$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 29, 2009

A great old hotel

The concierge, [...], is the most helpful concierge I've ever met. She took care of our every need with a smile, remembered our names, and was just generally delightful. My only complaints, are mino: there is no room delivery of the newspapers on Saturday and Sunday; the lobby cocktail waitress was alone and overwhelmed on a rainy Saturday, so service was very slow, and the icebuckets in the room were without liners and the water never emptied. But it was a very large, very quiet and clean room, and in all, the experience was delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Capitol Grill for old fashioned ambience and great steak, or try The Blue Duck for unusual high-end fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 11, 2010

Great place

The concierge was fantastic, very knowledgable, friendly and persuaded me to try the subway instead of a taxi and he was right! The first night I was next to the ice machine which was too loud for this light-sleeper. They moved me the next day without hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwood, MA
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful, historical hotel

We were tourists and saw almost everything that we wanted to see in two days. The hotel was right in the middle of everything and we walked to dinner at three different restaurants on three nights. We used the trolleys which picked you up right in front of the hotel.The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are very small, but comfortable. The window looked out on the other side of the building, so no views.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would have enjoyed a listing of restaurants near the hotel - menus, addresses, recommendations, etc. - in the room. There are plenty of drawers that could hold a notebook with menus along with bibles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 22, 2009

Washington DC Family Trip

I called the hotel after making the Orbitz reservation because I was travelling with children and wanted to request a two doubles. However when we got there they did not have my request and they said they were booked and only one queen bed and that they would bring a cot up. The front desk seemed nonchalant and said that there was nothing they could do. The room they put us in barely fit our luggage let alone a cot. Our bellhop went down with us and we spoke to the front desk and we finally got the room we booked. I mean it almost seemed like they wanted to renege on the deal we got through Orbitz which was not cool at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many transportation venues nearby - metro, buses, walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Novel Writing Genius
Business
Birmingham, AL
Nov 1, 2010

Lovely and Luxurious

We had no trouble checking in. Everyone was extremely helpful, always asking if we needed help with our bags, a taxi, etc. etc. The Cafe Promenade has a wonderful breakfast with very friendly staff. The lounge in the lobby could be more adequately staffed, there were long waits and confusion over orders and timing but I feel it was more an issue of the bar being understaffed on a busy weekend than a lack of attention. Room service was extremely timely and efficient. The location of the Mayflower is ideal. It's close enough to monuments, White House, Smithsonian, etc. but not so close that we experienced traffic delays. The Mayflower is within walking distance of great shopping and Dupont Circle, which offers entertainment, restaurants and bars in a picturesque, historic setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Too pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 9, 2010

Great hotel and location

Great location from the White House

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Great location for tourists seeking out the hot spots and monuments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 15, 2011

False Advertising

The room was clean and hotel lobby grand. HOWEVER, when I booked this hotel, Orbitz advertised the Renassaince Hotel chain had a deal with Amercian Express providing the guest a 20% discount at checkin if they used their AMEX card. WRONG! Discount not given if you book through Orbitz. Please remove from website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book night tour of memorials/monuments. Bus picks you up right at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frogette
Business
ND
Apr 22, 2009

Amazing Value

Others attending the same conference booked though the hotel at a special conference rate - which was significantly higher than we paid through Orbitz. The service was excellent. Check in and check out was flawless and took less than a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't bring your laptop thinking that you will be able to connect on Wi-Fi from your room. They have it blocked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston illinois
May 22, 2011

Elegant but a bit tired

I only stayed one night. Checked in at midnight and out at 11 am. But the banana bread was so nice at checkin. The bed was comfortable. The night checkin person was really sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To all monuments and white house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 27, 2010

Good location, friendly, helpull staff,

Visited family, played tourist etc. Very nice 3 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top