$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

4 stars
415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
435 reviews
It's a great little hotel

I must say I really enjoyed my stay. I have no complaints. The staff during check in was extremely... See full review

  • Lilchristy16
  • Jul 7, 2014
Perfect sister retreat

My sister and I enjoyed the hotel. It was awesome. The pool on the roof was awesome, the staff was... See full review

  • Daisy Jade
  • Jul 3, 2014
Newly Redesigned Chic décor and Southern comfort at Capitol Hill hotel with rooftop pool

This trendy, chic hotel on Capitol Hill was redesigned in February 2012, is close to Union Station shops and restaurants, and is within walking distance of the National Mall. A monochromatic design scheme throughout the hotel consists of shades of black, white, and grey and provides a contemporary backdrop for the featured art of Randy Slack. The award-winning in-house restaurant, Art and Soul, is owned by celebrity chef and two-time James Beard award-winner Art Smith, and serves modern, regional food with Southern accents. Guests can enjoy a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool where sophisticated travelers can lounge in an urban chic setting.  Free Wi-Fi is available in the hotel lobby.

Highlights
    • Brand new guestrooms featuring sleek, comfortable furniture and workspace
    • Two blocks from Union Station's shops and restaurants
    • Seasonal rooftop pool and lounge
    • Affinia Experience Kits for guests to borrow including a Yoga Kit and a Walking Tour Kit
    Location

    The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel is the closest hotel to the Capitol Building, about two blocks from Union Station, and within walking distance of the Smithsonian and the National Mall

    Rooms

    Redesigned guestrooms have modern lighting and furniture, signature Affinia mattresses, iHome docks, LCD televisions, and connections for gaming devices, digital video and sound devices. Choose from Affinia's six-choice Dream Pillow Menu including a magnetic therapy pillow and a Swedish memory foam pillow. Affinia hotels offer special relaxation services including in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and Experience Kits that feature walking tours of D.C. and exercise equipment.

    Features

    Guests can enjoy a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool where sophisticated travelers can lounge in a chic, urban setting, or work out in a recently renovated fitness center updated with hardwood floors and Technogym equipment.  In-house restaurant, Art and Soul, is owned by two-time James Beard award-winning celebrity chef Art Smith and serves modern, regional cuisine with Southern accents.  Art and Soul also features a seasonal outdoor patio and fire pit. In-room spa services are available through SPAffinia.  Jet Set Pets program features services and amenities for pets (fees apply, call for details).  Valet parking is available at $48/pday.

    Transportation
    • Union Station Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
    • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.7 km)
    • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 40 km)
    • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
    Attractions
    • Union Station (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
    • United States Capitol (0.3 mi/ 0.6 km)
    • The National Mall (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
    • Smithsonian Institution (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
    • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
    • The White House (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
    • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.2 km)
    • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.4 km)
    Business
    • 24-hours business center
    • Spacious contemporary workspace in guestrooms
    • High-speed and wireless internet available (fees apply)
    • 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space

    Hotel Map

    38.8955 -77.0107
    Nearby airports
    Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.27, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.94, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.21, MI, SW;
    Area description
    City Center

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

    The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel Rooms

    Two Queen Premium Deluxe Guestro
    DLX GSTRM WITH TWO QUEEN BEDS-WORK SPACE-WRLS OR HIGH SPEED INTERNET-UPGRADED AMENITIES
    Two Queens Deluxe Guestroom - Ac
    Newly redesigned room featuring Affinia Bed-six-choice pillow menu-Gilchrist and Soames.
    One King Deluxe Guestroom
    DLX GSTRM WITH KING BED-WORK SPACE-WIRELESS OR HIGH SPEED INTERNET-IHOME DOCK AND 37IN HDTV
    Two Queens Deluxe Guestroom
    REDESIGNED DLX QUEEN ROOMS ARE 300 SQ FT WITH A SLEEk COMFORTABLE MONOCHROMATIC DESIGN
    ONE KING CORNER SUITE
    REDESIGNED CORNER SUITES ARE 748 SQ FT WITH A SLEEK COMFORTABLE MONOCHROMATIC DESIGN
    One King Deluxe Guestroom - Acce
    Newly redesigned room featuring Affinia Bed-six-choice pillow menu.
    One King Superior
    SUPERIOR GSTRM WITH KING BED-WIRELESS OR HIGH SPEED INTERNET-WORK SPACE-IHOME-AND 37IN HDTV
    One King Premium Deluxe Guestroo
    DLX GSTRM WITH KING BED-WORK SPACE-WIRELESS OR HIGH SPEED INTERNET-UPGRADED AMENITIES

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    Air conditioned
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    24 hour security
    FEMA approved
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Continental breakfast
    Restaurant
    Coffee maker in room
    Room service
    Family plan
    Services
    24 hour front desk
    Business center
    Maid service
    Laundry service
    Express checkout
    Concierge desk
    ATM/Cash machine
    Security
    Wake-up service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Porters
    FAX
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Copy service
    Audio visual equipment
    Conference suite
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Indoor parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible rooms
    Accessible parking
    Room
    Television with cable
    Radio
    Safe
    Phone with speaker
    Telephone
    AM/FM alarm clock
    Desk with lamp
    Hairdryer in room
    Outlet adapters
    Turndown service
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Electronic door locks
    Iron
    Ironing board
    Sprinklers in rooms
    Trouser press

