$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Simply Amazing Value!

Directly after entering doors; Whow! The foyer, the room and the location. Terrific value. See full review

  • Expo
  • Mar 9, 2014
DC Christmas Experience

I highly recommend the Mayflower Renaissance as a place to stay in the District of Columbia. It is... See full review

  • Elk Grove Dad
  • Jan 3, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
35 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
EricnHuntersville
Charlotte, NC
Nov 26, 2012

Club Level - NOT worth the price

The Mayflower is a beautiful and historic hotel located in a great part of the city but with that said the rooms are outdated. I've stayed at the Mayflower in the past and I knew the hotel was going through a renovation so I thought I would surprise my wife with a "club level" room. Unfortunately not only was the room not recently renovated as evidenced by the stained and peeling wallpaper but the "club level" room was exactly the same as every other room in the hotel. For more than double the price of the regular room I was expecting something more and did not find it in the room or the "club" that came included with the room. The "club" is more of a poorly equipped business center stocked with sub par finger food and the wine, beer and spirits were not included. Hopefully some time in the not too distant future the Mayflower will do something to up their offering. Until then I'd advise you to not waste your money on their “club level”.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kellari Taverna is a great seafood restaurant with a Greek flair. Go for the family style on the fresh fish. You can't go wrong.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DJ4Life
DC
Jan 2, 2013

Great location, but hotel needs refinement

Stayed at Mayflower over new year's eve. Can't beat the fantastic location on Connecticut Avenue. Very courteous staff and nice accommodations. But the interior and rooms were very dated looked. It is a very historic hotel, but, given the surrounding hotels nearby, i think Mayflower could use a light renovation. For a hotel of it's caliber, there should be a spa, pool available for guests, free wifi availability and parking is expensive at 46.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent lounges and clubs walking distance. This is a very posh part of DC. You won't be disappointed.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
MA
May 31, 2011

Nice Hotel / Good Location

Nice centrally located hotel on the metro line - lots of Washington sites visited without any need for a taxi. Clean and Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Lots of high end eateries and sub shops. Not much of a middle ground for dining options within a walking distance. Again - key to have the metro as many fine choices are within a stop or two.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Rubyanne
New York, NY
May 30, 2012

DC honeymoon

it was just average. I travel a lot with work and this was the first hotel I had to call and ask for restocking of the coffee supplies in my room for both mornings. Staff was friendly enough. Seeing the chambermaid eating off her cart in the hallway was a bit surprising. I just had an awesome stay at the Venetian in Las Vegas. They thought of things before I could ask and the staff was extremely curtious and freindly I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DC for fun
Chicago
May 18, 2010

Good location - weekend getaway

Great access to Metro but not a ton of restaurants/nightlife since it's in the biz district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Mike H.S.
Seminole, Florida
Dec 2, 2013

Thanksgiving week getaway

Received wonderful deal on hotel and airfare via This web site. Saw old friends for Thanksgiving. Used other days to tour DC museums. Arrived several hours before check in time on Tuesday before the holiday. It was rainy and cold in DC and I was hoping that my wife and I could get into the room early. Hotel desk staff seemed to understand that and assigned us a wonderful room. Room was clean with plenty of towels. Bed was very comfortable and there were lots of packets of free in room coffee. It was my second time staying at this hotel and stay was even better this time. Hotel is half a block from a Metro stop so traveling locally to museums was easy. Can't wait to stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The French restaurant, Bistro du Coin, is two blocks north of the DuPont Circle metro stop. A must visit for dinner in DC. Six blocks north of the hotel at 1728 Connecticutt.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Norwood, MA
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful, historical hotel

We were tourists and saw almost everything that we wanted to see in two days. The hotel was right in the middle of everything and we walked to dinner at three different restaurants on three nights. We used the trolleys which picked you up right in front of the hotel.The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are very small, but comfortable. The window looked out on the other side of the building, so no views.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would have enjoyed a listing of restaurants near the hotel - menus, addresses, recommendations, etc. - in the room. There are plenty of drawers that could hold a notebook with menus along with bibles.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Jersey
May 30, 2009

Beautiful historic lady

We were met immediately at our car. Luggage was retrieved. We were taken to our room promptly and we had a lovely overnight stay. Dinner in the Promenade Cafe was delicious (Maryland crab cakes, soup, salad) Service was attentive and friendly. Continental breakfast and lunch were more than satisfactory. Throughout the stay we were very satisfied. Room was clean, bed very comfy. Only negatives were no tissue box anywhere in the smaller than usual bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
trix
mayflower hotel
Sep 17, 2013

mayflower hotel

Great place excellent staff would stay there again great location for visiting major attractoins. thank you again michael gleeson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

daily grill

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Novel Writing Genius
Birmingham, AL
Nov 1, 2010

Lovely and Luxurious

We had no trouble checking in. Everyone was extremely helpful, always asking if we needed help with our bags, a taxi, etc. etc. The Cafe Promenade has a wonderful breakfast with very friendly staff. The lounge in the lobby could be more adequately staffed, there were long waits and confusion over orders and timing but I feel it was more an issue of the bar being understaffed on a busy weekend than a lack of attention. Room service was extremely timely and efficient. The location of the Mayflower is ideal. It's close enough to monuments, White House, Smithsonian, etc. but not so close that we experienced traffic delays. The Mayflower is within walking distance of great shopping and Dupont Circle, which offers entertainment, restaurants and bars in a picturesque, historic setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Too pricey.

Back to menu Return to top