$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

4 stars
415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
277 reviews
peaceful and clean

Enjoyable quiet practical and professional and well groomed staff See full review

  • Westmoreland
  • Nov 18, 2014
Wonderful surprise

The room, the environment, the staff, the restaurant were excellent. Combined with the convenient... See full review

  • HistoryNatureTraveler
  • Nov 15, 2014
Just steps from Union Station and the US Capitol - this 343-room hotel includes a sophisticated lobby - Art and Soul - our chef-driven destination restaurant and an exclusive seasonal rooftop pool. Guest rooms exude a contemporary residential inspired comfort with modern lighting sleek and stylish furnishings and the custom Affinia bed. At our Washington DC hotel - business meetings and corporate events are executed seamlessly. We are proud to offer premier business services and 7 freshly renovated meeting rooms in Capitol Hill - boasting 17000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor space - state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment technology with technical support - natural lighting and customized meeting packages available for up to 800 guests. Catering is available from award-winning celebrity chef Art Smith and his restaurant - Art and Soul.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel Rooms

Two Queen Premium Deluxe Guestro
Premium Deluxe Guestroom-2 Queens-City View- WiFi-Premium Amenities-Large Desk-LCDTV-300SqFt
Two Queens Deluxe Accessible Roo
Deluxe Accessible Guestroom-2 Queens-City View -ADA Compliant-Roll In Shower-WiFi-300 SqFt
One King Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe Guestroom-1 King Bed-City View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Large Desk-Ergo Chair-Sofa-Safe-300 SqFt
Two Queens Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe Guestroom-2 Queens-City View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Large Desk-Ergo Chair-Sofa-Safe-300 SqFt
One King Corner Suite
Corner Suite-1 King-City View-Sofa Bed-2 Bath- WiFi-LCDTV-Sep Bath Shower-Large Desk-700 SqFt
One King Deluxe Accessible Room
Deluxe Accessible Guestroom-1 King-City View- ADA Compliant-Roll In Shower-WiFi-300 SqFt
One King Superior Room
Superior Room-1 King Bed-City View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Large Desk-Ergo Chair-Sofa-Safe-364 SqFt
One King Premium Deluxe Guestroo
Premium Deluxe Guestroom-1 King-City View-WiFi- Premium Amenities-Large Desk-LCDTV-300 SqFt

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Bis
Nearby - Fine French bistro food in a sleek upscale environment with mezzanine level to people watch.
Art and Soul
Art and Souls cuisine reflects a devotion to quality and responsibility made dishes made possible by partnerships with like-minded farmers - artisans and growers who provide products that are sustainably sourced whenever possible.
Capitol City Brewery
Nearby - Lively restaurant/bar offering a wide selection of microbrews outdoor dining/seasonal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Getaway
Maryland
Feb 2, 2014

Weekend getaway

Very nice hotel. Room was clean and the staff was great. The location was also a plus as everything is in walking distance. I do wish the rooms were equipped with refrigerators though. I will definitely stay in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to try Art and Soul restaurant. The food is superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Westmoreland
Business
new york
Nov 18, 2014

peaceful and clean

Enjoyable quiet practical and professional and well groomed staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HistoryNatureTraveler
Business
Hartford, CT
Nov 15, 2014

Wonderful surprise

The room, the environment, the staff, the restaurant were excellent. Combined with the convenient location these qualities contribute to the outstanding rating for the hotel. We had a wonderful surprise staying at this beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
txreview
Business
Austin
Nov 9, 2014

Great location and hotel in Capitol Hill

Enjoyed it very much. Hotel front desk was super and placed me in room away from noise of the hotel upgrading their parking area. Also, due to the noise inconvenience, the hotel gave guests free internet during heir stay. Great PR! it is almost finished, so hang in there. Only a slight minus is needing to move the coffee and water to another area, since it takes to much room with limited vanity space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants within walking of every kind within blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Old Girl aka OG
Business
Miami, Florida
Oct 23, 2014

Great Birthday Celebration

The hotel staff was magnificent and cordial. This was my daughters first trip to Washington DC and the hotel was centrally located to everything, transportation, restaurants and historical locations. We couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can't or prefer not to take the short walk access to public transportation and tour buses are right outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter Bon
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 14, 2014

good stay

Had to dial about 10 times before someone at the front desk/house keeping picked up shortly after midnight. VERY LOUD construction noise woke me up from early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
docj
Business
Youngstown, OH, USA
Sep 20, 2014

Great family trip

Met the manager, Reggie. Great guy, friendly and warm. The entire staff great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RachelBT
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 17, 2014

Maybe a three star property. Definitely not four.

