$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
furrious in FL
Business
Palm Bay, FL
Jan 3, 2011

This hotel is a nightmare! Stay away!

We decided to go to DC to spend Christmas since my husband had never been there before. The checking at the hotel was uneventful, the problems began once we got to our room. The list of issues with the room is pretty long, but our major concerns were the following: - The hallway in our floor, we were on the 9th, had a strong smell of gas. - The room had no A/C, only heat. Room was stuffy and unbearably hot. We were advised my management to "open the windows" if we wanted cold air. - Fuses inside the fuse box above one of the beds were all rusted which is a fire hazard. - The lamp shocked my husband when he tried to turn it on. - Unknown stains on bathroom ceiling and walls. - Microwave was sitting on the dirty carpet, again, fire hazard. - And my favorite one, a one inch piece of metal stuck in the electrical outlet next to the bed. When we complained to the front desk one guy pretended not speak English until my husband mentioned he would be happy to call the Fire Marshall to make a complaint. We asked for the manager and demanded to have our money refunded so we could change hotels. We were advised the manager was busy and unavailable due to a holiday party and only he could approve our request. It took three hours of me being on the phone with the website that charged my credit card to finally get the charges reversed. I was still charged for one night since we had been there for 2 hours. To finish our lovely evening we were told we had to wait for our cab outside their premises and were kicked out to the curb. Not the way I wanted to begin my vacations and I hope I can spare others the pain of having to deal with these people. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more for a quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Durung
Business
VA
Mar 6, 2011

Very bad hotel

I booked this hotel with no extra parking fee charge,my credit card was charged 33 dollars parking fee.I complained hotel promised I will receve return,don't got anything back after 3 weeks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Privacy Please

The Hotel room that I stayed in had sheer curtains and I could not block out the street lights from outside. This made it hard to fall asleep. Unfortunately the Hotel was sold out and they could not put me in another room. I also didn't like that you had to walk down an alley to get to the hotel entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently Located near stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2009

Happy customer

They did not have the room type I reserved available, so they upgraded me to a suite at no additional cost. The room had a great view, was clean and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gators09
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 25, 2011

Perfect for visiting GW

This hotel was perfect for me because I was interviewing at GW's school of medicine. It was steps away from the medical school and within walking distance to all of DC attractions, from the shops at Georgetown to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit Georgetown cupcakes you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salvation999
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Plain stay nothing over the top

Wifi was unreliable and although free, was unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on hop off tour was a nice was to get from attraction to attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javu
Business
London, England
May 29, 2013

Business Trip

This was a good hotel, not exceptional. Good location and within easy reach of metro station and grocery stores. But i thought it was rather overpriced for what it delivered. There is no proper restaurant at the facility, an italian restaurant that doubles up as serving buffet breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is overpriced for the same daily fare it offers. The dinner menu similarly is overpriced limited and has no range in variety. What I found really annoying was that the reception area was being renovated so check in was located to the first floor. But no staff had the common sense to put a notice at the front door informing arriving guests about this. One guest even went away because he thought the hotel was closed. I pointed this out to the receptionist who stated "yes you are right, we should have put a notice at the front."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javu
Business
London, England
Aug 22, 2013

Convenient Hotel

This hotel is pretty convenient in its location to subway (Foggy Bottom) and grocery stores. I have used it before and will do so again. However I do feel that it is pricey but perhaps understandable because it is DC after all and a lot of things are a rip-off (especially the mannerless taxi drivers) for the visitors. The one point worth mentioning in particular regard to this hotel is the bell staff, who are completely useless. They are good in their disappearing act or when they are around, they look like they would rather see a tip in your hand FIRST, then offer their service. The hotel needs to improve this aspect . Secondly, the breakfast is far too expensive for what is provided. It is uninspiring and remains the same every day. The hotel needs to review this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping for groceries is just a short walk. Wholefoods is a couple of minutes walk. Surprisingly other tourist attractions are within walking distance too as the hotel is a short walk from Pennsylvania Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike502643
Business
Louisville KY
Apr 6, 2014

Great little spot.

A little off the beaten path. Staff was great. Amenities were good. Enjoyed my stay there. Didn't have any problem getting around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Feb 8, 2011

Nice place, probably better for business

I wish this hotel would have more than one ice machine, vending machine and pop machine. The closest convenience store is a 10 minute walk which isn't always that convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a wonderful restaurant in it, but be careful. They are open at random hours and tend to only stay open until 9. The food is wonderful, but I would make sure to make reservations before showing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top