    Nearby points of interest

    • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Union Station: 0.3 mi
    • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
    • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
    • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
    • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
    • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
    • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
    • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
    • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Newseum: 0.5 mi
    • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
    • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
    • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
    • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Union Station: 0.3 mi
    • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
    • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
    • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
    • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
    • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
    • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
    • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
    • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Newseum: 0.5 mi
    • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
    • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
    • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
    • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
    • Library of Congress: 0.6 mi
    • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
    • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
    • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
    • National Archives: 0.7 mi
    • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
    • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
    • National Mall: 0.7 mi
    • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
    • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
    • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
    • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
    • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
    • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
    • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
    • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
    • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
    • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
    • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
    • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
    • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
    • Ripley Center: 1 mi
    • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
    • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
    • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
    • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
    • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
    • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

    Dining

    Bistro Bis
    Nearby - Fine French bistro food in a sleek upscale environment with mezzanine level to people watch.
    Art and Soul
    Art and Soul - With celebrated two-time James Beard-Award winning Chef Art Smith as chef/owner this 221-seat dining destination serves modern regional cuisine with southern accents.
    Capitol City Brewery
    Nearby - Lively restaurant/bar offering a wide selection of microbrews outdoor dining/seasonal.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (435)

    Ratings and reviews for The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    5.01.0
    435 out of 435
    Amenities:
    3.9
    Room cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4

    89% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Chox
    Washington
    Mar 30, 2013

    Wonderful Washington

    Brilliant location. Front of house staff helpful, reception staff lacked interest or knowledge. Superb bed & facilities. Would love to return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Use public transport for transferring from airport, inexpensive & fast. Hotel only 2 blocks from union station

    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Satisfied traveller Laura
    Palmdale, CA
    Mar 29, 2013

    Can walk to everything

    Very conveniently located, 2 blocks from Union Station where there's lots of shopping and places to eat, can walk to Capitol Hill and many of the monuments and museums. Can book many tours right from the hotel and pick up and drop off at the hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

    Book tours from hotel. Will pick up and drop at hotel.

    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Diane Koko
    Yorktown, Virginia
    Mar 26, 2013

    Clean, Comfortable, and Modern

    This was my second visit to the Liaison. The hotel was just as beautiful, clean, and comfortable as my first trip. The beds are by far some of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever experienced. The staff is helpful and welcoming. The hotel is located in a great part of town, making other destinations easy to get to. I'll definitely be staying here the next time I travel to DC.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    GaiaNicole
    Maryland
    Mar 26, 2013

    Beauty of a city and all the noise to go with it

    My only complaint is the excessive noise that starts earlier then I can recall and the inability of the staff to be considerate. Housekeeping allowed the doors of the rooms next to and across from us slam. They yelled down the hall. The Maintanence was loud carrying and rolling things down the hallways. I needed a late checkout after being waken up several times the morning of my checkout and I was not accommodated. Other then that nightmare I have to say the hotel is exceptionally clean, beautiful and Modern. Other staff were super friendly. Close to the capital if your a runner and want to enjoy the memorials and landmarkes of dc. Downtown is 5 min away if your into great restaurants and night life. Everywhere you want to be in dc is only 10-15 min away.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Mo from Virginia
    Richmond, VA
    Feb 17, 2013

    Comfortable but loud

    I really liked my room and especially the bathroom and shower. The staff I spoke to were very kind. I liked the way the thermostat responded immediately and the bed was super comfortable. However (and this could be because my room was so close to the elevator), the hallway was very loud all night and I swear I could hear every tiny noise from above and to either side of me. I am a heavy sleeper, but I woke up all night, and since I wasn't feeling well, I had a pretty terrible night. There were people shouting in the hallway and playing loud music until 5 a.m. I did call the desk at 4:30 and ask if the people next door could be asked to keep the noise down but it was half an hour before the noise seemed to abate. If this hotel were more sound-proof or I had stayed there on a weeknight, I would have probably enjoye it just fine.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Must walk to Chinatown for nearest dining that is affordable--everything in immediate vicinity is $$$$.

    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Monzeeki
    NYC
    Jan 28, 2013

    Great stay for a cultural getaway.

    Was a short stay but was great. Clean, modern furnished rooms. Fantastic location for the cultural visit being so close to all the museums and sites. Little sad the bar/restaurant was closed being renovated, but look fwd to checking out next time we visit.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    It seems like a quiet area lot of the dining options were closed on the weekend, you just have to walk a few blocks and then you are surrounded by a lot of options and busier streets.

    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    PJF027
    Torrance, Ca
    Jan 27, 2013

    One big time glitch

    Everything was great - until we returned to the hotel after a long, long day and found that the only restaurant - Art and Soul - was closed for remodeling. We received absolutely no notice. And, we were looking forward to a relaxing dinner and breakfast without braving the cold and snow before we left town. Instead, we were required to room service burgers (more than $70) for dinner and oatmeal and coffee (about $50) for breakfast. And, there was no real table in the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    jslampe
    Business
    Des Moines, IA
    Jan 17, 2013

    Super clean, great location, awesome staff

    I didn't interact much with the hotel, which could be indicative of how clean and business-friendly my hotel room was. Lack of breakfast options and $24 for two days of internet were the only downsides.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    cedaryang2000
    Princeton, NJ
    Jan 9, 2013

    Great Family getaway

    Very convenient to National Mall, Subways, Train stations.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Cee Zee
    Pittsburgh
    Jan 5, 2013

    My stay at the liaison

    The location was perfect! The room was comfy, clean, and beautiful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Entertainment tip: In Hotel

    The fun was downstairs

    Back to menu Return to top