$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
186 reviews
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect Location

The Mayflower was perfectly situated for everything we wanted to do and see in DC. See full review

  • Former Teacher Traveler
  • Jun 30, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dobbs Ferry
Dec 21, 2008

Excellent Overall !

Excellent in every way! Great location for getting around D.C easily. Superb service! I'd highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Feb 23, 2011

DC weekend getaway

We used the mayflower for a quick family vacation to Dc. We picked the hotlel because of location but weren't sure how friendly a 'luxury' hotel would be to a family with a 3 and 1 year old. They were great. The room was fantastic and the hotel provided a nice crib. They also surprised my daughter with a coloring book and markers. Can't beat the location right next to DC subway and three blocks from the white house and mall museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Mar 28, 2010

Great, elegant, high class hotel

excellent service, superb staff, luxurious at a great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

all museums in the Mall

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Georgia
Jun 14, 2010

Perfect Place in Washington

Spacious and elegant rooms and an elegant lobby. This hotel, though an historic property, is in pristine condition, and is a perfect location for seeing Washington. The Mayflower is an Old Town Trolley stop (as well as being one of the famous sights they point out!), which makes their hop-on-hop-off tour very easy, and is a half-block from the Metro. The staff is kind, welcoming, and so helpful. Their Cafe Promenade is wonderful for breakfast - - they even had a guitarist playing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mayflower is close to a variety of places in all price ranges. We walked to Smith and Wollensky's restaurant for our last dinner and ate at an outside table. Excellent service, and be SURE to try their chocolate cake. It's big enough for 3 or 4 people and will make your highlight film!

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelintrio
Chicago
May 30, 2013

Beautiful & comfortable

This hotel could not have been more accomodating. I have a son with special needs so I had a lot of special requests. They accommodated all my requests and made sure we were comfortable. The room was larger than most hotels & it was near public transportation. I highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
May 26, 2009

Perfect

I went to DC for the Memorial Day Weekend. I have been in a few, the same class hotels in DC before and have to admit that this one is the best so far. The room was very clean and big enough, bathroom absolutely amazing, big, new and really nice. The AC was a bit loud but I saw worse in different hotels. The only thing I didn't like was that on the street where our room's window was located was a club and I could hear the music until 2am. Try to pick a room on higher floor, mine was on second, and I believe that would help with the noise. Besides that everything was perfect. Will definitely come back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laboy Aponte
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 2, 2013

Los Laboy thanksgiving getaway

great location, the service was outstanding, close from a great restaurant called Old Ebbitt Grill, that is an icon rest from the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

it is a medium walk really, a couple of block from the white house, place to eat and some of the other amenities.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vll
Manhattan Beach, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Went to D.C. for the first time. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Great location, courteous and helpful staff, close to great restaurants and to the Metro. Walking distance to the White House. The cherry trees were in bloom along with many others. The best part was the White House tour but make your reservations as far in advance as possible as you need security clearance before entering. We went over Spring Break which was not the best time to go only because of the crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Parking around the monuments is limited. Your best bet is to buy an all day Metro pass or use the tour buses. You can get off and reboard on most of them. The hotel staff can head you in the right direction. We rented a car which we would not do again. Hotels charge a lot for parking and with the public transit you really don't need one. Our car sat in the hotel parking lot the whole time we were there. Wish someone had clued us in beforehand

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDR3
Business
Indiana
Feb 20, 2013

Great Business Trip!

After being on an airplane for 5 hours and arriving to DC around 3:30 a.m. instead of 9 p.m., I was one tired traveler when I checked into the hotel. The staff was very nice in greeting me at that early hour. My luggage was also lost and the staff kept me up-to-date on the status of my luggage. Everyone was very friendly, and my room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff was quick and courteous and the food was delicious! Would absolutely book this hotel again for a future stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dobbs Ferry
Dec 21, 2008

Excellent Overall !

Excellent in every way! Great location for getting around D.C easily. Superb service! I'd highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top