$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globalann
Hampton, Virginia
Nov 24, 2012

Thanksgiving idyll

We had a supremely agreeable two-night stay at this conveniently located hotel in Washington while visiting family for Thanksgiving. We walked easily to any typ e of coffee shop or restaurant, to the metro, to several of our favorite stores and landmarks, and the metro took us speedily to others. Service was very good. Parking could have been costly, but not on the holiday. Only downside--internet access in the room was not free, but this was a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Nando's, a Muzambique-Portuguese restaurant a few blocks up Connecticut Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Antiiscool88
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 17, 2012

Time for some "re-decorating"

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are spectacular! Location is great. The room was not clean, we changed rooms which was not a big deal, those things happen. However, I think the hotel needs to do a "freshing up" chairs in rooms, lobby chairs are worn threads in spots.............they need a walk through "punch list" time to invest some money in the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Code, great spot for lunch, dinner and going out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tnt01
Business
stamford,ct
Aug 27, 2012

couple getaway

Location of hotel was very close to subway to get you to many attractions . Staff was very helpful. Restaurant in hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the subway was a short distant from hotel and easy to get to destinations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sukey
Business
Manchester UK
Aug 18, 2012

great hotel for all

Great hotel convenient for White House and National Mall Smithsonian Museums etc. Metro yards from Hotel at end of block. Wifi hit and miss in Public areas. Breakfast dining excellent. Some redevelopment going on but not interfering too much with visit. Could do with more seating in foyer. Good gift shop tucked away at back of Escalators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nandos up the road if you don't wish to eat in Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gamkey
Business
Ohio
Aug 13, 2012

Historic hotel misses the target

The furniture looked as if it were purchased at an auction. The rug was dirty. The carpeting was dirty. There was no info in the room about the hotel or closeby churches, etc. No fan in the bathroom made for very messy makeup. The air conditioner leaked and the carpeting around it was wet, not damp, wet. Sadly, my first visit 40 years ago and this one were very different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro, get a Smart Card, saved us a lot of money. Park in the garage around the corner...125 for a week. Find spots around hotel to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cherylene
Business
Washington,Pennsylvania
Aug 8, 2012

Wonderful time at The Mayflower

Upon check in we were given a room with two doubles. It seemed a bit small so I made an inquiry with the front desk and asked if a double queen were available. They very graciously changed our room to a much larger room with 1 queen and a roll away bed for my 12 year old son that was perfect. We put a bottle of wine in our frig during our stay, upon checkout we were charged a 100.00 fee for use of frig. when I questioned the charge they explained that the frig was weighed daily. When I told them about the wine they again graciously removed the charge. The staff really goes out of their way for all their guests. No need for a vehicle as the Metro is steps away but many attractions are within walking distance. I would highly recommend and would definitely stay at The Mayflower again. I also got a GREAT nightly rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawdiver
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2012

Mayflower losing ground in D.C.

This once grand hotel is now just another among the many in D.C. My chief problem with this stay was that the room temp was impossible to set. This resulted in a night of alternatly turning the A/C on, then getting up to turn it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across DeSales St. was a restaurant, Panache, that was very reasonably priced with better than average food. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
For Pete's Sake
Business
Virginia
Aug 1, 2012

Affordable elegance

Our group of 5, ages 8 - 80 all enjoyed this hotel. The Cafe has a terrific brunch, the rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are huge. Both our rooms had little foyers which added to the elegance. Typical urban window views however - rooftops, parking garages, office buildings, etc. Very convenient to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.Traveler
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Great for business and families

Staff was great...was travelling for work but brought the family and everyone had something to do, walking distance to everything and short drives/taxi/metro to monuments. Gorgeous hotel and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mart 51
Business
Winterville, NC
Jul 24, 2012

Very nice hotel

For a Hotel with such an obulate/ornate interior, it is well worth the price. The staff is very friendly and eager to help in any way possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Or take a cab, no fares were over $10.00 then of course a tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marybeth super mom156
Business
chicago
Jul 17, 2012

Great

great place to stay. We got a deal for $99. I wouldn't pay more than that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top