$325 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

5 stars
View map of 1200 16th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
16 reviews
Luxury Boutique Hotel With Amazing Service

We just returned from a two-night stay in a Deluxe King with bathtub at The Jefferson in May 2015.... See full review

  • Cynthia T.
  • May 26, 2015
Excellent Stay in DC

Great hotel at a great location. Would most definitely come and stay here again for our next visit. See full review

  • WinH
  • Apr 16, 2015
Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear - intricately thought-out design; twenty-three elegantly appointed suites; the most modern amenities, including a petite spa; experiential dining in the award-winning Plume and Quill; and, of course, exceptional personalized service. Since its re-opening from a top-to-bottom historic restoration, the hotel has been regularly heralded by leading travel authorities and experts including Travel + Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler, Robb Report and many more. Visitors to The Jefferson enjoy a sophisticated European ambiance with the residential intimacy of a private home, as well as amenities that are strikingly modern in their technologies and comfort. Guests also enjoy numerous on-site amenities, including complimentary Wi-Fi, a Monticello-inspired book room, and a fully-equipped fitness center. The hotel has an ideal location, just four blocks from the White House and within a short walk of the Smithsonian museums, national monuments and the city's many embassies. Dining options include Plume, the city's only Forbes five star-rated restaurant, and Quill, a craft cocktail destination. The hotel features versatile meeting and private events space, including a private board room, bar and wine cellar. The elegant ambiance of The Jefferson's hotel rooms and suites evokes the hotel namesake's cherished years in Paris as well as his time at Monticello. Extraordinary attention to detail conveys the sense that one is staying in a private residence. Here, you might find a book on Monticello on your side table, or perhaps a vintage copy of Goode's Best Addresses. The Petite Spa features express and full treatments inspired by the herbs and botanicals grown on Thomas Jefferson's farms. Evoking a stay at a grand private residence, each guest is personally greeted upon arrival and invited to settle into comfortable chairs facing residential-style desks for check-in. Service that is intuitive, flawless and customized to each guest creates a welcome haven from the bustling world outside, offering a guest experience without parallel at any other Washington, DC hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$315
4.8 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★★
$159
4.0 / 5 144 reviews
★★★★
$168
4.1 / 5 73 reviews
★★★★
$165
4.4 / 5 114 reviews
★★★★★
$197
4.1 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.3 / 5 83 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 145 reviews
★★★★★
$325
4.2 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$99
3.9 / 5 454 reviews

The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC Rooms

Premier King
This hotel room offers a skyline or city view and features one King bed. The Italian marble bathroom features a large walk-in shower, a lighted, magnified makeup mirror and an in mirror television. All hotel room types feature the latest technology for business and entertainment, such as complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local and long distance telephone calls. Found in each room is a large writing desk with data and electrical connections easily accessible within a drawer. Each room is decorated in one of three elegant color schemes
Deluxe King
This is the most luxurious hotel guest room, affording a skyline or city view of Washington, D.C. It features one King bed and an Italian marble bathroom. The bathroom has a large walk-in shower, lighted, magnified makeup mirror and some offer an oversized soaking tub, two sinks and a bathroom window. All hotel room types feature the latest technology for business and entertainment, such as complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local and long distance telephone calls. Found in each room is a large writing desk with data and electrical connections easily accessible within a drawer. Each room is decorated in one of three elegant color schemes
Deluxe Suite
The Deluxe Suite affords city views of Washington DC and a choice of gold or platinum color palettes. The bedroom is furnished with a King bed, while a spacious separate parlor area has a pull-out sofa and small dining table. The Italian marble bathroom features a separate shower and deep soaking tub, two sinks and a window. All suites are furnished with the latest technology for business and entertainment, such as complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local and long distance telephone calls. Found in the parlor of each suite is a large writing desk with data and electrical connections easily accessible within a drawer. Each suite has its own unique dcor inspired by Jefferson's loves, such as wine, music, books and horticulture.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel features versatile meeting and private events space, including a private board room, bar and wine cellar.

Dining

Plume- Fine Dining Restaurant
One of the finest restaurants in the capital, Plume serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the culinary artistry of our Executive Chef as well as an acclaimed wine program.
Quill- Bar and Lounge
Enjoy an expertly-poured drink and fine conversation at Quill, our elegant lounge and cocktail bar, where house-made mixers and herbal-infused alcohols have enlightened the cocktail culture of Washington, D.C. The inspired "mix" of classic concoctions and signature drinks, an acclaimed wine list and a unique collection of specialty spirits provide a true taste of everything Quill has to offer. Steeped in Jeffersonian tradition, Quill's parquet flooring recreates the pattern Jefferson designed for Monticello's main salon. A collection of 18th-century maps on the walls follows Jefferson's journey through the wine regions of France, Germany and Italy. In warmer weather, relax on Quill's outdoor terrace where smoking is permitted.
Greenhouse- Breakfast, Lunch and Afternoon Tea
With a longstanding reputation as the go-to place for Washington, D.C., power dining, the sophisticated ambiance of the Greenhouse creates a perfect backdrop for business meals. The historic setting is also a favorite for gathering among family and friends. The original 1923 skylight creates an informal mood and airy setting for meals that perfectly complement the light, fresh and energizing fare on our menus.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grids
Family
New England
Jul 31, 2013

An Oasis of Comfort in the Middle of DC

I can't speak highly enough about The Jefferson. It's a small, elegant, clean, comfortable, low key hotel right in the heart of DC. It's very quiet and stately, not over the top or trying to be something it's not. Rather, a very old school property with a staff that's clearly focused on the guests, period. Great rooms with comfortable beds, tasteful design, and wonderful, large bathrooms. The entire property is beautiful and clean. The staff were very accommodating for us during this family trip, and catered to any needs we had. Seemed like mostly business travelers, but that's hard to say since I think I saw one other guest during our three days there! It seems to be a destination for tea, drinks and dinner, but again, very high brow and never crowded. I have stayed at world class hotels all over the US and the world, and can't think of many more comfortable and impressive, while maintaining a very simple and low key approach to guest services. Bravo Jefferson...nice job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthia T.
Family
Guttenberg
May 26, 2015

