$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
82 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Hotel Map

38.9002 -77.0531
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
George Washington University Inn is located in the historic Foggy Bottom neighborhood in downtown Washington DC, one block away from the metro and approximately 26 miles from Washington Dulles International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 82
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walterwhite
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2013

COZY

This place has great staff! The room was very clean and comfortable, service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tourist1991
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 4, 2013

Modern yet old-fashioned style, walking distance to Nat'l Mall

We were very impressed with the suite we stayed in. Got a good deal and were slightly skeptical, since the price was so good. At first, we were unsure upon arrival of the quality, since they were in the middle of a remodel and relocated their Lobby to a room on the 1st floor (this was not clearly marked...). However, good customer service and one of the sweetest maids who made sure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean, 6th floor view was awesome, walking distance to Metro station, or a 20-minute walk to the White House. Great food options nearby. We saw lots of sights, and were able to check out 45 minutes late (metro construction delayed us, staff was very understanding). I would go back here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salvation999
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Plain stay nothing over the top

Wifi was unreliable and although free, was unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on hop off tour was a nice was to get from attraction to attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Durung
Business
VA
Mar 6, 2011

Very bad hotel

I booked this hotel with no extra parking fee charge,my credit card was charged 33 dollars parking fee.I complained hotel promised I will receve return,don't got anything back after 3 weeks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny ping
Business
New Orleans
Dec 28, 2010

Good trip to DC with comfortable hotel

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, MI
Aug 30, 2010

GW University Inn

The only problem we had was trying to find the hotel! The only sign on the building was a plaque about 24 x 36". We passed it by SEVERAL TIMES! They need a more obvious sign at the street. The entrance is down a little driveway that was near impossible to spot. We expected to see an entrance on the street!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Anti-Tourist
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 14, 2009

Great Location, Great Hotel, Great Value

This served as a great hotel for a weekend in DC. We didn't really do much more than sleep there, but it was a super comfortable bed in a very spacious and amply decorated room that gave it a feel of a much more expensive lodging locale. Its location is to die for (only a block and a half from the Foggy Bottom metro stop on the Orange and Blue Lines, and a very safe and well lit historic neighborhood lined with old town houses and fine dining restaurants), and the $30 valet parking fee was easily offset by ample street parking that was open without limit all weekend, and at the encouragement of the valet nonetheless. Definitely recommended to all. Only drawback was the fact that the bathroom sink faucet was loose and would come off if pulled, but that's very minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Froggy Bottom Pub on Pennsylvania Avenue. Great service, great food, great deal on drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights, *
May 13, 2008

Good location for the price

This hotel was very nice and comfortable. It was very clean. We did not eat at the restaurant because it was not to our tastes. The hotel did have delivery and carry out menus. We ordered from a pizza place and we thoroughly enjoyed our food. I would stay there again. The location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to train and a great Trader joes in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top