$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
136 reviews
Great stay

Perfect location close to the White House n most landmarks Central to all the eating places and... See full review

  • UshaSam
  • Jul 28, 2014
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Sandy
Seattle
Oct 12, 2012

The Mayflower in DC

Fantastic experience from the personalized check-in, through the concierge lounge experience, til I checked out. I would call it a 6 star experience! Incredible value. The lounge breakfast, evening heavy hors d'oevres and the late night desserts kept our restaurant budget in check. The staff could not have been more helpful. Location on the red line and sightseeing trolley pick-up and dopr-off make this one of the best locationis in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Old Town Trolley hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus. Buy tickets on line for $54 per person for two days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ugly girl
Hobe Sound, Florida
Apr 2, 2013

Family Visit

When we arrived, we were given a choice of a queen or king bed. We requested two beds when the reservation was made as my daughters were with us. We managed to get a roll away bed, but this made the room extremely cramped. Maid service was given, but nothing was ever really clean in regard to the bathroom and tables. We also asked about getting tickets for the NCAA tournament, and no one could assist us in this endeavor. The 8th floor club room was nicely appointed. Overall we were disappointed with the accomodations especially since we had stayed there during Christmas a couple of years ago and truly enjoyed it. I would be willing to recommend it, but was disappointed this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the multi-day metro pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayne Hugs
Business
Chicago
Mar 14, 2013

Great comfort during convention

Clean environment. Comfortable room and clean room. Staff was helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDR3
Business
Indiana
Feb 20, 2013

Great Business Trip!

After being on an airplane for 5 hours and arriving to DC around 3:30 a.m. instead of 9 p.m., I was one tired traveler when I checked into the hotel. The staff was very nice in greeting me at that early hour. My luggage was also lost and the staff kept me up-to-date on the status of my luggage. Everyone was very friendly, and my room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff was quick and courteous and the food was delicious! Would absolutely book this hotel again for a future stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayne Hugs
Business
Chicago
Jan 15, 2013

Enjoyable stay

The staff was pleasant and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DJ4Life
DC
Jan 2, 2013

Great location, but hotel needs refinement

Stayed at Mayflower over new year's eve. Can't beat the fantastic location on Connecticut Avenue. Very courteous staff and nice accommodations. But the interior and rooms were very dated looked. It is a very historic hotel, but, given the surrounding hotels nearby, i think Mayflower could use a light renovation. For a hotel of it's caliber, there should be a spa, pool available for guests, free wifi availability and parking is expensive at 46.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent lounges and clubs walking distance. This is a very posh part of DC. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vol1995
Greenville
Jan 2, 2013

Great experience

New Years trip with the family. Had a great time and hotel was great. Staff was super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricnHuntersville
Charlotte, NC
Nov 26, 2012

Club Level - NOT worth the price

The Mayflower is a beautiful and historic hotel located in a great part of the city but with that said the rooms are outdated. I've stayed at the Mayflower in the past and I knew the hotel was going through a renovation so I thought I would surprise my wife with a "club level" room. Unfortunately not only was the room not recently renovated as evidenced by the stained and peeling wallpaper but the "club level" room was exactly the same as every other room in the hotel. For more than double the price of the regular room I was expecting something more and did not find it in the room or the "club" that came included with the room. The "club" is more of a poorly equipped business center stocked with sub par finger food and the wine, beer and spirits were not included. Hopefully some time in the not too distant future the Mayflower will do something to up their offering. Until then I'd advise you to not waste your money on their “club level”.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kellari Taverna is a great seafood restaurant with a Greek flair. Go for the family style on the fresh fish. You can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globalann
Hampton, Virginia
Nov 24, 2012

Thanksgiving idyll

We had a supremely agreeable two-night stay at this conveniently located hotel in Washington while visiting family for Thanksgiving. We walked easily to any typ e of coffee shop or restaurant, to the metro, to several of our favorite stores and landmarks, and the metro took us speedily to others. Service was very good. Parking could have been costly, but not on the holiday. Only downside--internet access in the room was not free, but this was a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Nando's, a Muzambique-Portuguese restaurant a few blocks up Connecticut Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Sandy
Seattle
Oct 12, 2012

The Mayflower in DC

Fantastic experience from the personalized check-in, through the concierge lounge experience, til I checked out. I would call it a 6 star experience! Incredible value. The lounge breakfast, evening heavy hors d'oevres and the late night desserts kept our restaurant budget in check. The staff could not have been more helpful. Location on the red line and sightseeing trolley pick-up and dopr-off make this one of the best locationis in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Old Town Trolley hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus. Buy tickets on line for $54 per person for two days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LIkkor
New York
Sep 25, 2012

Perfect

Couldnt have asked for a better location or facility to visit DC for a long weekend. many thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown for restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search