$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
186 reviews
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect Location

The Mayflower was perfectly situated for everything we wanted to do and see in DC. See full review

  • Former Teacher Traveler
  • Jun 30, 2014
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, D.C., Hotel lives up to its reputation as a historic landmark and Dupont Circle luxury hotel with unmatched elegance highlighted by an abundance of modern conveniences. Proclaimed by President Truman to be Washington, D.C.'s "Second Best Address" after the White House, our hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and Historic Hotels of America. Upon opening in 1925, it was said we had more gold leaf than any other U.S. building except the Library of Congress, and through careful preservation, these luxurious details still tell our Washington, D.C., hotel's history. Enjoy the close proximity of our hotel's location in Washington, D.C. ideally situated near the White House, Metro stops, dining and cultural hot spots. Our D.C. hotel's luxury accommodations include 657 guest rooms and 74 stunning suites, an on-site floral boutique, fine dining and a Thomas Pink retail store. We also boast stunning event spaces ideal for conferences, meetings and weddings.

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.Traveler
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 30, 2012

Great for business and families

Staff was great...was travelling for work but brought the family and everyone had something to do, walking distance to everything and short drives/taxi/metro to monuments. Gorgeous hotel and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mart 51
Winterville, NC
Jul 24, 2012

Very nice hotel

For a Hotel with such an obulate/ornate interior, it is well worth the price. The staff is very friendly and eager to help in any way possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Or take a cab, no fares were over $10.00 then of course a tip.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marybeth super mom156
chicago
Jul 17, 2012

Great

great place to stay. We got a deal for $99. I wouldn't pay more than that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayJay117
Philly
Jul 16, 2012

Great place - very classy

The only two complaints I have were that went we left, the hotel charged us for items taken in the mini bar that were not taken. We moved them so we could put our own drinks in there. Also, the water stopped for 6 hours during the night. Other than that, the staff was friends, the room was beautiful and clean. The location was great, a few minutes from dupont circle. We also booked at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enzi
Germany
Jun 5, 2012

excellent Hotel

The mayflower is one of the best hotel we stayed. It was clean, very helpful staff, the bed was very comfortable and the location was great. Just a short walk to the White House. We would recomend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rubyanne
New York, NY
May 30, 2012

DC honeymoon

it was just average. I travel a lot with work and this was the first hotel I had to call and ask for restocking of the coffee supplies in my room for both mornings. Staff was friendly enough. Seeing the chambermaid eating off her cart in the hallway was a bit surprising. I just had an awesome stay at the Venetian in Las Vegas. They thought of things before I could ask and the staff was extremely curtious and freindly I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelindad
westchester, ny
May 28, 2012

Put it on the List

The Mayflower is a comfortable, formally friendly, even elegant hotel with a capable and helpful staff. The location, walking distance to The Mall, Dupont Circle, even Georgetown of the Capital District if you don't mind the hike, and right on the Metro line is great for touristing. No pool, but a nice exercise facility. No surprises as everything is listed, but even with 'a deal" be wary there are charges that keep cropping up, from internet charges in the room to business center charges to parking charges, etc. Nothing is unreasonable or unexpected, but they all do add up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Concierges make excellent dining recommendations, but if price is of concern take a look at Yelp or the menu before committing.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
economist11
Chicago
Apr 9, 2012

great location

great location, great comfort, highly recommended! The Chinese food restaurant on K and 18th highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mxtraveller
Business
México
Dec 6, 2011

Family reunion

The Mayflower is an old hotel in an extraordinary location, for business or leisure. Service was good even though not great, however room cleanliness was remarkable. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peg of Humble
Humble, TX
Nov 29, 2011

Nice hotel for grownups

The hotel is beautiful and very conveniently located to restaurants and public transportation. The staff is very friendly and concerned about your comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do everything in one day. Devote plenty of time to touring the memorials, monuments etc. Also, look into other tours available in the city as well as festivals and special events.

Back to menu Return to top