$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
84 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Jun 30, 2009

Good value, good location

large, comfortable rooms - suites, kitchenettes no room service exceptionally convenient location slow elevator (typical)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for a cab - take the metro to Foggy Bottom, it's a 1 1/2 block walk. If you look at the small signs with all of the GW info, they will show you which direction to go towards the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Anti-Tourist
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 14, 2009

Great Location, Great Hotel, Great Value

This served as a great hotel for a weekend in DC. We didn't really do much more than sleep there, but it was a super comfortable bed in a very spacious and amply decorated room that gave it a feel of a much more expensive lodging locale. Its location is to die for (only a block and a half from the Foggy Bottom metro stop on the Orange and Blue Lines, and a very safe and well lit historic neighborhood lined with old town houses and fine dining restaurants), and the $30 valet parking fee was easily offset by ample street parking that was open without limit all weekend, and at the encouragement of the valet nonetheless. Definitely recommended to all. Only drawback was the fact that the bathroom sink faucet was loose and would come off if pulled, but that's very minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Froggy Bottom Pub on Pennsylvania Avenue. Great service, great food, great deal on drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Albion Pacific
Business
Seattle WA
Jun 6, 2009

Clunky -- not funky

Confusing entrance area -- hard to figure out where the reception desk was, where the elevators are, etc. Crummy breakfast. I've stayed here before and the claim is that they've upgraded everything. I must have a terrible memory -- everything seemed the same, down to the windows that wouldn't open properly and the shades that wouldn't close properly and which really needed a good cleaning. Everything's the same except the price. I know every lobbying interest in the world is scrambling right now for these "stimulus" dollars Washington is giving out, but can't you people sleep in your cars or something?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2009

Happy customer

They did not have the room type I reserved available, so they upgraded me to a suite at no additional cost. The room had a great view, was clean and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton
Aug 6, 2008

Great location

We enjoyed our stay at the George Washington Inn. Having not stayed at a downtown hotel before, we were somewhat surprised by the additional cost of $30 a night for parking(valet). Maybe that is the norm in a city which has many parking issues. The other thing was that the breakfast offerings in the restaurant there were very expensive. We would not eat there again for breakfast. Otherwise, I think our stay was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

fairly close to the georgetown shopping area- a long, but doable walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cordova, *
Jul 15, 2008

Worked for me

The hotel was within walking distance of the George Washington University Hospital and almost next door to the building housing the conference I was attending. I used the Metro to get to the hotel and was somewhat confused on where to go upon exiting the Metro but once I got pointed in the right direction it was convenient and safe. The suite was convenient and LARGE. The bathroom had been updated but had an unusual odor that at times was intrusive. Parking would be a hassle. No amenities were available which in todays hotel environment is unusual. Amble restaurants are within a few blocks but mostly pricey Italian cuisine. The local 7-11 was conveneint to get some provisions for the in-room refrig. I would highly recommend this hotel for someone visiting GWU or Georgetown; however, I believe there are probably equal or better deals at other facilites that have more amenities if you are going to DC to sightsee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro very convenient (Blue or Orange line). It is the best way around DC. Georgetown is also very short walk (several blocks) and offers amble dining, shopping with a better variety than that close to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2008

Great area

This was my first time staying in the Foggy Bottom area, I was very pleased with the convienence of having Metro, Safeway and CVS within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I arrived before check in and the staff had a room ready for which I was very greatful. The staff was very helpful and pleasant to deal with, the room was great and very clean. I am definitly staying here again and would recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy walk to the Mall and Georgetown area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights, *
May 13, 2008

Good location for the price

This hotel was very nice and comfortable. It was very clean. We did not eat at the restaurant because it was not to our tastes. The hotel did have delivery and carry out menus. We ordered from a pizza place and we thoroughly enjoyed our food. I would stay there again. The location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to train and a great Trader joes in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 9, 2007

Foggy Bottom Convenience

The GWU Inn is in an excellent location if you want quick and easy walking access to GW Univ., Kennedy Center, Georgetown. In good weather, walking to Dupont Circle, Lincoln and Vietnam Memorials, White House, etc. is a beautiful half hour walk. The Foggy Bottom Metro stop is a block away, and it's only a couple to a few stops to Arlington, Pentagon, Reagan Intern. Airport, Smithsonian, White House, The National Mall, etc. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was large (lots of storage) and clean, with a more than adequately supplied kitchen and free internet. The Safeway supermarket and CVS pharmacy in the Watergate complex is less than a block away to shop for food and necessities. The boutique hotel is in a lovely safe neighborhood, actually on the GWU campus, and taxis were very easy to catch. The service could have been friendlier, and the restaurant downstairs had a very limited breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Weather permitting, walking is easy in DC. The streets are easy to navigate because they are either Letters or Numbers, with intermittent Circles (eg, Dupont) with streets named after States branching out (eg, Pennsylvania). The Metro gets you everywhere. It's clean, safe, inexpensive, and easy to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Privacy Please

The Hotel room that I stayed in had sheer curtains and I could not block out the street lights from outside. This made it hard to fall asleep. Unfortunately the Hotel was sold out and they could not put me in another room. I also didn't like that you had to walk down an alley to get to the hotel entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently Located near stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top