$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

4 stars
415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
273 reviews
Great Birthday Celebration

The hotel staff was magnificent and cordial. This was my daughters first trip to Washington DC and... See full review

  • My Old Girl aka OG
  • Oct 23, 2014
It's a great little hotel

I must say I really enjoyed my stay. I have no complaints. The staff during check in was extremely... See full review

  • Lilchristy16
  • Jul 7, 2014
Newly Redesigned Chic décor and Southern comfort at Capitol Hill hotel with rooftop pool

This trendy, chic hotel on Capitol Hill was redesigned in February 2012, is close to Union Station shops and restaurants, and is within walking distance of the National Mall. A monochromatic design scheme throughout the hotel consists of shades of black, white, and grey and provides a contemporary backdrop for the featured art of Randy Slack. The award-winning in-house restaurant, Art and Soul, is owned by celebrity chef and two-time James Beard award-winner Art Smith, and serves modern, regional food with Southern accents. Guests can enjoy a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool where sophisticated travelers can lounge in an urban chic setting.  Free Wi-Fi is available in the hotel lobby.

Highlights
    • Brand new guestrooms featuring sleek, comfortable furniture and workspace
    • Two blocks from Union Station's shops and restaurants
    • Seasonal rooftop pool and lounge
    • Affinia Experience Kits for guests to borrow including a Yoga Kit and a Walking Tour Kit
    Location

    The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel is the closest hotel to the Capitol Building, about two blocks from Union Station, and within walking distance of the Smithsonian and the National Mall

    Rooms

    Redesigned guestrooms have modern lighting and furniture, signature Affinia mattresses, iHome docks, LCD televisions, and connections for gaming devices, digital video and sound devices. Choose from Affinia's six-choice Dream Pillow Menu including a magnetic therapy pillow and a Swedish memory foam pillow. Affinia hotels offer special relaxation services including in-room spa treatments (fees apply) and Experience Kits that feature walking tours of D.C. and exercise equipment.

    Features

    Guests can enjoy a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool where sophisticated travelers can lounge in a chic, urban setting, or work out in a recently renovated fitness center updated with hardwood floors and Technogym equipment.  In-house restaurant, Art and Soul, is owned by two-time James Beard award-winning celebrity chef Art Smith and serves modern, regional cuisine with Southern accents.  Art and Soul also features a seasonal outdoor patio and fire pit. In-room spa services are available through SPAffinia.  Jet Set Pets program features services and amenities for pets (fees apply, call for details).  Valet parking is available at $48/pday.

    Transportation
    • Union Station Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
    • Regan National Airport (3.6 mi/ 5.7 km)
    • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 40 km)
    • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
    Attractions
    • Union Station (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
    • United States Capitol (0.3 mi/ 0.6 km)
    • The National Mall (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
    • Smithsonian Institution (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
    • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
    • The White House (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
    • Dupont Circle (1.9 mi/ 3.2 km)
    • Georgetown (2.7 mi/ 4.4 km)
    Business
    • 24-hours business center
    • Spacious contemporary workspace in guestrooms
    • High-speed and wireless internet available (fees apply)
    • 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space

    Hotel Map

    38.8955 -77.0107
    Nearby airports
    Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.30, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.94, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 30.70, MI, SW; Metropolitan Area, (WAS), 0.00, MI, N;
    Area description
    City Center

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

    The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel Rooms

    Two Queen Premium Deluxe Guestro
    Premium Deluxe Guestroom-2 Queens-City View- WiFi-Premium Amenities-Large Desk-LCDTV-300SqFt
    Two Queens Deluxe Accessible Roo
    Deluxe Accessible Guestroom-2 Queens-City View -ADA Compliant-Roll In Shower-WiFi-300 SqFt
    One King Deluxe Guestroom
    Deluxe Guestroom-1 King Bed-City View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Large Desk-Ergo Chair-Sofa-Safe-300 SqFt
    Two Queens Deluxe Guestroom
    Deluxe Guestroom-2 Queens-City View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Large Desk-Ergo Chair-Sofa-Safe-300 SqFt
    One King Corner Suite
    Corner Suite-1 King-City View-Sofa Bed-2 Bath- WiFi-LCDTV-Sep Bath Shower-Large Desk-700 SqFt
    One King Deluxe Accessible Room
    Deluxe Accessible Guestroom-1 King-City View- ADA Compliant-Roll In Shower-WiFi-300 SqFt
    One King Superior Room
    Superior Room-1 King Bed-City View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Large Desk-Ergo Chair-Sofa-Safe-364 SqFt
    One King Premium Deluxe Guestroo
    Premium Deluxe Guestroom-1 King-City View-WiFi- Premium Amenities-Large Desk-LCDTV-300 SqFt

