$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
View map of 824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Oct 27, 2010

Nice Hotel

Hotel is nice, and very close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2010

Great Location for Foggy Bottom/GW

we have stayed at this hotel many many times over an 8 year period. We do not like the fact that there is no dining room in the hotel for breakfast or a cup of coffee. Coffee maker in room, but no cold milk for it available. the restaurant opens for Italian lunch &dinner. You must leave and walk to find a restaurant for breakfast. In addition, there are no bottles of water to purchase for the room, although the room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator excellent location for GW and Foggy Bottom area. Clean. Driveway impossible to negotiate for cars, taxis, people who want to drop you off and pick you up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Washington, PA
Oct 24, 2010

An enjoyable weekend

Ran a 10 mile race, and toured the Smithsonian exhibits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Notti Bianche restaurant - a nice Italian menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Washington, PA
Oct 24, 2010

An enjoyable weekend

Ran a 10 mile race, and toured the Smithsonian exhibits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Notti Bianche restaurant - a nice Italian menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, MI
Aug 30, 2010

GW University Inn

The only problem we had was trying to find the hotel! The only sign on the building was a plaque about 24 x 36". We passed it by SEVERAL TIMES! They need a more obvious sign at the street. The entrance is down a little driveway that was near impossible to spot. We expected to see an entrance on the street!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jul 5, 2010

Perfect location for our needs.

We were in DC for GWU Colonial Inauguration. We were treated in a friendly and courteous manner during our stay. My 80 year-old mother accompanied my son and me, and I had hoped there would have been a shuttle from the hotel to the Marvin Center. The location of the GWU Inn is perfect for families attending University events, and the accommodations are exceptional. The quaint restaurant serves a great continental breakfast. We did eat dinner there our first night and had a wonderful meal. We will definitely stay at the GWU Inn whenever we return for University events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 5, 2010

Very Nice Inn

We only stayed one night at the George Washington University Inn. We wanted to visit Washington DC on the Fourth of July. The location of the Inn was close to the Metro and only about ten blocks from the Fireworks display. The room was very nice and quiet and everything was very neat and clean. The parking was a little confusing and expensive, but everything else about the trip was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jul 5, 2010

Perfect location for our needs.

We were in DC for GWU Colonial Inauguration. We were treated in a friendly and courteous manner during our stay. My 80 year-old mother accompanied my son and me, and I had hoped there would have been a shuttle from the hotel to the Marvin Center. The location of the GWU Inn is perfect for families attending University events, and the accommodations are exceptional. The quaint restaurant serves a great continental breakfast. We did eat dinner there our first night and had a wonderful meal. We will definitely stay at the GWU Inn whenever we return for University events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica Macheznik
Business
Katonah, NY
Jun 22, 2010

Hassle Free Stay

Seamless check in; no-fuss valet parking. Felt like being at a European hotel where you would leave your key at the front desk... but it's up-to-date card keys. A quiet, but convenient Foggy Bottom location. I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Troll for on-street parking. Overnight parking is $30 additional if not part of your room package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carl US traveler
Business
Corona,Ca
Jun 15, 2010

A fine and friendly place to stay in DC

site seeing hospital business some streets not marked well hard to get to some locations parking at hotel to costly 1-10 about 5

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

must drive or taxi to dine,parking a problem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top