$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Melrose Hotel

4 stars
2430 Pennslyvania Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Quick Weekend Trip

The hotel is very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. The location of the hotel was great!... See full review

  • Mtfen
  • Jul 27, 2014
Great location

We spent 5 nights and found the location great, the rooms were larger than most with comfortable... See full review

  • Polly 1957
  • Jul 6, 2014
Hotel with traditional elegance between the White House and Georgetown

Situated just a mile from that other prominent Pennsylvania Avenue address -- The White House -- the Melrose Hotel offers traditional style and warm service in a great location for both business and leisure travelers. The heart of The George Washington University is just around the corner, and the shops, bars and restaurants of tony Georgetown are within walking distance. Spacious guest rooms and Jardenea Restaurant  at the Melrose Hotel invite guests to settle in and stay a while.

Business
  • 24-hour business center 
  • 5,000 square feet of function space with free Internet access
  • Banquet and catering services available
Highlights
  • On-site fitness center
  • Jardenea Restaurant is a  Georgetown-area hot spot
  • Spacious guest rooms and suites
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at the Melrose Hotel are among the largest in Washington, D.C. and feature original watercolor paintings depicting the city's historic, world-renowned attractions. Pillowtop mattresses, refrigerators, traditional decor such as poster beds and blue and gold accents provide the elegant, stately feel. Choose from Melrose Hotel suites and deluxe or superior rooms. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
Attractions
  • The George Washington University (Across the street) 
  • The White House (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • National Mall (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Capitol Hill (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Daily parking will be charged $34 USD plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Melrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Melrose Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Deluxe Double
This room has 2 double beds with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.
Executive King Suite
This room has 1 king bed with pillowtop mattress. Private bathroom comes with shower/tub combination, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. For a surcharge, wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and television with satellite/cable channels and pay movies is provided for your entertainment. Desk, in-room safe, multi-line phone with voice mail, clock radio, and iron/ironing board are among the included amenities. Also available air conditioning, climate control, free newspapers, and daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Department of State: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi

Dining

The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar
The Melrose Hotel is pleased to introduce The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar, two locations destined to be destinations for the sophisticated palate. Guests of the hotel and locals alike enjoy a diverse American menu with eclectic twists, and The Library Bar will be a "see and be seen" spot for in-the-know Washingtonians. During warmer seasons, enjoy outdoor seating at both The Landmark Restaurant and The Library Bar. Of course, room service is available and will feature a full menu and personal service for those guests who prefer to relax or work in their rooms.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Melrose Hotel, Washington D.C. is equipped to accommodate meetings of any style. With over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, The Melrose Hotel offers a meeting room as intimate as a boardroom or as vast as our grand ballroom. A certified services manager is on-site to assist you with planning the perfect meeting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for The Melrose Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, va
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice- Staff very friendly

We went to Washington DC to visit the Cherry Blossom festival and downtown exhibits. Metro rail right around the corner so we gave the car to valet for parking. With Metros easy access to sights of DC we had fun. Staff was very friendly and helpful giving information and recommendations. Room was very clean and though we were on a major street we did not hear a sound from traffic. We would recommend this hotel and will go back. Only problem was getting our car back from valet parking took close to 45 minutes when we checked out and we could not find many small kid friendly restaurants nearby(within short walking distance). There was a restaurant and nice small pub-like bar within the hotel. Usual food and looked very nice and good but we wanted to eat out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Etten, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Great Location - Poor quality room

Air conditioning didn't work - hotel's solution a fan. Short circuited lamp and loose fixtures on sink - no action. Service staff was friendly and courteous. Management needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants close-by in Geargetown. La Perla for first-rate Italian, Seacatch for excellant seafood, and The Guards for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
?
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 25, 2010

3 days in DC

The suite was spacious and very upscale. The location is great for my business activities. It is a quite neighborhood, but very accessible to all DC attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to grocery and liquor stores. I could eat and drink at the hotel rather than finding restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
georgia
Mar 19, 2010

Melrose Hotel Washington, DC

Older hotel, noisy. Rooms need to be painted and new carpet on floors. Climate control outdated only heat available during March visit, rooms can be hot and only way to cool room is to open a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice coffee shop/market 50 yards from front door. Nice for morning breakfast or snack during day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nota4starhotel
Business
Seattle
Mar 7, 2010

Melrose

Came with two luggages. Checked in and ran to the luggage elevator to escape 5-steps of stairs. I was asked not use the elevator. Nobody offered help to carry my luggages over the steps. RUDE! Modernization? Putting flat-screen TV is not a modernization. That hotel needs overall modernization esp. bathrooms. Moldy rusty bathrooms. Online pictures are deceiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ader
Business
New York, NY
Mar 1, 2010

great location with friendly staff

The location is easy to get to and only a short walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station. the staff are all very friendly. We only stay there for one night for a weekend trip, and we wanted to have breakfast on Sunday around Georgetown so we can shop around there. However, the staff recommend a franchise for breakfast. We ended up asking the locals. They direct us to a place call "Peacock Cafe", which they had great food and great service. I would stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

walkable distance to the Reflective Pool and to the Mall (where all the museums are) - but they closes at 5:30pm. Should get on metro check out the museums first THEN walk to the reflective pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhilaTraveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great Location, Huge Suites, Good Price

Spent a great weekend in DC. Really enjoyed the large suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
small businessman
Business
manhasset, ny
Feb 21, 2010

Friendly and helpful staff, great value

Visited DC on school break with wife, daughter and mother. Took 2 rooms. Had late check-in (11pm), clerk went to great lengths to get us 2 nice rooms close to each other. 7th floor king deluxe room was specially and surprisingly nice, especially at the price. Doorman was helpful throughout our visit. Buffet breakfast (not included in our booking) was good, service ok. Had dinner at Library restaurant both nights - food and service were good. I found management to be very interested and responsive. Comment made at dinner on first night was immediately acted on by the time that we returned for dinner the second night. Desk manager was very helpful with earlier than reserved checkout. We will stay here when we return to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flowersdolly
Business
Newburyport, MA
Dec 26, 2009

Our favorite

This is our second stay at the Melrose for Christmas, and it was as good as last year. We are not high-end hotel people, but we like a nice environment, pleasant staff, attractive bright rooms and good location. The Melrose is a good fit for us. While we didn't have many meals there, we did have the breakfast buffet (at 8 a.m.) on Christmas morning. Although it was $19.00/person (we're not cheap we just don't eat that much food for breakfast, and we were planning to have a Christmas brunch at 1p.m.) it was lovely and a great selection. This hotel is our favorite, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Washington, DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro. I think you can get almost anywhere even with transfers. The buses are a little confusing (if you're going by Google via public transportation). It's clean and the station attendants are very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
have job, will travel
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Dec 25, 2009

very, very nice

This was the nicest Washington hotel that I have stayed at while there on business. The lobby bar was incredibly nice and atmospheric; the rather large room was tastefully decorated and quiet. The one thing that would have made my stay better would have been if the Melrose did not charge for the use of the computers in its "business center."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The lobby bar is the nicest bar in the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top