$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricnHuntersville
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 26, 2012

Club Level - NOT worth the price

The Mayflower is a beautiful and historic hotel located in a great part of the city but with that said the rooms are outdated. I've stayed at the Mayflower in the past and I knew the hotel was going through a renovation so I thought I would surprise my wife with a "club level" room. Unfortunately not only was the room not recently renovated as evidenced by the stained and peeling wallpaper but the "club level" room was exactly the same as every other room in the hotel. For more than double the price of the regular room I was expecting something more and did not find it in the room or the "club" that came included with the room. The "club" is more of a poorly equipped business center stocked with sub par finger food and the wine, beer and spirits were not included. Hopefully some time in the not too distant future the Mayflower will do something to up their offering. Until then I'd advise you to not waste your money on their “club level”.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kellari Taverna is a great seafood restaurant with a Greek flair. Go for the family style on the fresh fish. You can't go wrong.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globalann
Business
Hampton, Virginia
Nov 24, 2012

Thanksgiving idyll

We had a supremely agreeable two-night stay at this conveniently located hotel in Washington while visiting family for Thanksgiving. We walked easily to any typ e of coffee shop or restaurant, to the metro, to several of our favorite stores and landmarks, and the metro took us speedily to others. Service was very good. Parking could have been costly, but not on the holiday. Only downside--internet access in the room was not free, but this was a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Nando's, a Muzambique-Portuguese restaurant a few blocks up Connecticut Avenue.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Sandy
Business
Seattle
Oct 12, 2012

The Mayflower in DC

Fantastic experience from the personalized check-in, through the concierge lounge experience, til I checked out. I would call it a 6 star experience! Incredible value. The lounge breakfast, evening heavy hors d'oevres and the late night desserts kept our restaurant budget in check. The staff could not have been more helpful. Location on the red line and sightseeing trolley pick-up and dopr-off make this one of the best locationis in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Old Town Trolley hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus. Buy tickets on line for $54 per person for two days.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LIkkor
Business
New York
Sep 25, 2012

Perfect

Couldnt have asked for a better location or facility to visit DC for a long weekend. many thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown for restaurants

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Antiiscool88
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 17, 2012

Time for some "re-decorating"

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are spectacular! Location is great. The room was not clean, we changed rooms which was not a big deal, those things happen. However, I think the hotel needs to do a "freshing up" chairs in rooms, lobby chairs are worn threads in spots.............they need a walk through "punch list" time to invest some money in the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Code, great spot for lunch, dinner and going out!

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tnt01
Business
stamford,ct
Aug 27, 2012

couple getaway

Location of hotel was very close to subway to get you to many attractions . Staff was very helpful. Restaurant in hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the subway was a short distant from hotel and easy to get to destinations

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sukey
Business
Manchester UK
Aug 18, 2012

great hotel for all

Great hotel convenient for White House and National Mall Smithsonian Museums etc. Metro yards from Hotel at end of block. Wifi hit and miss in Public areas. Breakfast dining excellent. Some redevelopment going on but not interfering too much with visit. Could do with more seating in foyer. Good gift shop tucked away at back of Escalators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nandos up the road if you don't wish to eat in Hotel

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gamkey
Business
Ohio
Aug 13, 2012

Historic hotel misses the target

The furniture looked as if it were purchased at an auction. The rug was dirty. The carpeting was dirty. There was no info in the room about the hotel or closeby churches, etc. No fan in the bathroom made for very messy makeup. The air conditioner leaked and the carpeting around it was wet, not damp, wet. Sadly, my first visit 40 years ago and this one were very different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro, get a Smart Card, saved us a lot of money. Park in the garage around the corner...125 for a week. Find spots around hotel to eat.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cherylene
Business
Washington,Pennsylvania
Aug 8, 2012

Wonderful time at The Mayflower

Upon check in we were given a room with two doubles. It seemed a bit small so I made an inquiry with the front desk and asked if a double queen were available. They very graciously changed our room to a much larger room with 1 queen and a roll away bed for my 12 year old son that was perfect. We put a bottle of wine in our frig during our stay, upon checkout we were charged a 100.00 fee for use of frig. when I questioned the charge they explained that the frig was weighed daily. When I told them about the wine they again graciously removed the charge. The staff really goes out of their way for all their guests. No need for a vehicle as the Metro is steps away but many attractions are within walking distance. I would highly recommend and would definitely stay at The Mayflower again. I also got a GREAT nightly rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawdiver
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2012

Mayflower losing ground in D.C.

This once grand hotel is now just another among the many in D.C. My chief problem with this stay was that the room temp was impossible to set. This resulted in a night of alternatly turning the A/C on, then getting up to turn it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across DeSales St. was a restaurant, Panache, that was very reasonably priced with better than average food. Highly recommend.

Back to menu Return to top