$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 83
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GW Alumni
Business
Zanesville, OH
Mar 9, 2014

A Gem in the Capitol

The George Washington University Inn as a gem in the heart of the university area. The staff go out of their way to make the visitor feel safe, comfortable and pampered. The front desk staff are especially charming and accommodating. No question is to much for them. The Inn is an older hotel. There were stains on the carpet in my room. But I was very comfortable sleeping on the bed and the temperature of the room was controlled by me. Overall if you are looking for a quite comfortable hotel near the university and other landmarks this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant has very good food. Be sure to check the Kennedy Center schedule. They are very busy during popular events. Great place for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cantabrigian troubadour
Business
Somerville, Massachusetts
Nov 25, 2013

Business and Pleasure Trip

My first trip as an adult to DC, I stayed here for 3 nights while I attending a 3-day conference at the Kennedy Center. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport, being stone's throw to the Metro. The staff was very friendly and helpful each day I was there. The price is totally affordable, but they don't have a gym or a pool or even much of a lobby to hang out in. However, it was clean and my room was great. I actually felt very at home here, in the best way. it's situated on the campus of George Washington Univ, so there are college kids out and about. The houses around the hotel are adorable and colorful, and the whole area seems quaint and charming. There is a Whole Foods right near the hotel as well as handful of restaurants. The wing chair in my room had some greasy spots, but other than that I couldn't complain. I also tried their Italian restaurant, and it was very good. The spinach pappardelle Bolognese with herbed ricotta was delicious, and they had bacon-infused bourbon hot chocolate topped with cayenne Fluff. Yum!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro 5A bus from Dulles to Foggy Bottom stop on the orange line. The bus is only $6, so save yourself some serious money instead of taking a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia pete
Business
Charleston s c
Jun 25, 2013

The perfect d.c. home

This hotel is very well located, quiet and lean and comfortable. Residential area and just off university campus, across from Watergate and more. Have been staying here for years and will continue. Staff has a lot of long timers who recognize you when you return. A nice special touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

DC. Has so much for everyone. You just choose your own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savvy senior
Business
Afton, Va.
Jan 24, 2012

Perfect for my needs!

Needed a location close to the Kennedy Center and affordable. Was very pleased with The George Washington University Inn. Friendly, helpful staff. They even showed me how to find on-street parking so I would not have to pay the daily parking fee! Loved the direct access to Notti Bianchi, a wonderful restaurant. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the Kennedy Center and only half a block to the closest Metro station! Also, I was heading out of town on Rt. 66 within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Murissoca
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2011

good location, clean room, old bathroom.

Good location: The hotel is about 5 minutes from the blue-line metro station, which takes you to the DCA airport and to the National Mall and downtown. The location itself is residential, you need to walk 15 to 10 minutes to find some restaurant options. The room is clean, the air conditioner works fine but the bathroom is very old. To refresh the heat, you can find a great orange cold water in the lobby, very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWU
Business
MO
Dec 6, 2010

very convenient to GWU Med campus

Very convenient to GWU Medical Campus and Foggy Bottom metro stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 2, 2009

Unbeatable location

Easy access from Reagan Airport; good,spacious rooms; nice bath; no minibar; but kitchenette and living area Restaurant and bar operating hours somewhat random; somewhat unfriendly staff:mostly your are left to your own devices to find out what's what and where and how. Unless you visit on a weekend - and not all weekend apply for a discount - expensive, not good quality/price ratio. I was bringing my daughter back to college (G.W.U.) and when I asked for the G.W.U. parent discount, I was quoted $285/night, while the weekend rate for non-parents was $ 169/night!Call it a discount!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2008

Great area

This was my first time staying in the Foggy Bottom area, I was very pleased with the convienence of having Metro, Safeway and CVS within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I arrived before check in and the staff had a room ready for which I was very greatful. The staff was very helpful and pleasant to deal with, the room was great and very clean. I am definitly staying here again and would recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy walk to the Mall and Georgetown area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top