$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
136 reviews
Great stay

Perfect location close to the White House n most landmarks Central to all the eating places and... See full review

  • UshaSam
  • Jul 28, 2014
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lex luthor
Business
New York
Jul 29, 2014

Awful staff

No mini Bar and you have to pay 100 for your dog to stay and the staff is unhelpful and condescending

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Jul 30, 2011

bad

It is good hotel if you like wait more than 30min to check in and you can sleep at one bed for five guests.I mat another [...]customer and there are 4 big mans but they give them just one bed.in addition, it is good hotel if you do not have a good ears because there are very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
National KID
Henrico, VA
Jul 30, 2013

Missing Care

Dear, I have never been treated poorly during a weekend. The reception staff did not know what it is to be well attended. Problems with dirty room, lack of attention, in short, I hope never come back in this hotel and still talk to my friends. Albano

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just Married in CA
Denver, CO
Jun 29, 2010

I personally would not do it again.

I arrived using a "late check-in." [...] I was traveling with my son, this trip was his graduation present. I was given a room with one queen sized bed. I called the front desk to see if there was anyway to switch and was told that they couldn't switch me because they were booked and that I had pre-booked with another party so there was no way to upgrade and I would have to stay in that room. My son and I ordered dinner and talked about the sleeping arrangements and then decided we would get a roll away. I called guests services to request one and was asked/told in no uncertain terms that it was very inconvenient that I wanted a roll away for the night and that it was late and I should wait until the morning. (I arrived at the hotel at 11 pm-there really wasn't any choice) Then after the deep sigh he raised his voice and told me that he was going to charge me 20 dollars a day for the roll away and then asked me if I still wanted it. It arrived an hour and half later it was almost two in the morning. I was not tempted to call quest services after that for the rest of my four days. It is possible that because I am from Denver that I am not used to East Coast customer service but it really upset me. I dreaded having to call guest services again. Even when I discovered a broken, cover-less socket and cracked molding with something brown oozing from it around the air conditioner box. I realize that things do happen,no service is perfect all of the time and I was told they were booked for the weekend but a friendly voice trying to help you goes a very long way for these things. This trip was special to me and my son and we found ourselves dreading going to our hotel each and every night after site seeing. I wanted Fairmont service, these hotels are similar in price, great location and historic beauty but it was truly a stay that I prayed that nothing else would go wrong. Other reviews rate them exceptionally high on service so maybe I got a very bad weekend or an employee or two that was headed out the door. But I was very happy to come home the trip was not pleasant in the least bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is so very close to the Museum Mall, wonderful dining and gardens. The Metro is great as far as clean safe transit. I personally had a dreadful stay, but this hotel gets great reviews from other travelers and the location really can't be beat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oti
florida
Aug 18, 2009

terrible bad experience

terrible bad, they wanted to me to sleep 4 people on the same bed, because they said I reserved through ORBIS and not directly with them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gamkey
Ohio
Aug 13, 2012

Historic hotel misses the target

The furniture looked as if it were purchased at an auction. The rug was dirty. The carpeting was dirty. There was no info in the room about the hotel or closeby churches, etc. No fan in the bathroom made for very messy makeup. The air conditioner leaked and the carpeting around it was wet, not damp, wet. Sadly, my first visit 40 years ago and this one were very different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro, get a Smart Card, saved us a lot of money. Park in the garage around the corner...125 for a week. Find spots around hotel to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
funnybunny
VA
Apr 23, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel had excellent friendly staff and very clean rooms. I was dissapointed that there was nothing for kids to do hardly any restaurants around, very little choices from the menus in the hotel,u didnt get much food for what you paid. The best part is the breakfast buffet now that is awesome good thing we got that free with the price because it came out to 95.00 for two adults and 3 small children!! Beds were small but comfy,There was no pool, lets just say that there was too much hype but not enuff to back it up, so no i would spend the high amount for that four star hotel again, unless someone else is paying and we bring our own food or snacks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricnHuntersville
Charlotte, NC
Nov 26, 2012

Club Level - NOT worth the price

The Mayflower is a beautiful and historic hotel located in a great part of the city but with that said the rooms are outdated. I've stayed at the Mayflower in the past and I knew the hotel was going through a renovation so I thought I would surprise my wife with a "club level" room. Unfortunately not only was the room not recently renovated as evidenced by the stained and peeling wallpaper but the "club level" room was exactly the same as every other room in the hotel. For more than double the price of the regular room I was expecting something more and did not find it in the room or the "club" that came included with the room. The "club" is more of a poorly equipped business center stocked with sub par finger food and the wine, beer and spirits were not included. Hopefully some time in the not too distant future the Mayflower will do something to up their offering. Until then I'd advise you to not waste your money on their “club level”.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kellari Taverna is a great seafood restaurant with a Greek flair. Go for the family style on the fresh fish. You can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
National KID
Henrico, VA
Aug 11, 2014

2 double bed

Dear, Many times they don't have double bed rooms available. Disaster for me !!! Jose Albano

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJPP
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

High expectation

I thought it is this hotel was part of history so it must be great since U.S. presidents stayed here. (It by walking is 11 minutes away from the White House) The shower easily clogged and it does not have the best view. However, the staff are polite so it saved by rating low. Location is good because you are near many stores, restaurants, and subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search