Avenue, cross the bridge and you will be in Georgetown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eileen1224
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect DC Value

I was able to get a great rate at the Melrose and I was very impressed by the quality of the room and the service for what I paid. I would definitely stay here again. Location is within walking distance of M Street in Georgetown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RWNova
Business
Morristown, NJ
Jan 2, 2013

NYE 2012/2013

We got a great rate here for NYE 2012/2013. My girlfriend and I had a very nice room with a king sized bed. The staff was very helpful in helping us get a cab to our NYE party. The hotel itself is near George Washington University. McFaddens bar is across the street for those looking for something to do. For late night food, Dominos will deliver to the hotel too. Valet parking is $40, but on a busy weekend night, it's easier than having to park and walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara981
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2013

Comfortable and clean

Can't beat the price- less than $150 for New Years Eve. Staff was friendly, everything was clean. Had a nice, big room and the mattress was quite comfortable. Arrived at 2am and had no problems checking in and getting the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
May 30, 2011

Nice Place, close to Metro

Nice place, close to Metro and many restaurants and George Washington University. The pillows were not the best but the room was comfortable otherwise. [...] advertised free parking on the weekends however the hotel only has valet parking which was $38 for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coffeebean
Business
New Orleans, La.
Dec 7, 2010

[...]

Booked a smoking room with no ashtrays available. Situation was addressed with promptness. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the Mall from the hotel, rather then wait 45 minutes for the $30.00 double decker tour bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Classy Texan!
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 20, 2010

Disappointing stay!

Staff could not find our reservation when we got there. They finally found it after about 30 minutes of searching which was a bit disgruntling. The bathroom was not clean. Towels were dirty and bathtub did not drain. This is not a hotel I will consider staying in again in Georgetown. On a positive note, the valet staff was very friendly and helpful!. Not a good example for the Melrose hotels that are usually first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wisconsin Avenue is a shopper's delight!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, va
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice- Staff very friendly

We went to Washington DC to visit the Cherry Blossom festival and downtown exhibits. Metro rail right around the corner so we gave the car to valet for parking. With Metros easy access to sights of DC we had fun. Staff was very friendly and helpful giving information and recommendations. Room was very clean and though we were on a major street we did not hear a sound from traffic. We would recommend this hotel and will go back. Only problem was getting our car back from valet parking took close to 45 minutes when we checked out and we could not find many small kid friendly restaurants nearby(within short walking distance). There was a restaurant and nice small pub-like bar within the hotel. Usual food and looked very nice and good but we wanted to eat out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Etten, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Great Location - Poor quality room

Air conditioning didn't work - hotel's solution a fan. Short circuited lamp and loose fixtures on sink - no action. Service staff was friendly and courteous. Management needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants close-by in Geargetown. La Perla for first-rate Italian, Seacatch for excellant seafood, and The Guards for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
?
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 25, 2010

3 days in DC

The suite was spacious and very upscale. The location is great for my business activities. It is a quite neighborhood, but very accessible to all DC attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to grocery and liquor stores. I could eat and drink at the hotel rather than finding restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top