$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Hotel Map

38.9002 -77.0531
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
George Washington University Inn is located in the historic Foggy Bottom neighborhood in downtown Washington DC, one block away from the metro and approximately 26 miles from Washington Dulles International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PKCO
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 18, 2014

Perfect place to stay if you are in the GW area.

The hotel was a perfect location for us because we were there visiting friends that were in the GW area. The staff was very helpful, kind and nice. Very close to the foggy bottom station that was convenient. The only thing missing was coffee downstairs. The restaurant connected to the hotel was delicious and convenient. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant attached to the hotel has a wonderful risotto. Very reasonably priced and they stayed open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanya Y
Business
Maryland
Jul 7, 2014

Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some information about renting a wheelchair for our stay, and when I arrived they had a list of service providers ready for me. While staying there, my mother-in-law, who was traveling with us, had a health emergency. The night doorman actually drove her to the hospital. We stayed in a king suite. The room was large and comfortable. The kitchenette was very compact, and the sink seemed a little small to wash a pan in. The bathroom was a little worn, but very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
episa
Business
Toronto canada
Jul 5, 2014

Great value with excellent proximity to Lincoln memorial

Very well placed 3 min walking distance from Subway station Foggy Bottom and 15 mn walking distance from Lincoln Memorial. Great value even if building looks aged. Super nice staff going the extra mile to satisfy customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia pete
Business
Charleston s c
Jul 1, 2014

George washington univ inn

Use this hotel for its location but keep,staying there 2 or 3 times a year because is so good. Staff is lovely and attentive. Rooms are clean and roomy. Always recommend to friends and family when they go to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackdebj
Business
New York
Jan 8, 2014

Pretty awesome!

This hotel is near to the metro, make it easy for tourists to visit around. The condition is very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Billman
Business
West Sand Lake NY USA
Apr 6, 2013

Great location!

This was our second stay at GWU Inn. Staff is great and helpful. Rooms are clean comfortable. The Metro is only a block away and the neighborhood feels really safe. Walking distance to Georgetown and Lincoln Memorial. Whole Foods is two blocks away and is a one stop for marketing, pizza and deli. Krispy Creme on Dupont Circle is always a treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Metro or the Circulator Bus ($1.00) and save your legs for walking downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddnd
Business
Delaware
Oct 17, 2012

very causy in Foggy Bottom

Very friendly staff! Quit and comfortable location. Good beds, big rooms, feeling home in this place!. I come to visit my son, student in GWU, and know all hotels around, this one is very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Georgetown! Great boutique stores!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattle savvy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 4, 2012

perfect hotel for a Quick trip

wow, location, location, location afforded us several good experiences! late afternoon of arrival walk to Lincoln Memorial and Mall gazing, excellent Italian restaurant next door! easy walk or cab ride to Kennedy Center for the opera! fast cab ride to the Freer to see Whistler's Peacock Room and a day of museums. small refer in room helped with easy b'fast and snacks. friendly and helpful staff made our 48 hours near perfect. definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

whole Foods grocery next to Foggy Bottom Metro, also, check out what's happening at the Kennedy Center only four blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC vacationer
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 4, 2012

Nice hotel, convenient location

Our recent 5 night stay at this hotel was very pleasant. They are located only 2 short blocks from Foggy Bottom metro. Plenty of inexpensive restaurants nearby as well as a Whole Foods. The room was clean and quite large. The microwave and fridge were handy. There is also a guest laundry. All in all a very good value, with extremely nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whole Foods store was a handy find. We were able to stock up on fruit, juice and all kinds of breakfast and picnic food. Much healthier and less expensive than the food available on the Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glende
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect for university tours

We took a cab from here and were able to see all the universities we came to visit. The staff took care of our every need including storing our luggage and finding my glasses. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top