$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
134 reviews
Great stay

Perfect location close to the White House n most landmarks Central to all the eating places and... See full review

  • UshaSam
  • Jul 28, 2014
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Novel Writing Genius
Birmingham, AL
Nov 1, 2010

Lovely and Luxurious

We had no trouble checking in. Everyone was extremely helpful, always asking if we needed help with our bags, a taxi, etc. etc. The Cafe Promenade has a wonderful breakfast with very friendly staff. The lounge in the lobby could be more adequately staffed, there were long waits and confusion over orders and timing but I feel it was more an issue of the bar being understaffed on a busy weekend than a lack of attention. Room service was extremely timely and efficient. The location of the Mayflower is ideal. It's close enough to monuments, White House, Smithsonian, etc. but not so close that we experienced traffic delays. The Mayflower is within walking distance of great shopping and Dupont Circle, which offers entertainment, restaurants and bars in a picturesque, historic setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Too pricey.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
son in law
Chicago
Apr 11, 2013

Trip to Washington DC

My 91 year old mother-in-law and friends went to Washington, DC. While the hotel was lovely, the reservation she said was all screwed up, and in stead of 2 rooms for 3 days, they only had her down for one day, and the town was sold out. Lots of tension surrounding the arrival. The hotel recovered, but the tone was set for the visit. She will not return there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edib
Boston, MA
May 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel.

Beautiful hotel, staff very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the view the windows looked onto the exterior exhaust units and other rooms. But no other complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Apr 22, 2009

Washington DC Family Trip

I called the hotel after making the Orbitz reservation because I was travelling with children and wanted to request a two doubles. However when we got there they did not have my request and they said they were booked and only one queen bed and that they would bring a cot up. The front desk seemed nonchalant and said that there was nothing they could do. The room they put us in barely fit our luggage let alone a cot. Our bellhop went down with us and we spoke to the front desk and we finally got the room we booked. I mean it almost seemed like they wanted to renege on the deal we got through Orbitz which was not cool at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many transportation venues nearby - metro, buses, walking

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Service dog mom
NH
May 22, 2014

GW law graduate mom

One glitch when I checked in . The gal behind the desk wasn't as friendly as she could have been. However the rest of our stay was fantastic.. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I can't say enough about the bar staff and restaurant staff. Especially Dessie and Tan. They were great fun. All in all great stay and I should mention that my sister was very ill on the day we had to leave and the new girl behind the desk granted us an extended check out with no problem. That was a big help. Would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Mar 28, 2011

Very Nice

Very nice hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Fitness room looked brand new. Dinner at Cafe Promenade was excellent. Happy hour drinks and snacks were great. Conveniently located. It was a very nice experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Did not use hotel valet which charges over $40/day but followed them to the parking garage and parked ourselves with a cost of only $20/day. Did not need the car the 3 days we were in DC. Walked, used metro or taxi.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tyk314
Silver Spring, MD
May 13, 2013

Good location but a little expensive for certain conditions

Unfortunately the evening we stayed, there was a disruption in the hot water. It did not come back until the next morning. I understand it is not something that happens all of the time, but it would have been nice to shower that evening as there had been a rain storm all day. It's a bit pricy, but it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Kennedy Center is about a 25 minute walk from the hotel, but you can walk to Foggy Bottom and catch a free shuttle from there. It's only about a 15 minute walk to Foggy Bottom from the hotel.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washington Walker
Lawrence, Kansas
Jul 21, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We used the Metro to see all the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get in line for tickets to free national monumments early.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norwood, MA
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful, historical hotel

We were tourists and saw almost everything that we wanted to see in two days. The hotel was right in the middle of everything and we walked to dinner at three different restaurants on three nights. We used the trolleys which picked you up right in front of the hotel.The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are very small, but comfortable. The window looked out on the other side of the building, so no views.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would have enjoyed a listing of restaurants near the hotel - menus, addresses, recommendations, etc. - in the room. There are plenty of drawers that could hold a notebook with menus along with bibles.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peg of Humble
Humble, TX
Nov 29, 2011

Nice hotel for grownups

The hotel is beautiful and very conveniently located to restaurants and public transportation. The staff is very friendly and concerned about your comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do everything in one day. Devote plenty of time to touring the memorials, monuments etc. Also, look into other tours available in the city as well as festivals and special events.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search