I was really disappointed with my stay here. I payed over $300/night for my room, passing over cheaper hotels in the area because I really wanted a nice, luxury experience on my vacation. That was not what I got. I'll start with the positives. The bed was very comfortable, and the rooftop pool is a nice place to go to relax. When I ordered things like moisturizer and cotton balls from housekeeping, they delivered them quickly. The hotel is a very short walk to the Capitol building, and not far from the mall and other attractions. That was about it for the things I liked about this note. When I booked the room, my rate was supposed to include a "city view". When I got to my room, the view from the window was of a concrete roof. When I asked the reception about this, they told me they could not guarantee a city view room and even their "view" rooms just faced other buildings. So why do you advertise a "city view" room then? The main problem I had with this hotel was the bathroom. The bathroom was TINY and old and it smelled TERRIBLE. The sink area was so small, and the toiletries (shampoo, etc) came in pump-style containers that are reused between guests. For over $300/night? I was shocked. As for the smell - I don't know if it was the smell of sewage, or it just hadn't been cleaned properly, or if the construction downstairs had something to do with it, but it really smelled terrible. I asked the reception if I could change rooms my first night due to the smell and they said they were full so it would have to wait until the next day. I asked what time, and they said the couldn't guarantee a time. Their advice was "pack up all your stuff tomorrow morning, leave it in your room, and someone can move it for you". They wanted me to leave all my valuables out of the safe, and grant them permission to move my things while I wasn't there? When I explained I was not comfortable doing that, and felt they needed to help me out with this they gave me two vouchers for a $16 'continental breakfast' of toast, yogurt, and cereal. While I appreciate the gesture, that does not make up for the fact that I paid all this money for a 'luxury' experience and can barely stand to use the bathroom in my hotel room. Finally, I resolved to just try to enjoy my stay, and mention my issues at checkout. When I checked out, I told the lady who helped me about my experience and that I was really disappointed. She proceeded to give me a lecture on how if I wasn't willing to leave my things with the hotel staff to move, there was nothing they could do to help me, and it was really just my issue. I'm talking like a full out lecture for several minutes where I couldn't get a word in edge wise. I repeated again that I was disappointed with my experience, and I wanted her to know, and politely left, not wanting to engage in an argument. I didn't ask for anything when I checked out, but they could have at least comped by early check in fee of $50 on my first day for my experience. I have been fortunate enough to stay at many hotels all over the world, and this was one of the worst experiences I've ever had. I really felt like it was a rip off price wise, and that was not compensated for with the poor customer service. My friends were staying close by at the Holiday Inn Capitol, which I declined to stay at, despite it having half the rate, because I really wanted a "luxury" vacation experience". I can tell you their bathrooms were twice the size, much newer and cleaner (with no smell and two sinks) and the rooms were also larger. I should have just stayed there. Overall, I'm very disappointed with my stay at the Liaison and I would not recommend it to anyone I know. Save your money, stay somewhere cheaper, and get a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take Ubers everywhere. They're all over the city, and faster than walking, and cheaper than cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2014

Beautiful rooms, great location

The rooms here were elegant and you couldn't really ask for a better location. It is within walking distance of the Capitol and most of the Smithsonian museums. It was under construction while we were there so there was a lot of noise and it was not as easy to get in and out. The biggest reason I would not come again is the price. Besides the room rates, it is $50 a night for parking and they charge for wifi, although they comped ours since we were on the construction side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

West Wing Cafe is across the street and has good, inexpensive meals as well as food to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faith Moves
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 8, 2014

Great Getaway

I spent 4 nights here, and it was perfect for a single person getaway. It is close to the Metro to get around the city and the rooftop pool, bar, and restaurant were all amazing. The bathrooms are tiny and you don't really have much of a view, but all the other amenities make up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill an Affinia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilchristy16
Business
New York City
Jul 7, 2014

It's a great little hotel

I must say I really enjoyed my stay. I have no complaints. The staff during check in was extremely friendly. The location is perfect, especially if you're arriving from Union Station. The room was clean. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They opened a Shake Shack in Union Station. Food is great & so is the service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top