$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
84 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 6, 2007

My review of George Washington University Inn

The room was clean and well divided. The fridge is useful if you are going in summer time. Do not rent a car. We paid $25/day for valet parking (you don?t have another options) Make a plan for every day is cheaper to buy metro pass

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the merto is a short walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Business
Delaware
May 17, 2012

gwu family visit

The room was always perfectly clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Close location to GWU, laundry place helped us to finalise quickly all packing leaving the campus after a school year. Good food in the restaurant and nice bellman service- everything helped to feel first days of summer vacations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glende
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect for university tours

We took a cab from here and were able to see all the universities we came to visit. The staff took care of our every need including storing our luggage and finding my glasses. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Billman
Business
West Sand Lake NY USA
Apr 6, 2013

Great location!

This was our second stay at GWU Inn. Staff is great and helpful. Rooms are clean comfortable. The Metro is only a block away and the neighborhood feels really safe. Walking distance to Georgetown and Lincoln Memorial. Whole Foods is two blocks away and is a one stop for marketing, pizza and deli. Krispy Creme on Dupont Circle is always a treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Metro or the Circulator Bus ($1.00) and save your legs for walking downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackdebj
Business
New York
Jan 8, 2014

Pretty awesome!

This hotel is near to the metro, make it easy for tourists to visit around. The condition is very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 9, 2007

Foggy Bottom Convenience

The GWU Inn is in an excellent location if you want quick and easy walking access to GW Univ., Kennedy Center, Georgetown. In good weather, walking to Dupont Circle, Lincoln and Vietnam Memorials, White House, etc. is a beautiful half hour walk. The Foggy Bottom Metro stop is a block away, and it's only a couple to a few stops to Arlington, Pentagon, Reagan Intern. Airport, Smithsonian, White House, The National Mall, etc. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was large (lots of storage) and clean, with a more than adequately supplied kitchen and free internet. The Safeway supermarket and CVS pharmacy in the Watergate complex is less than a block away to shop for food and necessities. The boutique hotel is in a lovely safe neighborhood, actually on the GWU campus, and taxis were very easy to catch. The service could have been friendlier, and the restaurant downstairs had a very limited breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Weather permitting, walking is easy in DC. The streets are easy to navigate because they are either Letters or Numbers, with intermittent Circles (eg, Dupont) with streets named after States branching out (eg, Pennsylvania). The Metro gets you everywhere. It's clean, safe, inexpensive, and easy to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles,Ca
Apr 2, 2011

Location and Hotel perfection

Oldtimey feel -- modern amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Archaeologist
Business
La Verne, CA
May 1, 2011

Wonderful stay, wonderful location

I was in D.C. to attend a business meeting and to do sightseeing. The hotel is not impressive from the outside, but it is a different story inside. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable - no different than a swankier hotel. And no bedbugs! This was a concern since I had heard stories about bedbug infestations on the east coast. The hotel is next to the prestigious Georgetown University. It was an easy 15 minute walk past the the university and the State Department to the Lincoln Memorial. From there it was easy to get to all the major sights on the national mall. It took took me no more than 30 min. to walk between the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History and the hotel. It also took me no longer than 3-5 minutes to get to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Bottom line: If you are looking for a clean, well-maintained, reasonably priced hotel that is in a historic area of D.C., and want to be reasonably close to the sights and close to Metro, then I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 23, 2007

Great location, great deal for the money.

This is a nice hotel. Graet value and nice staff. We will be back this fall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Georgetown and local fun. Great hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2008

Great area

This was my first time staying in the Foggy Bottom area, I was very pleased with the convienence of having Metro, Safeway and CVS within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I arrived before check in and the staff had a room ready for which I was very greatful. The staff was very helpful and pleasant to deal with, the room was great and very clean. I am definitly staying here again and would recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy walk to the Mall and Georgetown area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top