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Heated pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    Air conditioned
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    FEMA approved
    Activities
    Heated pool
    Fitness Center
    Jogging track
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Continental breakfast
    Restaurant
    Coffee maker in room
    Room service
    Family plan
    Services
    24 hour front desk
    Business center
    Maid service
    Laundry service
    Guest laundromat
    Express checkout
    Concierge desk
    ATM/Cash machine
    Security
    Wake-up service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Porters
    FAX
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Copy service
    Audio visual equipment
    Conference suite
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Indoor parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible rooms
    Accessible parking
    Grab bars in bathroom
    Room
    Television with cable
    Radio
    Safe
    Phone with speaker
    Telephone
    AM/FM alarm clock
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Hairdryer in room
    Outlet adapters
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Sitting area
    Temperature control
    Electronic door locks
    Iron
    Ironing board
    International direct dial
    Smoke detectors
    Sprinklers in rooms
    Bath tub
    Trouser press

    Nearby points of interest

    • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Union Station: 0.3 mi
    • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
    • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
    • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
    • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
    • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
    • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
    • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
    • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Newseum: 0.5 mi
    • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
    • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
    • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
    • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Union Station: 0.3 mi
    • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
    • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
    • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
    • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
    • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
    • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
    • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
    • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Newseum: 0.5 mi
    • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
    • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
    • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
    • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
    • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
    • Library of Congress: 0.6 mi
    • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
    • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
    • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
    • National Archives: 0.7 mi
    • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
    • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
    • National Mall: 0.7 mi
    • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
    • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
    • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
    • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
    • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
    • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
    • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
    • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
    • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
    • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
    • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
    • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
    • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
    • Ripley Center: 1 mi
    • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
    • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
    • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
    • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
    • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
    • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

    Dining

    Bistro Bis
    Nearby - Fine French bistro food in a sleek upscale environment with mezzanine level to people watch.
    Art and Soul
    Art and Souls cuisine reflects a devotion to quality and responsibility made dishes made possible by partnerships with like-minded farmers - artisans and growers who provide products that are sustainably sourced whenever possible.
    Capitol City Brewery
    Nearby - Lively restaurant/bar offering a wide selection of microbrews outdoor dining/seasonal.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (273)

    Ratings and reviews for The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    5.01.0
    273 out of 273
    Amenities:
    3.9
    Room cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4

    89% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    newport news,va
    May 26, 2009

    ahhhhhhhhh

    This locations is nice.. close to the all the museums.... check in was a little crazy, we didn't know that we had to pay a extra 50$$ just to park in the hotel and the staff was unfriendly.. the room was nice very clean and comfortable. I don't know if i would go back..

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    chicago
    May 25, 2009

    nice hotel

    I had a few problems, a coffee pot in your room is not standard you have to ask for one. So I did at the front desk. She asked if I wanted regular or decaf and said she would get it to the room right away. It got there that evening but with no coffee. I got some from the maid the next day.The maid never brought new coffee or cups when she cleaned the room each day. It was a one cup coffee maker. The toilet seat was broken. It took three requests and two days to get it fixed. They charge for use of the computer in the business center. It is free for printing your boarding passes, but when I tried it would not print. she was good enough at the front desk to print my boarding pass for me. The pool closes at 10pm. when we took our grandaughter to the pool at 9:45 pm for a quick swim before bedtime they said that the pool was closed. We called the front desk to complain with no good results. It was a very nice hotel in a great location but too many little things went wrong to make for a bad experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Use the metro trains to get around. The Circulator bus is only one dollar. It can take you to places that the metro doesnt go to.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Staatsburg, NY
    May 5, 2009