Luxury Boutique Hotel With Amazing Service

We just returned from a two-night stay in a Deluxe King with bathtub at The Jefferson in May 2015. The hotel services and ammenities exceeded my husband's and my expectations and raised our standards for all of our future hotel stays. Our two sons (ages 5 and 3) were immediately sold on The Jefferson upon check-in when the receptionist rolled out the red Radio Flyer wagon of stuffed animals for them to choose a gift. The Jefferson offers a complimentary coffee bar in the morning and (very delicious) iced tea during the day. The complimentary wi-fi signal was a stable 10-15 mbs (download) which easily supported our 4+ devices for internet surfing and video streamining with no lag or interruption. The hotel also provides free sparkling and still water in custom frosted glass bottles. If you stay at The Jefferson, be sure to spend time in the Book Room/Library, which has a collection of books published during Jefferson's lifetime. My favorite section, however, are the newer books inscribed by the authors who have been guests of the hotel. The books may be borrowed by hotel guests during their stay, and I will admit that it is quite a thrill to read books that have passed through the hands of the authors themselves. Location-wise, the hotel is in a quiet area of DC that is near restaurants, shopping and major city sights. Our family felt very safe walking around the area, and in spite of being so close to downtown, we heard absolutely no street noise in our room. Speaking of the room, we were in room 201 (Deluxe King with bath tub) which has a king-sized bed and a large bathroom with a shower and a soaking tub which was so large that my kids thought it was a pool. (Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have bathtubs. If you need/want a tub, call the hotel to request one. Requests can't be guaranteed, but it may help.) Last, but not least, every staff member we met at the hotel was gracious, efficient and friendly. Check-in was swift, but it felt very personal and relaxed. You truly felt like each person's goal was to make you feel special and remembered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WinH
Family
brookline
Apr 16, 2015

Excellent Stay in DC

Great hotel at a great location. Would most definitely come and stay here again for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerTiff
Couples
Arlington
Feb 19, 2015

Awesome Evening

I surprised my boyfriend with a night at the Jefferson and we had a fabulous time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
julie d.
Friends
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect night in DC

We booked this hotel last minute and were very pleased with our decision. Check-in was pleasant and the room was perfect! Simply elegant with a beautiful bathroom and heavenly bed. The highlight was the Piano bar downstairs in the delicious food and spicy margaritas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockett 3284
Couples
Maryland
Aug 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel

Room was very beautiful and comfortable. Bed was very comfy. Very nice clean bathroom. Only issue we had was the AC in the room didn't cool the room enough for us. We like it very cool. Other than that perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marybeth smith
Friends
Maryland
Jul 7, 2014

Trip

Very nice, professional staff, clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natuonsl mall is a easy walk from the hotel

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McMicken
Business
NYC
Jun 23, 2014

Great hotel, beautifully renovated, excellent staff

Terrific hotel in a great location. The well-trained staff were a joy to interact with. The restaurant was excellent. My room was...quirky. It was recently renovated and well-appointed, but the bathroom was oddly huge and the bedroom was so small that when I opened the luggage stand (I'm not going to bother to unpack for one night), I could not sit in the chair! Did someone reverse the blueprints or what? That was the one annoyance in an otherwise perfect stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Traveller2
Business
South America
Apr 29, 2014

Great Boutique Hotel - Small Rooms but great staff!

Generally I loved the hotel -- clean, comfy, and very nice and professional staff. Just what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. The room I was in was very small though -- I couldn't really move around much and the bed seemed too big for the room. Also, if you are a gummy bear fan, the gummies in the in-room bar are very sub-par, so bring your own :) I would definitely stay here again though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Nancy C
Business
Chazy, NY
Apr 27, 2014

Lovely, lovely hotel! Great cuisine & service!

Although we couldn't check into our room because we were too early, when we arrived back at the hotel, our luggage was safely waiting in our room for us! The room was just lovely, and the bed was the best bed I've ever slept in...ever!!! Complimentary bottled water is provided in beautiful glass bottles in the room, free Internet, and chocolates in the evening. Many newspapers are offered for delivery to the room in the morning and hung in a bag on the door. The magazines found in room were extraordinary. The toiletries were very nice, as well as the slippers and bathrobes that were provided. We enjoyed drinks and snacks in the Quill bar, and dinner in the main restaurant provided an excitingly different menu that was truly a series of taste delights! The service throughout the hotel was top notch. Only two small issues: one was the safe in the closet, which is open until you use the safe. When I bent down to put something on the floor in the closet and stood up, I cracked my head on the safe door. Ouch. Also, the TV located in the bathroom mirror didn't seem to work. Regardless, the hotel folks who helped us load our car and waved goodbye was also a nice parting touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jefferson Hotel, Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IA Travelers
Couples
Iowa
Sep 15, 2013

Fantastic DC getaway

The Jefferson hotel is a beautiful, luxurious boutique hotel, with friendly attentive staff. The concierge staff is great - provided excellent recommendations/service. The restaurant and the bar were very good, although dinner at The Plume seems overpriced. Overall, would highly recommend The Jefferson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind walking, the Jefferson hotel is less than 0.5 miles from 3 different metro rail lines (orange, blue, and red metro rail lines). The metro is the cheapest way to get around the city. Also this hotel has free Wi-Fi.

Back to menu Return to top