$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

4 stars
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
186 reviews
Fourth of July

We were in town for the nationals game and the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel was in a prefect... See full review

  • Pbales
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect Location

The Mayflower was perfectly situated for everything we wanted to do and see in DC. See full review

  • Former Teacher Traveler
  • Jun 30, 2014
Neoclassical splendor in refined capital setting

The prestigious Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel began as the setting for the Presidential Inaugural Ball for Calvin Coolidge upon opening in 1925. The smart neoclassical building matches the quality of the lavishly appointed interior, complete with plush furnishings, chandeliers and murals by New Deal era artist Edward Laning. Renovated in 2011, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel now boasts a retail emporium including upscale English clothing boutique Thomas Pink and a choice of venues for dining or sipping an elegant martini.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Proud member of Historic Hotels of America
  • Top location close to the White House
  • Excellent dining, retail and meeting facilities
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel Rooms

Within the Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel are 650 guest accommodations, of which there are 74 suites. Smart and stylish, these elegant rooms have high ceilings and Italian marble bathrooms. Some come with their own marble foyers. Gorgeous and comfortable signature bedding is a feature of all the rooms, with pillow top mattresses and high thread-count triple sheets gracing the beds topped with white duvets. All bathrooms include luxury toiletries, bathrobes and shaving mirrors with massaging showerheads. The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel adds some lovely complimentary touches, such as daily newspaper (delivered to door), fully stocked minibars and good quality desks and armchairs in each room. For a fee, customers may choose one of the upgraded club level rooms, which include complimentary high-speed Internet access (available in other rooms but fees apply). The supremely comfortable club level rooms also include a delicious complimentary breakfast, as well as other treats such as complimentary evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and snacks. A wealth of other facilities are available to guests, including laundry services, complimentary use of a nearby fitness center, concierge and baby-sitting services, and valet parking (fees may apply). The hotel also has an in-house fitness center with yoga area as well as deluxe retail outlets. Small pets are allowed (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • White House (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Mall (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • United States Capitol Buildings (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • In-room wireless Internet (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9045 -77.0394
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.70, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.90, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

EDGAR Bar & Kitchen
EDGAR Bar and Kitchen boldly captures the flavors of a traditional American brasserie with modern flare using fresh and local ingredients. This Connecticut Avenue restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globalann
Hampton, Virginia
Nov 24, 2012

Thanksgiving idyll

We had a supremely agreeable two-night stay at this conveniently located hotel in Washington while visiting family for Thanksgiving. We walked easily to any typ e of coffee shop or restaurant, to the metro, to several of our favorite stores and landmarks, and the metro took us speedily to others. Service was very good. Parking could have been costly, but not on the holiday. Only downside--internet access in the room was not free, but this was a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Nando's, a Muzambique-Portuguese restaurant a few blocks up Connecticut Avenue.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grad2
PSL Florida
May 23, 2011

Mayflower

Wow this hotel had it all, a little on the pricey side for guest parking. Very very clean, they had staff on hand all of the time they were moe than helpful. This was really out of my class for horel stays. Im used to the buget hotels, this place really was luxurious! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel was nice but they had a great breakfast buffet for about 25 dollars.

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston illinois
May 22, 2011

Elegant but a bit tired

I only stayed one night. Checked in at midnight and out at 11 am. But the banana bread was so nice at checkin. The bed was comfortable. The night checkin person was really sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To all monuments and white house

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston illinois
May 22, 2011

Elegant but a bit tired

I only stayed one night. Checked in at midnight and out at 11 am. But the banana bread was so nice at checkin. The bed was comfortable. The night checkin person was really sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To all monuments and white house

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Good location, beautiful hotel

The hotel is within walking distance to the White House, but we took the Metro for all our other sight-seeing trips (Smithsonian, memorials, Congress, etc.). There are 2 Metro stations convenient to the hotel. All 4 of us stayed in one room, the double beds were a little cramped but comfortable. The hotel is beautifully maintained, with a friendly and helpful staff. My only complaint was that our room on the 3rd floor was directly over the Metro station, so we heard the train rumbling by every few minutes, starting early in the morning and ending around midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Good location, beautiful hotel

The hotel is within walking distance to the White House, but we took the Metro for all our other sight-seeing trips (Smithsonian, memorials, Congress, etc.). There are 2 Metro stations convenient to the hotel. All 4 of us stayed in one room, the double beds were a little cramped but comfortable. The hotel is beautifully maintained, with a friendly and helpful staff. My only complaint was that our room on the 3rd floor was directly over the Metro station, so we heard the train rumbling by every few minutes, starting early in the morning and ending around midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
funnybunny
VA
Apr 23, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel had excellent friendly staff and very clean rooms. I was dissapointed that there was nothing for kids to do hardly any restaurants around, very little choices from the menus in the hotel,u didnt get much food for what you paid. The best part is the breakfast buffet now that is awesome good thing we got that free with the price because it came out to 95.00 for two adults and 3 small children!! Beds were small but comfy,There was no pool, lets just say that there was too much hype but not enuff to back it up, so no i would spend the high amount for that four star hotel again, unless someone else is paying and we bring our own food or snacks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
funnybunny
VA
Apr 23, 2011

Good and bad

The hotel had excellent friendly staff and very clean rooms. I was dissapointed that there was nothing for kids to do hardly any restaurants around, very little choices from the menus in the hotel,u didnt get much food for what you paid. The best part is the breakfast buffet now that is awesome good thing we got that free with the price because it came out to 95.00 for two adults and 3 small children!! Beds were small but comfy,There was no pool, lets just say that there was too much hype but not enuff to back it up, so no i would spend the high amount for that four star hotel again, unless someone else is paying and we bring our own food or snacks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington , DC
Apr 11, 2011

DC Trip

Great location and excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington , DC
Apr 11, 2011

DC Trip

Great location and excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Mar 28, 2011

Very Nice

Very nice hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Fitness room looked brand new. Dinner at Cafe Promenade was excellent. Happy hour drinks and snacks were great. Conveniently located. It was a very nice experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Did not use hotel valet which charges over $40/day but followed them to the parking garage and parked ourselves with a cost of only $20/day. Did not need the car the 3 days we were in DC. Walked, used metro or taxi.

Back to menu Return to top