    Great Hotel

    Hotel was in a great location. A five minute walk from the train station. The Capitol Building was at the end of the street and quite beautiful at night. Overall a great place to stay. Restaurant and bar were on the expensive side, but we were able to walk to other restaurants/bars.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Hampton, NH
    May 5, 2009

    Nice location

    Great location right by Capitol building, museums and Metro. Very helpful staff ( printed travel directions etc) and the pillowtops beds were fantastic. Very clean and well updated older hotel. They have done a lot to make this place modern. Smallish but still very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. The biggest problem is that it was very noisey with fire station next door!!!!!Trucks and sirens going of during the night. Maybe the rooms away from the street are quieter.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Sunday brunch at the hotel is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    21st
    Business
    Philadelphia, PA
    May 4, 2009

    Wonderful 21st bday location

    I havent been to many hotels best Im sure this is one of the best out there for a good price. Everything from the time you step foot into the lobby is beautiful. And from the outside you get a great view of the capital. I loved it!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    New York, NY
    Apr 25, 2009

    Very Comfortable Hotel

    Sightseeing

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Across the street and one block away, a great place for breakfast or burgers.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Duquesne
    Business
    Massachusetts
    Apr 22, 2009

    Cherry blossoms in DC

    Excellent location for sites between the Capitol and the WWII memorial. Spy Museum and Newseum within walking distance. Slightly longer walk to Jefferson and FDR Memorials. Excellent access to Union Station.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Flowery Branch, GA
    Apr 22, 2009

    Great Spring Break Trip

    Great hotel! Everyone was very helpful. Great location. About 3 blocks to Union Station and 2 block from the Capital. Just wish there was more places to eat near the hotel. There is a resturant in the hotel but a little pricey so we didn't eat there. There is a Starbucks across the street. Just so you know you do have to pay to park(Valet) it's $49.95 a day. But well worth the price just because there is NO WHERE to park in D.C. none!! Take the Metro everywhere it's the best way to get around the city and it's expensive. We were there for 4 days and each person started with $10 and we left with $3 still on each card and we used the metro a lot.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is a lot of places to eat in Union Station. Don't eat at the museums there are too expensive. Check out the street vendors!!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Baldwin, New York
    Apr 22, 2009

    Great location for trip to DC

    We took the family (all 11 of us) to Washington DC to see the sights. The hotel is right by the Capitol so the walk was less than 10 minutes to that site. Union Station is about 2 blocks away. The downside of this hotel is meals are expensive so we couldn't afford room service or breakfast. We had to use the Starbucks across the street. We did have Easter dinner there which was nice. The rooms are tight but the beds were comfortable. There was a strange smell to the rooms but I couldn't tell you what it was. Overall, I was happy with our accomodations.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Dubliner is around the corner and it was good food so I would recommend going there.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Janet..
    Business
    Long Island, NY
    Apr 22, 2009

    Nice hotel in ok area....

    STAFF: very nice..with one exception.. 1..arrived early and was checked in happily& immediately with no problem.. 2..with exception of one nasty who I wish I had gotten her name....son's key was somehow de-activated and got another at desk..next day happened again and Miss Nasty made remark of why does this keep happening??!!!! he tried to say maybe the security of museums where items go under x-ray but she didnt want to hear....she was the only BAD point we had... _ROOMS..Very comfortable beds with down pillows and comforters...no noise heard outside and able to adjust temperature with no problems.. only problem was a blob of hair at base of tub..UGH...but was gone next day after cleaning... ELEVATOR... sooooo slow...we walked down all the time instead of waiting... PARKING...wow sooo expensive but found place around corner for a total of $38. for 3 days!!!!.. AREA....hmmmm what can I complain about, you pay for the area you are in....wouldnt walk around too slow at nite and didnt want to hang outside at all..but had no problems , just be aware...2 blocks away from Union Station , so eating was available there... all in all this was a very nice hotel with old rough edges peeking out from renovation....but I would probably consider staying here again as long as I get my great price online travel service.. PS....Beware..food at the liquor store at corner is UGH!!! WORST egg sandwich we all ever had...all of us threw it out ,booze OK !!, Food NO!! so walk around block to Union Station....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Union Station to tour buses so save your feet to get to WHite House area...also go to The Old Post Office for great view instead of standing in long lines at Tower..

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top