$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Simply Amazing Value!

Directly after entering doors; Whow! The foyer, the room and the location. Terrific value. See full review

  • Expo
  • Mar 9, 2014
DC Christmas Experience

I highly recommend the Mayflower Renaissance as a place to stay in the District of Columbia. It is... See full review

  • Elk Grove Dad
  • Jan 3, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Globalann
Hampton, Virginia
Nov 24, 2012

Thanksgiving idyll

We had a supremely agreeable two-night stay at this conveniently located hotel in Washington while visiting family for Thanksgiving. We walked easily to any typ e of coffee shop or restaurant, to the metro, to several of our favorite stores and landmarks, and the metro took us speedily to others. Service was very good. Parking could have been costly, but not on the holiday. Only downside--internet access in the room was not free, but this was a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Nando's, a Muzambique-Portuguese restaurant a few blocks up Connecticut Avenue.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
vll
Manhattan Beach, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Went to D.C. for the first time. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Great location, courteous and helpful staff, close to great restaurants and to the Metro. Walking distance to the White House. The cherry trees were in bloom along with many others. The best part was the White House tour but make your reservations as far in advance as possible as you need security clearance before entering. We went over Spring Break which was not the best time to go only because of the crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Parking around the monuments is limited. Your best bet is to buy an all day Metro pass or use the tour buses. You can get off and reboard on most of them. The hotel staff can head you in the right direction. We rented a car which we would not do again. Hotels charge a lot for parking and with the public transit you really don't need one. Our car sat in the hotel parking lot the whole time we were there. Wish someone had clued us in beforehand

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Avid traveler.
California
Apr 6, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

We were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Dudley's Mom
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Apr 5, 2010

A Little Disappointing

I was quite surprised that the staff NEVER opened or held a door when we used the main entrance, although they were there. That, to me, is a given at a "luxury" hotel. I have stayed at numerous 4-5 star hotels and never experienced this. Staff seemed untrained or uncaring. I was asked which newspaper I preferred to be left at my door and received only one during my stay. The quality of the one meal that was ordered through room service was not good. Nothing unusual was ordered, only a salad, fruitplatter and cookies. When I asked for a toothbrush at the front desk because I had forgotten one, I was told that there were none there and that I could call housekeeping. I found it strange that the front desk did not ask my room number and offer to call . When inquiring upon checkin about a later checkout time, I was told to request it the morning of checkout , to me that was a little bit too late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 5, 2010

Nice rooms but a little past its prime

This was a return to the Mayflower for me but it had been a while since my last visit. It is still a grand old hotel but the food service has declined significantly. Not only was it expensive but the quality was poor. Having said that, the hotel is well located for sightseeing and the rooms are comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a good pub check out the Mad Hatter just up Connecticut Ave.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
rachel42
Morgantown, WV
Apr 3, 2010

Convenient, clean and courteous hotel!

Very elegant lobby and clean rooms. The beds were remarkable. Best sleep I've had in a long time. Courteous staff and clean rooms. Didn't eat at the hotel so no opinion here. Several nice stores right across from hotel: Gap, Victoria's Secret and Ann Taylor. Within walking distance from the major museums: Air/Space and History, Art and Aquarium. I wore sneakers the whole time and felt great. Cab only about $8 to Chinatown. Nice experience there. Hotel gym very nice and clean. Headphones provided for guests there. Nice machines with tv's on every elliptical/stepper. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You would be most comfortable in sneakers for walking although cabs were not very expensive at all. Dining very good at Mccormick & Schmick's close by and in Chinatown (sushi restaurants).

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York City
Mar 28, 2010

Great, elegant, high class hotel

excellent service, superb staff, luxurious at a great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

all museums in the Mall

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Minda Ur Ownbizness
Brooklyn
Jan 19, 2010

Good Hotel

I didnt get the best room so the room could have been a bit better but beyond that it has a great location (This hotel is minutes away from the whitehouse, capital building, national mall, dupont circle...), immaculate and friendly service. Best compliment that I can give is that I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Hudson Valley NY
Dec 29, 2009

Pretty nice

Friendly staff, a pleasant experience. The marble tiled bathroom looked like it was out of "the Great Gatsby". YMMV of course... Comfortable bed. No complaints. Restaurant and bar kind of pricey, but then again its Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
RI
Oct 27, 2009

Very nice hotel

The hotel was very nice and the brunch was delicious. The metro stop was just at the end of the block which was very convenient for getting back and forth to my meetings and sight-seeing. The beds were clean and comfortable, although the chairs in the room were a little stained and worn out. The water pressure was also a little lacking (for the shower and toilet), but that may have been because we were on the top floor. Overall, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
miami beach
Oct 26, 2009

Loved our stay

it is an amazing location and such a beautiful hotel. the rooms are not huge, but very nice, comfortable bed and overall lovely. the staff were great too - check in and check out were a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top