$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Basat
Business
Manchester, UK
Dec 13, 2014

It's not the same anymore

We have been staying in this hotel since 2013 and we were very disappointed that the hotel has let it's stands drop so much. They no longer provide complimentary water bottles and on requesting one at 11:00 (cvs was closed) we were told 'we don't give water anymore, you can buy one from the hotel shop' we were then forced to buy a bottle from the hotel shop for $5+. The room cleaning was poor and shampoo and soaps were rationed (one small shampoo bottle between two adults). The bedding was poor and stained. On complaining to the front desk we didn't even get a sorry and were told we can change your room if you're not happy. Extremely disappointed as we loved staying here and stayed for over 30 days over the past 2 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3 grandmas
Business
west palm beach, FL
Jun 16, 2010

great location

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJPP
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

High expectation

I thought it is this hotel was part of history so it must be great since U.S. presidents stayed here. (It by walking is 11 minutes away from the White House) The shower easily clogged and it does not have the best view. However, the staff are polite so it saved by rating low. Location is good because you are near many stores, restaurants, and subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rubyanne
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2012

DC honeymoon

it was just average. I travel a lot with work and this was the first hotel I had to call and ask for restocking of the coffee supplies in my room for both mornings. Staff was friendly enough. Seeing the chambermaid eating off her cart in the hallway was a bit surprising. I just had an awesome stay at the Venetian in Las Vegas. They thought of things before I could ask and the staff was extremely curtious and freindly I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawdiver
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 8, 2012

Mayflower losing ground in D.C.

This once grand hotel is now just another among the many in D.C. My chief problem with this stay was that the room temp was impossible to set. This resulted in a night of alternatly turning the A/C on, then getting up to turn it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across DeSales St. was a restaurant, Panache, that was very reasonably priced with better than average food. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Antiiscool88
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 17, 2012

Time for some "re-decorating"

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are spectacular! Location is great. The room was not clean, we changed rooms which was not a big deal, those things happen. However, I think the hotel needs to do a "freshing up" chairs in rooms, lobby chairs are worn threads in spots.............they need a walk through "punch list" time to invest some money in the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Code, great spot for lunch, dinner and going out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DJ4Life
Business
DC
Jan 2, 2013

Great location, but hotel needs refinement

Stayed at Mayflower over new year's eve. Can't beat the fantastic location on Connecticut Avenue. Very courteous staff and nice accommodations. But the interior and rooms were very dated looked. It is a very historic hotel, but, given the surrounding hotels nearby, i think Mayflower could use a light renovation. For a hotel of it's caliber, there should be a spa, pool available for guests, free wifi availability and parking is expensive at 46.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent lounges and clubs walking distance. This is a very posh part of DC. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ugly girl
Business
Hobe Sound, Florida
Apr 2, 2013

Family Visit

When we arrived, we were given a choice of a queen or king bed. We requested two beds when the reservation was made as my daughters were with us. We managed to get a roll away bed, but this made the room extremely cramped. Maid service was given, but nothing was ever really clean in regard to the bathroom and tables. We also asked about getting tickets for the NCAA tournament, and no one could assist us in this endeavor. The 8th floor club room was nicely appointed. Overall we were disappointed with the accomodations especially since we had stayed there during Christmas a couple of years ago and truly enjoyed it. I would be willing to recommend it, but was disappointed this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the multi-day metro pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pcfall
Business
philadelphia
Apr 22, 2013

Hotel clean and nice in good location close to everything but service not great

Had to wait hours for a roll away bed we requested at check in. Restaurant service lacking. Concierge never there, phones go unanswered. Was double billed for stay and spent 2 hours on phone tracking down person who could refund overcharge. Have stayed here in past and service was much better. Possibly new management. Not sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
martysatx
Business
Wichita Falls, TX
Sep 3, 2013

Just ok

The room was small with no view except of an alley, pipes and buildings that blocked any view of the city. The air conditioner was loud which was disturbing when it turned off and turned on. Saving grace was that I had things to do and not in my room much, except to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the subway was pretty close and it allow for accessibility to just about anywhere. Walking was also just as easy and allowed for brisk exercise, if you enjoy walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top