$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
134 reviews
Great stay

Perfect location close to the White House n most landmarks Central to all the eating places and... See full review

  • UshaSam
  • Jul 28, 2014
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3 grandmas
west palm beach, FL
Jun 16, 2010

great location

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Georgia
Jun 14, 2010

Perfect Place in Washington

Spacious and elegant rooms and an elegant lobby. This hotel, though an historic property, is in pristine condition, and is a perfect location for seeing Washington. The Mayflower is an Old Town Trolley stop (as well as being one of the famous sights they point out!), which makes their hop-on-hop-off tour very easy, and is a half-block from the Metro. The staff is kind, welcoming, and so helpful. Their Cafe Promenade is wonderful for breakfast - - they even had a guitarist playing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mayflower is close to a variety of places in all price ranges. We walked to Smith and Wollensky's restaurant for our last dinner and ate at an outside table. Excellent service, and be SURE to try their chocolate cake. It's big enough for 3 or 4 people and will make your highlight film!

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
May 27, 2010

Good location, friendly, helpull staff,

Visited family, played tourist etc. Very nice 3 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC for fun
Chicago
May 18, 2010

Good location - weekend getaway

Great access to Metro but not a ton of restaurants/nightlife since it's in the biz district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 11, 2010

Great place

The concierge was fantastic, very knowledgable, friendly and persuaded me to try the subway instead of a taxi and he was right! The first night I was next to the ice machine which was too loud for this light-sleeper. They moved me the next day without hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vll
Manhattan Beach, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Went to D.C. for the first time. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Great location, courteous and helpful staff, close to great restaurants and to the Metro. Walking distance to the White House. The cherry trees were in bloom along with many others. The best part was the White House tour but make your reservations as far in advance as possible as you need security clearance before entering. We went over Spring Break which was not the best time to go only because of the crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Parking around the monuments is limited. Your best bet is to buy an all day Metro pass or use the tour buses. You can get off and reboard on most of them. The hotel staff can head you in the right direction. We rented a car which we would not do again. Hotels charge a lot for parking and with the public transit you really don't need one. Our car sat in the hotel parking lot the whole time we were there. Wish someone had clued us in beforehand

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avid traveler.
California
Apr 6, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

We were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dudley's Mom
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Apr 5, 2010

A Little Disappointing

I was quite surprised that the staff NEVER opened or held a door when we used the main entrance, although they were there. That, to me, is a given at a "luxury" hotel. I have stayed at numerous 4-5 star hotels and never experienced this. Staff seemed untrained or uncaring. I was asked which newspaper I preferred to be left at my door and received only one during my stay. The quality of the one meal that was ordered through room service was not good. Nothing unusual was ordered, only a salad, fruitplatter and cookies. When I asked for a toothbrush at the front desk because I had forgotten one, I was told that there were none there and that I could call housekeeping. I found it strange that the front desk did not ask my room number and offer to call . When inquiring upon checkin about a later checkout time, I was told to request it the morning of checkout , to me that was a little bit too late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 5, 2010

Nice rooms but a little past its prime

This was a return to the Mayflower for me but it had been a while since my last visit. It is still a grand old hotel but the food service has declined significantly. Not only was it expensive but the quality was poor. Having said that, the hotel is well located for sightseeing and the rooms are comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a good pub check out the Mad Hatter just up Connecticut Ave.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rachel42
Morgantown, WV
Apr 3, 2010

Convenient, clean and courteous hotel!

Very elegant lobby and clean rooms. The beds were remarkable. Best sleep I've had in a long time. Courteous staff and clean rooms. Didn't eat at the hotel so no opinion here. Several nice stores right across from hotel: Gap, Victoria's Secret and Ann Taylor. Within walking distance from the major museums: Air/Space and History, Art and Aquarium. I wore sneakers the whole time and felt great. Cab only about $8 to Chinatown. Nice experience there. Hotel gym very nice and clean. Headphones provided for guests there. Nice machines with tv's on every elliptical/stepper. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You would be most comfortable in sneakers for walking although cabs were not very expensive at all. Dining very good at Mccormick & Schmick's close by and in Chinatown (sushi restaurants).

Back to menu Return to top

Change search